Source: NetGalley.com

Divider

All or Nothing at All – Jennifer Probst – 3 stars

July 25, 2017 Boookluvr Reads, Gallery Books, NetGalley, Read in 2017 1

All or Nothing at All – Jennifer Probst – 3 starsAll or Nothing at All by Jennifer Probst
Published by Gallery Books on July 25th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Contemporary Women, General
Pages: 384
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

HGTV’s Property Brothers meets The Marriage Bargain in this third novel in the Billionaire Builders series, an all-new sexy contemporary romance from New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Probst.

***Warning, this review will contain a pretty major spoiler.  I felt the topic needed to be touched on in the review, so if you haven’t read the book and don’t want spoilers, come back after you’ve had a chance to read the book 🙂 ***

 

For readers of the Billionaire Builders series, I am sure that you, like me, saw some elements of this story line coming a mile away.  It was clear that Tristan and Sydney would be the focus of his book, and given the glimpses that we have had of Sydney’s daughter Becca, that we would be looking at a secret baby romance.   Secret baby story lines can be tough because the author must impress upon the reader that the choice of keeping a child from their father was justifiable at the time, and that given the circumstances the hero would be able to forgive the heroine for her decision enough to finally have their HEA.   This criteria wasn’t completely met for me in All or Nothing at All which I will get into further later in the review.

In the 3rd installment of the Billionaire Builders series,  the book begins by showing us the moment that Tristan left town, and Sydney 7 years ago.  This glimpse helps set the stage for why they have such off the charts chemistry and so many unresolved issues as we move into the present.  These flashbacks continue throughout the book showing the reader scenes from both character’s perspective all the way from childhood through recent events.  While I think these flashbacks help demonstrate the history that the characters have with each other and how integrated Sydney was in their family, I do think they were too frequent and not all necessary to help the reader understand the dynamics between the characters.

The main plot point in this book is that when Tristan and Sydney once again find themselves considering a relationship, everything implodes when Sydney reveals to Tristan that he is in fact Becca’s father.  While I understood how Sydney would feel a momentary sense of panic given Tristan’s desire to leave his home to move to NYC, I didn’t buy in to this being a justifiable reason to keep his child from him for 7 years.  Sydney wasn’t just keeping Becca from Tristan when she made this decision, but also the rest of the Pierce family.  Given how much a part of the family Sydney was and how much she professed to love them all, this was where the story line didn’t fit for me.  She has worked in the Pierce family business all this time, spent time with Cal and Dalton (Tristan’s brothers) and yet never once seemed to second guess her decision.  In the end I felt that Sydney had made an extremely selfish decision because regardless of what would have happened between her and Tristan, she would have had a support system in the rest of the family.

While the secret baby wasn’t as well done as I had hoped, I enjoyed seeing Tristan and Sydney come back together and work out their issues.  The forced wedding angle was a bit over the top for me, but it did serve as a catalyst to keep them in close proximity.  It was also enjoyable to see Cal and Morgan’s wedding in this book.  Picturing that wedding dance sure gave me a chuckle.  I’m a little disappointed that we didn’t get to see Dalton and Raven’s engagement but I realize not everything was going to get tied up in this book.

I am a little sad to know that this series is finished because I did enjoy the brothers.  Seeing how far they have come in their relationships with each other was the most heartwarming part of All or Nothing at All for me.

If you have thoughts on this book or the series in general, I would love to hear them!

 

 

three-stars

Divider

The Hating Game – Sally Thorne 4 stars

July 6, 2017 Boookluvr Reads, NetGalley 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Hating Game – Sally Thorne 4 starsThe Hating Game by Sally Thorne
Published by HarperCollins on August 9th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary Women, Romance, Contemporary, Humorous, General
Pages: 384
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Goodreads

Debut author Sally Thorne bursts on the scene with a hilarious and sexy workplace comedy all about that thin, fine line between hate and love.
Nemesis (n.) 1) An opponent or rival whom a person cannot best or overcome.
                       2) A person’s undoing
                       3) Joshua Templeman
Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman hate each other. Not dislike. Not begrudgingly tolerate. Hate. And they have no problem displaying their feelings through a series of ritualistic passive aggressive maneuvers as they sit across from each other, executive assistants to co-CEOs of a publishing company. Lucy can’t understand Joshua’s joyless, uptight, meticulous approach to his job. Joshua is clearly baffled by Lucy’s overly bright clothes, quirkiness, and Pollyanna attitude.
Now up for the same promotion, their battle of wills has come to a head and Lucy refuses to back down when their latest game could cost her her dream job…But the tension between Lucy and Joshua has also reached its boiling point, and Lucy is discovering that maybe she doesn’t hate Joshua. And maybe, he doesn’t hate her either. Or maybe this is just another game.

One of my absolute favorite romance tropes is enemies to lovers.  I love watching the characters go from snapping and snarling at each other until they give in to their physical attraction.  They often then tell themselves that their attraction is purely physical until their emotional connection smacks them upside their head.    When I sat down to write this review I thought about why I am so drawn to the trope two reasons stood out.  The first is that insta-hate seems much more plausible to me than insta-love.  This isn’t necessarily specific to romantic relationships for me, but carries over to friendships as well.  Most of my closest friends are people I didn’t like when I first met them and now I can’t imagine my life without them.  The second reason is that I think so many of us have a list in our head of exactly what we think will make us happy in life, including our relationships so we avoid situations that don’t fit those narratives.  The reminder that what seems like it would make us happy on paper doesn’t always fit in reality is something I think we could all use now and then.  So given my love of the trope, when I read the blurb for The Hating Game I couldn’t wait to read it.

Most of us can relate to working with someone who we don’t care for, but can you imagine sitting directly across from them day in day out?  No thank you!   That is exactly what the main characters in Sally Thorne’s romantic comedy The Hating Game are dealing with.  Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman are  executive assistants at very different publishing houses.  Lucy comes from Gamin Publishing whose employees see literature as art.  Josh on the other hand worked at Bexley Books where the employees believe the bottom line matters far more than the words on a page.  The differences in the styles of the two companies is never more clear than when we see Lucy and Josh interact.    To say that these two don’t like each other would seem to be an understatement in the beginning of the book.   They both take passive aggressive to a whole new keeping score on everything from who looks away first, smiles first etc… even going so far to keep score and a list of what they deem to be violations that they could report to HR (Think an in case of emergency break glass kind of situation).  When both characters are up for the same promotion their antics reach a whole new level.

Initially I felt that the antics of both main characters was very immature and I worried the book was going to be too “cutsie” for me, but once Lucy and Josh were thrown into situations where their game-face started to crack and we got a glimpse into their true feelings I was rooting for them all the way.  Josh’s character was so swoon worthy once you uncovered all of his cool composure and understood that much of what appeared to be dislike on his part was his own defense system.   I actually found myself irritated with Lucy because she was constantly overlooking the good things that Josh was doing for her well past the time it felt reasonable.  She redeemed herself in the end when she stood up for Josh when he needed her the most.

I don’t want to spoil any of the fun scenes that you will encounter in this story so I’ll just say that if you like the enemies to lovers trope this book should go on your TBR list right away.  You won’t regret it.

 

Divider

Fierce Obsessions – Suzanne Wright 3 stars

June 14, 2017 NetGalley 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Fierce Obsessions – Suzanne Wright 3 starsFierce obsessions Published by Montlake on 6/13/17
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

When raven shifter Riley Porter was given sanctuary by the Phoenix Pack, she let them believe she had left her flock. Reluctant to divulge the secrets of her past, she was still embraced as family. Only Tao Lukas, the protective and passionate Head Enforcer of the pack, was resistant to the enigmatic shifter. Until Riley started to arouse in him something other than suspicion.

Tao doesn’t trust lone shifters, especially ones so guarded—and tempting. But the sexual tension between them is making them both come undone, and vulnerable to more than desire. All Tao wants is for Riley to stay with him and to trust him with the truth of her past.

As Riley’s mysteries come to light, so does a danger that threatens not only her life but the safety of the entire pack. For Tao, keeping Riley safe means keeping her close—forever—as his mate.

In case The Phoenix Pack series is new to you, I am going to give you a little background.  Raven shifter Riley Porter left her flock and has been living on own when she ends up at a homeless shelter for shifters.  It is there that Riley meets two orphan shifter children, Savannah who is a viper and Dexter who is a cheetah and becomes their guardian.  When the safety of the homeless shelter is threatened, Riley and the children end up staying with the members of The Phoenix Pack.

Tao Lukas is the Head Enforcer of The Phoenix Pack and body-guard to the alpha’s.  Tao’s focus is always on the protection of his back and ever since Riley arrived he’s been a thorn in her side, accusing her of being trouble and bringing danger to his pack.  To say he isn’t her biggest fan is an understatement.

Now, onto Fierce Obsessions:

When Riley wakes up with a raging hangover after a night of partying with the pack, she finds herself in bed with Tao Lukas.  As if the headache and nausea wasn’t enough, now she has to figure out how to deal with an awkward morning after.  Sure, she’s always been attracted to Tao but she wasn’t going to chase after a man who doesn’t like her no matter what their chemistry was like.  Certain that Tao will want to forget what happened as much as she does, Riley is caught off guard when Tao tells her he has no intention of forgetting what happened.  Not only that, but he has every intention that it happen over and over again.

Tao Lukas wanted Riley the first time that he saw her, but Tao doesn’t do change or trust people easily so he didn’t just accept her joining her back at face value.  Once he realized that Riley wasn’t there to do any harm to his pack, he also realized he had to be sneaky if he was going to have her in his bed.  Tao’s pretty guarded, but Riley is even more so so he has had to wait until she wouldn’t see him coming.  After a night of tequila shots, Tao has finally found himself in her bed and he’ll take whatever approach he needs her to keep her there for the near future.

When Riley goes back to her flock to celebrate her uncle’s anniversary, Tao insists on coming along.  With the relationship between them so new, there’s no way he’s letting her get away from him that easily especially since Riley has never indicated she plans to stay with the pack.  Once events unfold that make it clear there Riley’s emotional health isn’t the only thing that he needs to be worry about Tao wants nothing more than to get her back on pack lands where he knows he can keep her safe.  Riley, stubborn as ever isn’t going anywhere until she gets to the bottom of who is targeting her and her friends and family in the flock.

I enjoyed watching Riley and Tao circle around the reality of the fact that they were in a relationship from the moment they got together.  Each was in denial for their own reasons even when their friends and family could see clear as day that they were meant to be together.  I especially adored the relationships they both had with the Savannah, Dexter and Kye and the fact that the children were given as much emphasis in the relationship building as what happened between Riley and Tao.  Given the personalities of both of them I think it was the only way to make the relationship believable as it built due to how important children were to each of them in different ways.

As always, I enjoyed the most recent glimpse into The Phoenix Pack and I look forward to seeing them again in future installments (fingers crossed).

 

three-stars

Divider

Silver Silence – Nalini Singh – 5 stars

June 13, 2017 Boookluvr Reads, NetGalley 2

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Silver Silence – Nalini Singh – 5 starsSilver Silence by Nalini Singh
Published by Berkley Publishing Group on 6/13/2017
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 464
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh introduces a bold new chapter in her extraordinary paranormal romance saga with the Psy-Changeling Trinity series. Wild passion will encounter the darkest of betrayal...

Control. Precision. Family. These are the principles that drive Silver Mercant. At a time when the fledgling Trinity Accord seeks to unite a divided world, with Silver playing a crucial role as director of a worldwide emergency response network, wildness and chaos are the last things she needs in her life. But that’s exactly what Valentin Nikolaev, alpha of the StoneWater Bears, brings with him.

Valentin has never met a more fascinating woman. Though Silver is ruled by Silence—her mind clear of all emotion—Valentin senses a whisper of fire around her. That’s what keeps him climbing apartment buildings to be near her. But when a shadow assassin almost succeeds in poisoning Silver, the stakes become deadly serious…and Silver finds herself in the heart of a powerful bear clan.

Her would-be assassin has no idea what their poison has unleashed...

Silver Mercant is the cool as ice assistant to Kaleb Krycheck and the director of EmNet.    Silver can handle any crisis without breaking a sweat, but can she handle a sneaky bear?

Valentin Nikolaev is alpha of StoneWater clan and he and his bear have both take notice of Silver Mercant.  Her brilliant mind and take no crap attitude are exactly what both of them need.  Now they just have to figure out how to convince her to give them a shot.

After an attempt on her life, Silver finds herself moved into Denhome, the home of the StoneWater clan and a certain exasperating bear.  Living in a community full of rowdy bears who have no understanding of personal space or boundaries seems like it would be torture for someone as buttoned up as Silver, but she quickly finds that the bonds of clan aren’t so different from those of her own family.  Silver finds herself charmed by the affection, humor and loyalty of the bears and her icy exterior starts to thaw.

Valentin has got Silver exactly where he wants her and now he just has to figure out how to keep her there.  He knows that bear sneaky isn’t going to be enough to sneak up on this woman, he’s going to have to be cat sneaky.

Watching the relationship between Silver and Valentin develop was swoon worthy.  The two of them had far more in common than what we initially see, but it is clear that they are meant to be together.  Silver’s strength and attitude make her the perfect match for a man who has so much responsibility on his shoulders and hurts from his past that he is still trying to fix.    Valentin loves everything about Silver, even her cool attempts to push him away.

When the consequences of Silver giving up silence became clear, my heart broke for both of them.  I very rarely cry when reading books but in this case there was no other option.  Just when they finally come together and both acknowledge who the other is to them, they realize they have to risk it all to keep her alive.  Watching them fight their way back together made the momentary heart break worth it in the end.

 

A few of my favorite moments from the story:

  • Silver gives Valentin’s mom an ultimatum to get over her issues or get out.  Watching the future relationship between these two is going to be interesting.
  • All of the pet names Silver and Valentin had for each other.  The affection they had was laced in to every single one.
  • The glimpses of the Mercant family where we realize none of them are as silent as we expected.  I hope we get to see more of Arwen and Pavel in the future.  I’m also curious if E and S are going to end up together.
  • Valentin and Dima’s visit to Silver’s office – she never stood a chance.
  • The waffle date – Valentin was still being cat sneaky.
  • Ena having tea and a chat with a certain someone.  I loved how composed and in control she was.
five-stars

Divider

My Roommate’s Girl – Julianna Keyes – DNF

June 8, 2017 DNF, NetGalley 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

My Roommate’s Girl – Julianna Keyes – DNFMy Roommate's Girl on 6/12/17
Genres: New Adult, Romance
Pages: 252
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
dnf

The day a judge gave me the choice between going to prison or going to college was the day I vowed to stop stealing. Never again would I see something beautiful and beyond my means and take it, just because I wanted it. Just because I could.

When I moved in with Jerry, it was with good intentions. I needed a place to live while I got my degree, and he needed a roommate.

Then I saw Aster.

Blond and beautiful, good, pure, sweet, smart…and Jerry’s girlfriend. She was everything I never thought I could have. Except…maybe I can.

So I put a plan into action. Yeah, I’d probably go to hell, but it would be worth it. I wanted Aster. I wanted her yesterday and tomorrow and every possible way.

But you know what they say.

Be careful what you wish for…because you just might get it.


For me, there are a few golden rules in romance.

  1. There must be a HEA or HFN.
  2. No cheating
  3. The relationship can’t be unhealthy

I know that these are just rules for me, and even the definition of what each of what these mean for me might be different from someone else but for me they are hard stops.  Given that, I the title of this book should have been a clue that it wouldn’t work for me but after seeing a couple of people rave about it on Twitter I decided to give it a try.   I think we all know how this is going to turn out…

At 55 % I have decided I won’t be finishing this book.  It hits 2 out of my 3 already and I have no desire to keep reading to find out of it will do the same with the 3rd.   As the title suggests, the male lead in his book moves into an apartment and falls for his roommate’s girlfriend.  When he decides he must have her, he sets up his roommate by taking him to a bachelor party where he gets him drunk and has paid a prostitute to do whatever it takes to hook up with him.  I can only assume that others didn’t see this as being as problematic as I did since the character was a man, but can you imagine this story line being well received if we were talking about a woman?  The standard shouldn’t be different with a male character.  As if that wasn’t problematic enough, the rest of the relationship is based on both characters lying to each other repeatedly.  They aren’t truthful about their backgrounds or who they are and have a dynamic that is so dysfunctional that I found it to be anything other than romantic.

There are too many books that take me to my happy place to continue with something that I so fundamentally disagree with.  While this book may work for others, it just isn’t my cup of tea.

 

dnf

Divider

Haven – Rebekah Weatherspoon – 3 stars

May 17, 2017 NetGalley 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Haven – Rebekah Weatherspoon – 3 starsHaven on April 25, 2017
Pages: 228
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

The first in a new series from award-winning author Rebekah Weatherspoon...

A week-long getaway...
City girl Claudia Cade's carefree life is plunged into chaos when a camping trip with her brother in the national forests of Northern California turns into a deadly dash for her survival.

A solitary world turned upside down...
Nature photographer Shepard Olsen has resigned himself to a quiet existence, with only his dog by his side, until a woman in need of his protection shows up on his doorstep and throws his universe into disarray.

Two lives linked by tragedy...
Claudia is desperate to heal from her traumatic loss, but can’t stop thinking about her run-in with evil….or the grizzled mountain man whose quick thinking and good aim saved her life. When she shows up on Shep's doorstep again, she finds she isn't the only one who can't move on.

… saved by bliss.
The two begin an intense, passionate relationship of Dominance and submission, pleasure and pain, but with dark memories haunting them and decisions about the future rapidly approaching, Claudia can’t help but wonder...how long can they be each other's haven?

*** WARNING: This book contains a sexual relationship between a fashionista and a cranky mountain man who are dealing with physical and emotional trauma. And a very big, cuddly dog.***

I admittedly am running late on finishing this title but I am glad that I finally had a chance to finish it.  The challenge is I didn’t love it as much as I had hoped.  I struggled a bit with the idea of their connection and while it didn’t completely pull me out of the story…  there was enough there to make me question things which led to this lower rating.  I will want to read more by Rebekah as this is my first from her but I didn’t completely love this one.

I did absolutely ADORE our gruff, to the point hero.  Shepard had me thinking all sorts of naughty thoughts and I’d gladly submit to a Dom with his kind of treatment.  He’s got his own demons but he didn’t hide them.  He’s open in so many ways but he likes his privacy and being where he is.  I wish I could say that I was that centered but he found his home even after the mess with his parents.  I also wanted to slap his ex because no one deserves that kind of treatment.  If you can’t handle something from your partner, OWN THE FUCK UP TO IT… don’t blab their business everywhere like the issue is with them.  I know there are exceptions but for the issue in this case.  Yeah, not down with her behavior.

So… if I liked the hero so damn much why did I have an issue with the book?  Well, it has to do with the heroine… I liked her but… didn’t love her.  I got what she was dealing with, I really did.  I did…  I promise I did but she does something that I’m not as fond of.  She survived an attack that killed her brother, she has a ton of therapy that she needs but isn’t embracing (therapist didn’t mesh) and a host of other things but then she goes back to where everything happened and gets involved with Shepard who saved her.  Yeah, that’s messed up in a lot of respects..  but the thing that bothered me was she wasn’t honest with herself or him.  I get it… I do but that sort of hit me badly.  Yeah, probably because I adored Shep and wanted him to be treated the way he deserves but that’s just the way it hit me.  Now… you need to read the book to see what happens but I was actually quite happy with the ending.

I think that while I did have issues there is enough there that makes me want to keep reading more from Ms. Weatherspoon and that’s a great thing!  I love finding new authors to read and follow!

three-stars

Divider

Slow Burn Cowboy – Maisey Yates – 3.5 stars

May 12, 2017 Harlequin, NetGalley 2

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Slow Burn Cowboy – Maisey Yates – 3.5 starsSlow Burn Cowboy by Maisey Yates
Published by HQN Books on May 1st 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Western, Contemporary, General
Pages: 384
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

In Copper Ridge, Oregon, a cowboy's best friend might turn out to be the woman of his dreams…

If Finn Donnelly makes a plan, he sticks to it. After his brothers left Copper Ridge, Finn stayed behind, determined to keep their ranch going by himself. And when he realized his feelings for Lane Jensen were more than platonic, he shoved that inconvenient desire away. It was easy…until it wasn't. Suddenly his brothers are coming home to claim their share of the property. And Lane is no longer just in his fantasies. She's in his arms, and their friendship is on the line…

He's been her buddy, her handyman, her rock. But until that one breathtaking kiss, Lane somehow overlooked the most important thing about Finn Donnelly—he's all man. They're right together, no matter how much his volatile past has bruised him. Finn wants to hold Lane's body, but he doesn't want to hold her heart. But Lane is falling fast and now she's got a plan of her own…to show Finn there's nothing hotter than friendship turned to slow-burning love.

Also includes a bonus Copper Ridge novel, Take Me, Cowboy!

Finn Donnelly likes control, so when his entire life is turned upside down he begins to unravel.   Finn has spent the last 20 years working on the Laughing Irish Ranch with his grandfather, so when his grandfather passes away he can’t for the life of him understand why his grandfather didn’t leave the ranch only to him.  Instead the ranch was left in equal shares to Finn and his three brothers.  Finn is at a loss as to why his grandfather did this to him since his brothers haven’t ever been involved in the ranch.  Still, Finn has a plan.  He’s certain his brothers don’t really want to work on the ranch, so he will just buy out their portion and send them on their way.  Well we all know what they say about best-laid plans.

When Finn finds out things aren’t going to go quite the way he planned, he also discovers that his willpower to keep his hands off his best friend Lane Jensen isn’t quite what it used to be.   He’s spent years wanting Lane but kept his desire in check by reminding himself that she was too young for him and it wasn’t worth risking the most important relationship in his life by changing the rules.   Finn’s not cut out for relationships and certainly not marriage material but maybe he and Lane can both get what they need out of their friendship if they add a physical element to it.

 

Lane Jensen came to Copper Ridge at 16 to live with her brother Mark and put her painful past behind her.  She’s built a life she’s happy with and believes she’s moved on until she comes face to face with her past when her ex-boyfriend is suddenly all over the television.  Now every time she turns around she feels like she’s facing reminders of her past and is suddenly questioning the life she’s built.  As if that wasn’t enough, now Finn is trying to change everything about their relationship.  Doesn’t he realize that he’s the most important person in her life?  She isn’t about to let him risk their friendship when she needs him the most.  The problem is that now that she see’s Finn for the hot cowboy that he is, she can’t seem to stop fantasizing about him.

I enjoyed watching both Finn and Lane work through the demons of their past and being forced to reevaluate what they wanted from their futures.  I could relate to struggling with having to evaluate what you were worth or capable of after a less than ideal childhood.  I think this story worked so well because given the issues that both Finn and Lane had, the only way they were going to work through them rather than running away was with each other because nobody else mattered enough that they would stick around when things got uncomfortable.

I am really looking forward to learning more about Finn’s brothers Cain, Alex and Liam.  But then, who doesn’t love a whole new group of sexy cowboys.  I have a feeling the other Donnelly men are going to have some very diverse and emotional backstories.

 

three-half-stars

Divider

Master Professor – Tara Sue Me – 3.5 stars

April 4, 2017 NetGalley, Read in 2017 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Master Professor – Tara Sue Me – 3.5 starsMaster Professor by Tara Sue Me
Published by Penguin on April 4th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, General, Contemporary Women
Pages: 304
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars
four-half-flames

The New York Times bestselling author of the Submissive novels launches a new erotic romance series...

Students are begging to be held after class...

Andie Lincoln is madly in love with Terrence Knight—her childhood friend-turned-Hollywood’s newest golden boy. But he’s a Dominant and wants her trained as a submissive before he’ll consider a relationship with her. He enrolls her at the RACK Academy with strict instructions for her teachers: Do whatever you need to, but don’t take her virginity.

Fulton Matthews, the director of incoming students, is enthralled by Andie. Though he questioned her enrollment at first, watching her discover her submissive nature is hotter than his most intense fantasy. Under his control, her sexual awakening brings him to his knees.

Yet they can go only so far. Andie belongs to another, and Fulton is bound by a contract that strictly forbids relationships between teachers and students. But when Terrence comes to collect his prize, Fulton discovers it’s not easy to let Andie go. . .

I really wanted more from this story… more time with the characters, more details, more about the school, more about the secondary characters…  you get the point.  I am looking forward to more in this series but let’s chat about this first one.

We start this story by meeting Andie who is a virgin and is dating Terrence, a man she’s known forever but only recently made the transition to dating.  He’s a huge star but he has a secret he only recently shared with her…  he’s a Dom.  So we learn that he’s arranged for her to enter this school that teaches the BDSM community and, in particular, Doms/Subs.  She’s unsure but she knows she wants Terrence and as she researched the BDSM community she found that this kicked off a new level of fantasy she never imagined.  She’s a bit of a mystery as we start the story because you wonder why she was so willing to do this and not demand more from the man she supposedly loves.

When we meet Fulton Matthews we don’t get the best impression of him or how he treats others.  He’s very opinionated but he does own up to mistakes and the fact that he judged her before he really gave her a chance.  He’s got his own issues to work through as the story progresses but I did enjoy getting to know him.  I also enjoyed the fact that he was honorable even as he was hoping for things to go his way.  He’s drawn to her even as he knows he shouldn’t be but he really tries to not cross the line.  I also have to admit that he made a lot of valid points with her but mainly he did what was right which was to not interfere when Terrence comes to visit.  He did piss me off in the later stages of the book but that’s to be expected as we have to have the bad to make the good that much sweeter.

I had issues with this whole idea, no matter how presented, of “taking a break” or “granting a pass” in order for your lover to be trained to be perfect for you.  I just don’t think that this is an idea that sits well with me but I did enjoy the book.  I am definitely ready for more of this series and cannot wait until we get more of the others stories… yeah… I want to know more about the lover/best friend and what happened.

three-half-stars

Divider

The Mistakes – Elizabeth Brown – 3.5 stars

April 3, 2017 NetGalley, Read in 2017 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Mistakes – Elizabeth Brown – 3.5 starsThe Mistakes on April 4, 2017
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The Mistakes - An Sexy Office Rom-Com

It started as a promise.
A momentary lapse in sanity had me agreeing to two months of celibacy.
Then Mark Bishop showed up. My new boss was cocky, arrogant, and unfortunately, sexy as hell.
My first mistake?
Thinking I'd last two months.

Book III in the Off-Limits Series - Winnie and Mark's story. Can be read as a standalone.

Warning: This story contains mature humor, a lot of cursing, and of course, sexual situations. It’s intended for adult readers who enjoy that kind of thing.

This is my first read of this author and I will definitely go grab more as I had fun reading the story of a woman who only does flings and a man who wasn’t looking for anything but when he found the one will do anything to keep her close.

We start this story with the heroine panicking because of something stupid that should wake her up but… it doesn’t.  She then makes a deal with her friend to not have sex for two months but that goes up in flames when she meets a stranger at the reception.  She thinks it won’t come back to haunt her but after she starts work at her grandfather’s law firm she runs in to the man who gave her one incredible night.  Yeah, he’s her new boss… SURPRISE!  He’s not exactly happy to see her either but there definitely is an attraction that they try to fight but it does not last long.  I liked her but I did get frustrated with the fact she wouldn’t open up and talk to him/others about how she is struggling.  She’s strong but she really wants to have a family that is stable and hers.  I like how she pushed him to be honest with himself and opened him up to being more relaxed.  She also has a fun business that I was happy to see become something that will let her be her own person outside the family business.

Mark was such an ass initially but the one thing he never really did was lie.  He didn’t always tell her what she was to him but he didn’t lie about it.  He knew she might bolt so did what he needed to do to make sure that she slowly started to understand what she meant to him.  I also love how his grandma makes sure he sees what is happening and how he needs to grab on to it with both hands.  I liked how he worked hard to include Winnie and Lucy but also respected her decisions when it came to telling her family.  It did lead to some tense moments but he really did what he could to make sure Winnie was happy.  He’s also quite opinionated in the bedroom but I’d be quite happy with that kind of attention.

Overall, this was a nice story with a great amount of chemistry between the pair.  I will be going back to read the others in this series and hope others will give this a try.

three-half-stars

Divider

His Alone – Alexa Riley – 4 stars

March 31, 2017 Carina Press, NetGalley, Read in 2017 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

His Alone – Alexa Riley – 4 starsHis Alone by Alexa Riley
Published by Carina Press on March 28 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, General
Pages: 166
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars
five-flames

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR

Ryan Justice may be her boss, but nothing will stop him from making her his. New York Times and #1 ebook bestselling author Alexa Riley entices with a brand-new, full-length novel.

She thinks I'm perfect. A good boss, a good man. She thinks that I play by the rules.

She has no idea who I truly am. Why I'm really here.

Paige Turner is trying to outrun her past, but there it is, tossed back in her face anytime she manages to get two steps ahead.

She has no idea what a man like me will do to get what he wants.

Her need for Ryan got in the way of revenge, took her off course. Redirected her focus. Before she knew it, he'd made his way into her life. Into her heart.

I'm dirtier than she knows. She thinks I'm good to the core, but she doesn't know the things I've done. The things I would do for her.

True love doesn't let secrets as big as these stay buried. And when the truth about Paige's father is finally exposed, Ryan will do anything to fix everything. Paige has always been his—and his alone.

This book is approximately 75,000 words

One-click with confidence. This title is part of the Carina Press Romance Promise: all the romance you're looking for with an HEA/HFN. It's a promise!

I have to say that I was looking forward to this story after reading Everything for Her…  it does not disappoint!  Paige and Ryan definitely have chemistry and when they finally allow it loose it definitely does not dim.

Paige has proven herself to be a great friend (yes, that may have begun as a job but) and is trying to learn how to be a sister but she isn’t quite willing to open her heart or her life up to anyone.  She’s attracted to Captain (Ryan) who happens to be her boss but she thinks he’s too good for her.  She takes on guilt for things that weren’t her fault and is trying to find revenge on someone who deserves it but honestly isn’t worth the damage she is doing to herself.  I liked her and especially liked how she pushed Ryan’s buttons while making sure that once she claimed what was hers she let everyone know it.  She’s not afraid to get dirty but she is terrified of the need she feels to have a true family.  She wants love so badly that she hides from it until forced to admit that is what she craves.  I loved how she ultimately got everything because one man decided that he would make it his mission to give the world to her.

Ryan, aka Captain, isn’t the perfect guy Paige believes and we get to see there is more to him at the beginning of this book.  He’s so damn growly and sweet with Paige that you can’t help but swoon.  Everything he does is to keep her safe even if it means keeping her away from him for years.  I loved how we got to see their first meeting as a bonus chapter from his point of view as this shows us how hard it was for him to be patient.  I also loved how we got to see his struggle with waiting to claim her until she really was his.  I felt for him as his secret was exposed but he knew it might go down the way it did and while it hurt he still did what needed to be done.  I admit his ways of showing his dirty side made me swoon as much if not more than his gentle ways of showing how much she means to him.

The epilogues to this story will make you smile as they show how much these two have gained over their years together and laugh as his protective side does not diminish over time.  He’s definitely growly and possessive but with a heart of gold when it comes to those who mean everything to him.  Paige is his world and seeing that it remains true for years in the future made me smile.

four-stars

Divider