Source: Purchased

Divider

Silence Fallen – Patricia Briggs – 5 stars

April 28, 2017 Uncategorized 1

Silence Fallen – Patricia Briggs – 5 starsSilence Fallen Published by Ace on 03/07/17
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 379
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

In the #1 New York Times bestselling Mercy Thompson novels, the coyote shapeshifter has found her voice in the werewolf pack. But when Mercy’s bond with the pack—and her mate—is broken, she’ll learn what it truly means to be alone...

Attacked and abducted in her home territory, Mercy finds herself in the clutches of the most powerful vampire in the world, taken as a weapon to use against alpha werewolf Adam and the ruler of the Tri-Cities vampires. In coyote form, Mercy escapes—only to find herself without money, without clothing, and alone in the heart of Europe...

Unable to contact Adam and the rest of the pack, Mercy has allies to find and enemies to fight, and she needs to figure out which is which. Ancient powers stir, and Mercy must be her agile best to avoid causing a war between vampires and werewolves, and between werewolves and werewolves. And in the heart of the ancient city of Prague, old ghosts rise...

The Mercy Thompson series was the first Urban Fantasy series that I ever read and I instantly fell in love with both the series and the genre.   I loved that Mercy was such a strong heroine with just the right amount of sass (the thought of her car facing Adam’s house still cracks me up).  As sometimes happens with a series though, the series started heading in a direction that I didn’t enjoy as much.  The books felt less thought out, the situations a bit contrived and characters who I loved previously I suddenly wanted to hit over the head (I’m looking at you Adam).  For these reasons combined with the price of the book,  I wasn’t in a hurry to pick this one up but I did eventually break down and buy it.  Thankfully Silence Fallen ended up exactly what I loved about the early books in the series.

Silence Fallen was a thriller from the very first chapter.  Mercy wakes up and finds herself in a locked in freezer with two vampires.   One of them is no other than The Lord of the Night, who decides to kidnap Mercy after Wulfe tell’s him that she was the most powerful person in the Tri-Cities.  As difficult as Mercy’s past struggles have been with vampires, she knows that Bonarata is in a league of his own and there is no way that he’s going to let her live.  In true Mercy fashion, the minute that opportunity presents itself, she escapes.  Unfortunately this doesn’t improve her circumstances much as Mercy realizes she is half way across the world without even a stitch of clothing, let alone money or the means to reach her pack.

Adam know’s that something has happened to Mercy when he feels her pain, but when their mate bond is silent he has no way of knowing where she is or how to help her.  When Marsilla reaches out to Adam after receiving an email from Bonarata, he is forced into a partnership with people he doesn’t necessarily trust to try to bring Mercy home safely.   Adam sets off to Europe with Honey, Marsilla, Stefan, Elizaveta, Larry the Goblin King and two supernatural pilots in the hopes that he can depend on those with him enough to save Mercy.  As if that wasn’t enough, Adam must deal with Bonarata diplomatically in order to keep his family and friends safe when all he really wants to do is tear him limb from limb from limb.

I was surprised to enjoy the perspective and timeline shifts from chapter to chapter in this book because I expected the fact it wasn’t linear to be distracting and confusing but the chapter introductions prevented that from being the case.

My favorite scenes from this book:

  • The escape scene as a whole.  I loved the thought process that Mercy was going through in her mind and that she didn’t hesitate to act as soon as she had the chance
  • A certain someone getting hit by a bus, seriously that was epic!
  • The scenes with Jitka.  What can I say, I love more strong female wolves who have found their place high up in the hierarchy.
  • The fact we got to see that Mercy is still struggling with events from her past was important.  As strong as she is, those feelings don’t just magically go away and it’s important to represent that.
  • The Matt Smith twist… I didn’t think there was anything odd happening but it made so much sense once the twist was revealed.
  • The unlikely partnership of both the Tri-Cities group gives me hope that we will get to see more unlikely partnerships in the future.  Something tells me The Lord of the Night isn’t gone and based on his convoluted plots, Adam and Mercy will need all the help they can get.

 

five-stars

Divider

Need a new PNR Series/Author – Nikki Winter Book Giveaway!

March 8, 2017 Contest, Need New Glom Author, PNR 4

Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased

Hi, my name is Bobbie and I’m a PNR addict.  I’ve been reading PNR for a long time so it sometimes feels like I’ve read everything written in that genre *shoves TBR pile underneath a blanket*,  so when I find a new author or series that I really enjoy I want to shout it from the rooftops!

In February of last year I read an article written by Ericka Brooks from The Book Pushers and one of the books she discussed was Beastly Passions (The Verochka Pride Book 2) by Nikki Winter.  I hadn’t read anything by the author before and I was intrigued by the description of the book so off I went to check out Nikki’s website to find out the name of the first book in the Verochka Pride series and see what other series she had.

I ended up reading every book available in both the Verchka Pride and Wilde Side series over the next week.   Both series featured strong female characters, hot men who adore their women and laugh out loud humor.  The combination has made both of these series an addition to my comfort reads and any future paranormal by Nikki Winter an auto buy for me.

If you enjoy Shelly Laurenston, G. A. Aiken or Darynda Jones should absolutely give either of these series a try!

To get people started I will be giving away 3 digital copies from Amazon of any book by Nikki Winter.  To enter just leave a comment below telling me your favorite PNR series.  Contest ends on 3/14/2017 at 11:59 pm US Central.  

Happy Reading!

 

 

Divider

Willing Victim: Remastered – Cara McKenna – 4 stars

August 16, 2016 Purchased, Read in 2016 1

Willing Victim: Remastered – Cara McKenna – 4 starsWilling Victim: Remastered by Cara McKenna
on July 8, 2016
Pages: 146
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

A re-release of the 2010 fan favorite, with light revisions and an expanded ending.

For the past couple years Laurel's been coasting, hiding in the backseat while her life drifts off course. Then one summer afternoon a tall, built bruiser named Flynn strides in and steers her straight into an infatuation she never saw coming.

Flynn introduces Laurel to things she’s never imagined before—to the violent but exciting realm of the underground boxing circuit, to rough sex and even rougher role-playing, and to an attraction she craves even as it intimidates her. As Flynn invites her deeper into his world and his life, Laurel has to make a choice—let fear keep her holed up where it’s safe, or take a chance and fight for the man who makes her feel more alive than she’d dreamed possible.

This was a very quick read for me but I enjoyed getting to know Flynn and Laurel as they unexpectedly found something that gave them everything they never hoped to find.

Laurel is at loose ends at this point in her life but seems to be content with this even as she feels restless in her skin.  She isn’t sure what she wants or needs but when she follows the man who stepped in to help when she didn’t… well…  she finds out that perhaps this masterful, dominating man is exactly what she needs.  She’s intrigued as she is invited to watch what he likes to do to the women who he shares his bed with but is in some respects frightened by her strong need to be in that place with him.  She comes out of her shell with his guidance and it causes her to want more than what she thinks he is willing to offer her.  This relationship that they build also makes her realize that she needs to decide what she really wants for her life and to quit being scared of what may come.  I liked seeing her start to own herself and even though she still has work to do you can see that she really is on the right path.

Flynn… *fans self while looking around for an ice bath* … yeah this man so does it for me.  He isn’t looking for anything other than a good time but as he spends more time with Laurel you get the feeling that he’s really not just in it for the fun they have in the bedroom.  He’s definitely a man who knows what he likes but he’s also a man who wants to make sure that his partner gets what she needs as well.  I liked getting to see how he balanced his domineering side with the softer side.  He’s a man that knows what he wants when he sees it but is also one that is willing to see where things go.  He isn’t going to stifle the core of the person he’s with and we see that towards the end of the story.

I quite enjoyed this quick read and still have more from Cara to go back and check out.

four-stars

Divider

A Gentleman in the Street – Alisha Rai – 4.5 stars

December 15, 2014 Purchased, Read in 2014 1

A Gentleman in the Street – Alisha Rai – 4.5 starsA Gentleman in the Street on November 22, 2014
Pages: 315
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Shameless. That’s what she was.

Billionaire businesswoman Akira Mori can get anything and anyone her heart desires. Anyone, that is, except for a certain aloof author who has been dominating her dreams for over a decade. Accustomed to Jacob Campbell’s stern disapproval, Akira has turned provocation into an art, using every trick in her arsenal to keep the man from guessing the depth of her filthy fantasies.

Shameless. That’s what she made him.

Since the moment the sexy, sultry socialite sidled up to him years ago, there hasn't been a time when Jacob didn't crave Akira. But as guardian to his younger siblings, responsibility has controlled his life. Confining his darkest desires to secret, stolen moments maintains his carefully disciplined world…but a cold bed is the price he pays.

A single touch is all it takes for their simmering need to explode. As secrets and fears are stripped away one by one, shame becomes a thing of the past. They find themselves becoming addicted to each other, in bed and out—a frightening prospect for a man just learning to live…and a woman who thinks she doesn't know how to love.

I’m glad I listened to the many people who were telling me to grab this book.  I enjoyed the fact that Alisha has given us a heroine who is open with her sexuality and owns it.  In many cases we don’t see the women in romance completely owning their own sexuality and going after what they want when they want it without seeing guilt about being wanton.  I appreciated that Akira is very open about her wants and desires even as she struggles with believing that someone could really love her.  I also enjoyed our hero struggling with what he needs and finding himself after years of being the responsible one.  Both of them are wonderful characters with major issues brought about by their childhood.

Jacob lives in a world that he controls.  He’s successful but has built his life completely around the needs of his younger siblings and this drives him to only have relationships that he isn’t 100% committed to.  Not to say that he cheats or anything like that but he isn’t really finding what he wants because to be honest he isn’t completely open to what he wants.  He’s very guarded and uptight when we first meet him but man oh man does he have dreams, desires and naughty as hell thoughts.  This is a man who needs to find someone that pulls him out of his shell to really live life and enjoy it.  What he thinks he doesn’t need is what Akira makes him want…  He is scared of what she brings out of him but as he finally spends time around her he realizes exactly what he wants is staring him right in the face and he needs to wake up to grab it before she succeeds in locking herself back up.  I loved his naughty ways once he lets the guard down but I truly loved how he showed what she really meant to him by his actions and what he gave back to her that she truly needed.

Akira is on the surface the party girl.  She’s famous for being infamous but really under the major money, blatant sexuality and cold exterior is a woman who was/is treated horribly by the people who should have loved her most.  She’s hurting badly but hides this behind a veneer of sex and coldness that most can’t penetrate.  She’s always been attracted to Jacob but feels that he looks down on her just like everyone else does so she snipes at him every single time they get near one another.  She’s also very open about loving sex in all its forms and is infamous for her parties that truly are amazing.  I enjoyed seeing her strength but I think I loved it most when we got to see the vulnerability behind the mask.  She’s complex but strong as hell and watching her melt for Jacob was beautiful.  She is still strong as hell but seeing the warmth start to color her actions and world made me extremely happy.

You’ll enjoy the sexual tension that exists between Jacob and Akira but I think what made the story for me was seeing two people who have had bad examples of how relationships should be truly finding how a healthy relationship should work.  The sex is hot as hell but the heart behind the story made me extremely happy.

four-half-stars

Divider

Take Me – Maisey Yates – 3 stars

June 24, 2014 Harlequin, Purchased, Read in 2014 0

Take Me – Maisey Yates – 3 starsTake Me by Maisey Yates
Published by Mills & Boon Series on 2014-06-01
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 50
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

In this Fifth Avenue prequel by USA Today Bestselling author Maisey Yates, enter the exclusive world of New York's scandalous elite...where everything is about to change.Take Me Where it all began...As the son of a high-powered attorney Travis Beringer has never wanted for anything...except the elusive Sydney Davis. But everything changes in an instant with the shocking death of her roommate, Sarah Michaels, and suddenly Sydney is in his arms, desperately seeking oblivion. Encased within a sensual web of desire, Travis and Sydney delight in every erotic touch they've fought for so long. But what will happen when the dust has settled and the harsh light of day ushers in a reality neither is prepared to face?

As a quick start to the Fifth Avenue trilogy this serves as a way to see what happened all those years ago and who the man is that put Austin, Hunter and Alex on the path to taking down a man who committed so many wrongs.

We get a quick story about how a young woman’s death brings about a love that will last the tests of time for her friend and the man who has loved her without telling her for years.  We get a hot interlude with Travis and Sydney but we also see how shaken up two people are by the death of someone they both thought of as a friend who had slowly withdrawn from them as she was caught in her own personal hell on Earth.

Travis and Sydney both needed an outlet for the numbing grief they both felt but this quick tumble actually unlocked both of them from the walls they had built around themselves in order to not get hurt by love.  Sydney thinks she isn’t good enough because of her background but so desperately longs for Travis that you can feel it as they connect physically.  Travis has always wanted Sydney but never thought it was the right time to pursue her plus knows that her drive is such that maybe she won’t be willing to see they both can win.  He isn’t out to change her but to love her.  Both of them manage to work the beginnings of this out in this quick read but as you know with a very short quick read we don’t get the full story or much in the way of feels before the story is over.

If you go in to this one thinking of it as being a long prologue then I think you’ll be ok with the pacing and length.  Make sure you have Avenge Me on deck so you can dive right in to the main stories as three very driven man find a way to make a very evil man pay.

three-stars

Divider

Play – Kylie Scott – 5 Stars

April 8, 2014 Purchased 0

Play – Kylie Scott – 5 StarsPlay by Kylie Scott
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on 2014-03-25
Genres: Coming of Age, Contemporary, Erotica, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 304
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Kylie Scott returns with the highly anticipated follow-up to international bestseller Lick.Mal Ericson, drummer for the world famous rock band Stage Dive, needs to clean up his image fast—at least for a little while. Having a good girl on his arm should do the job just fine. Mal doesn’t plan on this temporary fix becoming permanent, but he didn’t count on finding the one right girl. Anne Rollins never thought she’d ever meet the rock god who plastered her teenage bedroom walls—especially not under these circumstances. Anne has money problems. Big ones. But being paid to play the pretend girlfriend to a wild life-of-the-party drummer couldn’t end well. No matter how hot he is. Or could it?

Be prepared to laugh when you read this story as Mal has some of the funniest lines and most outrageous thoughts that just spill forth from his lips at the most inappropriate moments.  All is not rosy on his path to love but he lucks out and finds the perfect woman for his insanity which in turn leads to the most stable relationship his unexpected lover has ever had.

We meet Anne in a really bad place with a roommate that has taken off with not only furniture but without bothering to pay back past due rent or providing any sort of notice.  As Anne lives paycheck to paycheck it hits her rather hard and this is a woman who is used to everything being difficult but she always soldiers on to make the best of a bad situation.  Her only constant is her love for her sister and her male friend who she wouldn’t mind having as something more if he wasn’t such a man whore.  She’s basically allowed herself to become a doormat because of her innate need to please and help people but a chance encounter at a party she’s persuaded to go to puts her in the path of Mal.  He pushes her buttons and she ends up not only finding her inner strength she also finds her sense of self again. As she gets pulled in to his orbit she discovers the man behind the image and finds out that they are a lot alike in their tendency to push people away to handle things on their own.  I loved how she didn’t put up with his crap and while she didn’t have a backbone before they met she found one rather quickly where he was concerned.  She is a great counter to his manic personality but he pushes her to expand her horizons and not take being second best.  He pushes her to finally believe in herself and her own worth which was painful but needed.

Mal… sweet adorably inappropriate Mal… I loved him in the last book but seeing him on his own made me laugh but also made me cry for him.  He meets Anne and decides without telling her that he’s moving in.  He’s overheard her troubles and he needs help from her to show that he’s in a relationship.  The reasons he needs this aren’t explained until later in the book and he’s pretty adamant that this is to be a surface thing only but as he spends more time with Anne things don’t work out the way he thought.  He’s pushed to be more open with her but even as he fights her we see that he really does want her but his secret is eating him alive.  I won’t reveal the secret but as you see more of his interactions with Anne and the band you get to see a man that really is hurting but covers everything with jokes and antics.  His moments with Anne in both the bedroom and outside of it were not only humorous but heartwarming as his inner sweetness is exposed.  He’s vulnerable with her as neither expected to find love or home in this faux relationship but when push comes to shove the heart speaks volumes.  My heart broke with him as things began to unravel and come out but where he ends up was worth the journey.

I can’t wait to see more of this series and hope that Ben’s HEA is who I think it is… (not saying but would be awesome in a lot of respects).  Jimmy is next and dude he and Lena should definitely spark!!

five-stars

Divider

Down On Her Knees – Christine Bell – 4 stars

February 26, 2014 Entangled Publishing, Purchased, Read in 2014 0

Down On Her Knees – Christine Bell – 4 starsDown on Her Knees (A Dare Me Novel) by Christine Bell
Published by Brazen, Entangled Publishing on 2014-02-24
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, General, Romance
Pages: 250
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Four lessons, no strings…Detective Rafe Davenport has always made Courtney DeLollis uneasy. While her instincts whisper, Touch him, her mind says, Run. But since she learned that he’s dominant in the bedroom, she hasn’t been able to forget about it. She should be appalled—she knows all too well what happens when a man has too much control—but a deeper, darker part of her is fascinated...And so is Rafe. The sexual tension between them is thick enough to touch, and damn, does he want to touch. So he suggests something that will benefit them both. Four scenes—because anything more is a relationship, and Rafe won’t go there ever again. Each scenario is designed to tease and torment. To show Courtney that with every submission comes the reward of scintillating pleasure. But once he has Courtney down on her knees, Rafe realizes that she might be the one woman capable of bringing him to his…

I have been looking forward to this story as we’ve seen the heat that the main pair throw off when they are in a room together for more than 30 seconds.

Courtney is a nurse who has no room in her life for a relationship.  She’s not looking for anything due to her ex but when she hears about what Rafe likes to do with women she’s on the outside horrified but on the inside intrigued.  She equates BDSM with abuse because of her past experience with a controlling boyfriend but when Rafe pushes her to try it for only four scenes she’s interested enough to jump at the chance.  Well…  maybe not jump but she does decide that she can trust him enough to try it before she loses her nerve.  She ends up getting more than just amazing sex out of the bargain, she gets her sense of self confidence and power back.  I liked seeing her emerge from her past to become someone that loves life.

Rafe is a love-em and leave-em kind of man since his girlfriend died years ago.  He’s not looking for anything other than short-term, 4 scene maximum things so when he decides to act on his attraction to Courtney he fully expects this to be nothing different than getting her out of his system.  All romance readers will roll their eyes at that thought because as we all know this is not the way it works in these stories.  As they spend more time together and he scenes with her there are boundaries that are crossed and walls that start to come down.  He does the normal stupid hero BS but I loved his grovel (short but very honest) at the end.  He’s really not a bad guy at all but has a heart that has already suffered a horrific loss and fears that if he lets someone else in that he won’t survive another loss.  He’s growly and sexy but dear lord how much he craves Courtney’s happiness sparks off the page…  She’s a lucky woman for catching this sexy Dom.

Short hot and oh so good….  make sure you read it and the others in this series.  🙂

four-stars

Divider

Enticing the Spymaster – Julie Rowe – 4 stars

October 19, 2013 Carina Press, Purchased, Read in 2013 0

Enticing the Spymaster – Julie Rowe – 4 starsEnticing the Spymaster Published by Carina Press on June 3, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

Book two of War Girls

German-occupied Brussels, Belgium, April 1915

Judith Goddard is hiding in plain sight. A dual citizen with family ties to Belgian royalty and the British military, she works as a Red Cross nurse in a German hospital, learning what she can, ever fearful her true allegiance will be discovered.

British Expeditionary Force Captain Michael Lawrence is on a mission to rescue the daughter of his mentor. He doesn't expect to find a strong beautiful woman in place of the naïve girl whose love he rejected years earlier.

Jude is shocked when Michael turns up in her hospital, wounded and in German uniform. Though he broke her heart, she agrees to flee Belgium with him—she has information about an imminent attack that she must deliver to the British War Office, before it's too late.

Posing as a married couple, Jude and Michael journey to the border, in constant danger of discovery—and of giving in to their mutual passion…

For more stories of love and war, download Saving the Rifleman, available now!

I have to say I have enjoyed both books in this series so far.  Both of them have heroines who fight for what they believe in even if it means being in harm’s way.

Jude has been working hard at keeping people healthy and her identity secret.  She’s shocked when a man from her past is sent to remove her from the place she loves but realizes that she is in more danger than she thought.  I liked her willingness to stay in the war zone even though others of her station would have run away but I also liked her ability to see things as they were and act accordingly.  She’s not a wallflower or afraid of being killed but this man has the ability to destroy her in a way that no one else ever could.  She tries very hard to resist her feelings for him but knows that he has always held her heart in his hands even after his behavior.

Michael was something else.  He’s always loved Jude but did what he thought was right and ended up betraying her trust plus breaking her heart.  This is a man driven by duty but when he has to save her from a potential nightmare he’s forced to admit that he wants her every way he can have her.  This is the woman for him and no one else will ever mean as much.  I liked his sense of duty but also was pissed off for both of them as we find out what happened to drive them apart.

Once again Julie has drawn me in to the war with a great story of a strong woman getting the support and love she deserves from an equally strong man.  I love how the women in these stories are as strong as the men they love.  It makes me very happy to recommend this series to people.  🙂

Oh…  Julie…  hopefully you will be at RT in New Orleans so I can gush to you in person again.   😉

 

 

four-stars

Divider

Real – Katy Evans – 4 Stars

September 22, 2013 Purchased, Read in 2013 0

Real – Katy Evans – 4 StarsReal Series: ,
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

A fallen boxer.
A woman with a broken dream.
A competition…

He even makes me forget my name. One night was all it took, and I forgot everything and anything except the sexy fighter in the ring who sets my mind ablaze and my body on fire with wanting…

Remington Tate is the strongest, most confusing man I’ve ever met in my life.

He’s the star of the dangerous underground fighting circuit, and I’m drawn to him as I’ve never been drawn to anything in my life. I forget who I am, what I want, with just one look from him. When he’s near, I need to remind myself that I am strong–but he is stronger. And now it’s my job to keep his body working like a perfect machine, his taut muscles primed and ready to break the bones of his next opponents . . .

But the one he’s most threatening to, now, is me.

I want him. I want him without fear. Without reservations.

If only I knew for sure what it is that he wants from me?

My Thoughts:

This review is for the self-published copy and I have not read the new release so am not sure what might have changed between my copy and the new one.

This book has been in my pile for a while but I let myself get sidetracked by other reads and when I finally had a chance to sit down and read this I was impressed.  There is some repetition with the descriptions of how Remy makes our heroine feel but I found myself not caring about that as there is something mesmerizing about this complex man.  Ms. Evans does a very good job of showing the impacts of mental illness on an individual without making it cheesy or overworked.

Brooke is still reeling from the disappointment of her injury but has rebuilt her life to be about taking care of other athletes and helping them regain their lives post injury.  She’s very repressed because up until recently everything in her life was about being an Olympian and everything else took a backseat.  When she sees Remy fight the first time there is a part of her that is repulsed by the violence and aggression this underground fighter unleashes but he makes her feel things she never has before.  She tries to rationalize this by quoting medical jargon and facts from human sexuality texts but she can’t deny her attraction.  When his team approaches her about touring with them as his personal physical therapist she says yes but is determined to leave this as a purely professional relationship.  Of course we all know this isn’t possible but watching them dance around one another was fun and when they finally cross the line it makes sense.  I didn’t like some of the side story with her sister but I liked how she really did try to stick it out with him even when he reveals his big secret.  I didn’t like her knee jerk reaction towards the end even though I did understand it but it did feel like a bit of a cop out on her part.

Remington Tate is a beast.  An amazingly sexual man with a huge personality that just draws women to him like moths to the flame.  When he sees Brooke he is drawn to her more than he ever has been drawn to a woman or honestly an individual in his life.  This is a man who gets what he wants when he wants it and watching him pull back from her to take things slow was fun but I could see how it was maddening for Brooke as he seems to play with her but not give her what they both obviously want.  As we get to know him and see what he is struggling with it was eyeopening to say the least.  This is a very complex man with major demons to slay but those demons are not ones that can be killed but just controlled.  I loved our insights in to his mental state but at the same time wish he had been able to find something that really worked for him long-term without causing himself so much physical damage.  He’s such a sweet person under the surface but getting there is such a tough haul.

While there are issues with the story being a bit slow at times I found myself still engaged enough to keep working through this story.  It isn’t 100% easy to work through the descriptions but ultimately Remy is worth it!  He’s just something else and I am looking forward to reading the rest of the stories.

four-stars

Divider

The Mistress Files – Tiffany Reisz – 5 Stars

June 1, 2013 Harlequin, Purchased, Read in 2013 0

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
The Mistress Files – Tiffany Reisz – 5 StarsThe Mistress Files Published by Harlequin, Mira on June 1, 2013
Pages: 200
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

Kingsley Edge, king of kink himself, wants Mistress Nora to write a training manual to instruct his other professional Dominants how to take better care of their clients. But Mistress Nora can't put pen to paper without churning out a sexy short story and Kingsley's training manual quickly turns into true tales of her adventures with her favorite clients.

A female submissive who can't orgasm.​

A male Dominant too scared to do kink with his blind wife.​

A rock star with a secret.​

A vanilla gay woman with an embarrassing little problem. ​

A male switch with an itch for more than just pain.​

These are their stories.

I’m going to keep this review short like the stories are.

We get to see Nora do what Nora does best which is get in to people’s heads and help them realize their potential.

The Case of the Acting Actress

Nora helps a natural sub realize what her real needs are and how she can experience an orgasm even without her first sexual partner.  We get to see Sheridan in another light which is fun.

The Case of the Diffident Dom

Nora helps a married couple find their true needs by bringing back the Dom to the man who just wants to take care of his wife.  This was a sweet insight into a truly loving marriage that just needed a push to get both partners where they truly wanted to be.

The Case of the Reluctant Rock Star

Nora gets to release a hidden submissive.  She has a lot of fun in this one and we get to see more of how clearly she sees through the facade.

The Case of the Secret Switch

Swoon…  Nora and a certain special someone we all know and love…  and no not Søren because that man is in no way shape or form a switch.

The Case of the Brokenhearted Bartender

Nora helps a woman open up in more ways than one..  LOL

 

Overall this is a nice teaser to tide us over until The Mistress releases at the end of next month.

 

five-stars

Divider