Publisher: Samhain

Divider

Baby, It’s Cold Outside – HelenKay Dimon – 3 stars

February 24, 2014 Read in 2014, Samhain, Sent 0

I received this book for free from the Author . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Baby, It’s Cold Outside – HelenKay Dimon – 3 starsBaby, It's Cold Outside Published by Samhain on February 25, 2014
Pages: 178
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

He usually gets what he wants. What he wants is her…and all that comes with her.

Men at Work, Book 1

Sex in the office? Lincoln Campbell knows better. His assistant, Thea Marshall, is off limits—until her back hits the door and her clothes come off. The next day brings more than morning-after regrets. It brings damning evidence that Thea stole business secrets.

Three months later, he can’t shake the doubts in his gut, so he heads for Thea’s family cabin by the lake, ready to talk. He’s not ready for the woman who answers the door. She was shapely before…and it won’t be long before she’s a totally different shape.

After Linc escorted her off company property while her protestations of innocence fell on deaf ears, facing off with him now isn’t exactly Thea’s idea of a good time. She needs a few more weeks to plan the drastically different direction her life has taken, but now he’s here—and refusing to leave.

With a storm rolling in and snow piling up, there’s nothing to do but face the past…and try to resist the real man behind the suit.

Warning: A hot businessman who usually gets what he wants. A strong woman who refuses to be pushed around—on the morning after, or any other time. And a cabin where the showdown begins.

I wanted to like this one more than I did but the hero just pissed me off so royally that I couldn’t quite find it in my heart to forgive him completely.  I can’t say that I didn’t understand why he reacted the way he did but dammit she deserved better than what he did to her.

Thea has worked for Lincoln as his assistant for a while now and has always harbored a crush on the man.  She’s understandably shocked when the walls finally come down between them and they spend an amazing night together.  This amazing night turns in to a nightmare the next day when he treats her coldly and then fires her with no explanation as to why.  When she finds out that she’s been accused of corporate espionage she’s shocked but crushed that he wouldn’t even let her defend herself or know what he was accusing her of.  She’s even more distraught to find out that she’s pregnant but knows that she will give this child something special and love it even though the father is a man who she wishes she could forget.  I liked her strength in knowing that she would defend the child no matter what but that she also didn’t plan on not telling him once she was safely past the riskiest time in most pregnancies.

Lincoln …  I’m trying to come up with something nice about him and to be honest he’s a selfish prick most of the story.  He’s such a driven man and finding out about his childhood makes it possible to sort of feel for him but dammit he’s just so selfish and righteous that it just pissed me off.  He’s so willing to believe the worst about the woman who has been his rock that I just wanted to scream at her to run far far away.  I felt for him in some respects but he’s just too arrogant for me to completely soften to him even though I think that once the truth came out he might have actually realized what he almost lost because of his arrogance.  Yes the evidence was pretty damning but it might have been nice if he was at least willing to talk to her and give her the chance to explain that while the evidence was damning it wasn’t 100% conclusive.

Anyway…   if you can get past his arrogance there is a good story here and I am looking forward to more in this series where we can hopefully see a bit more of Thea and Lincoln so I can maybe just maybe like him a bit more…

Special thanks to HelenKay Dimon for giving me the chance to read this one early.  While Lincoln didn’t work for me 100% I still can’t wait for more…

three-stars

Divider

Taking Him – Jackie Ashenden – 5 Stars

November 11, 2013 Read in 2013, Samhain, Sent 0

Taking Him – Jackie Ashenden – 5 StarsTaking Him Published by Samhain on November 12, 2013
Pages: 209
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

Behind every hero is the damage that made him.

Lies We Tell, Book 1

Computer game designer Ellie Fox can’t wait to start her new job in Japan. But first there’s one loose end in Auckland she needs to tie up: her obsession with her older brother’s best friend, Hunter Chase.

She’s sick of being “kid zoned”. It’s time to make like one of her kick-ass computer game heroines and take matters into her own hands. Except when she finally has Hunter where she wants him, her hands are the last thing he’ll let her use.

Hunter works hard at running the construction firm he co-owns with his friend, and at keeping his distance from his dysfunctional family. Control is his linchpin, but there’s just one spanner in the works—Ellie.

The girl he always looked out for suddenly seems determined to make him see her as a woman. But with a past darker than the angel wings tattooed on his back, the safest place for her is just beyond arm’s length. Or the next heart to suffer damage could be hers.

Warning: Contains a tortured hero, a determined heroine, cosplay kink, and a twisted twist that could cause mental whiplash. Line to the WTF Infirmary forms on the right.

So this summer I was watching the Twitter conversations of a couple authors and became intrigued by the hashtag they were using….  #dirtyeffingvirginhero… as I watched them banter back and forth it became very apparent that I needed to read more about this dirty man and I might have done a bit of begging.  Not too much but you know a bit of begging for a copy of this virgin hero..  Thankfully Jackie was nice enough to give in to my begging and send me this amazing book.  The partner in crime on this was her buddy Maisey Yates who made sure that we all got to see the hashtag and become very interested in this title.  So thanks to Jackie and Maisey for getting him in my line of sight and making me want this ASAP.

 

Ellie has loved her brother’s best friend for years and it hasn’t been made any easier by the fact that he keeps showing up to pull her out of situations he brother feels are inappropriate or ones that he can’t control.  She’s moving to Tokyo in a few weeks so figures that this final bit of distance will help her move on from something that never started no matter how badly she wanted it to.  Her brother ends up sending Hunter to pick her up from a convention and she can’t resist pushing Hunters’ buttons one last time but ends up getting more than she thought when he finally does realize she is not only a woman but one he wants with a fierce intensity.  As she battles his demons to get to know the real him there are times when she’s hurt to the extreme but I loved how she picked herself up and stood up for not only herself but for him.  She’s strong and is willing to fight for the man she knows he is and not the man he thinks he is.  I loved her humor, strength and compassion which are all needed to deal with him.

 

Hunter…  Ahhhhh sexy tormented Hunter…  how much I loved your need to make Ellie yours while at the same time being tormented by the belief that you weren’t the one for her.  You are an amazing man beneath the surface and watching you fight your demons was heartbreaking but gorgeous.  You want to be the one constantly in control but have found the one woman who you can’t control no matter how much you try.  I adore your heart and the fact that you tried so hard to keep away from Ellie knowing that you would cause her pain if you gave in even more than you were already doing by keeping her away from you.  You love hard when you fall and seeing her get you to understand your past was incredibly painful but oh so wonderful!  You needed someone who wasn’t afraid of taking you on and making you finally face the nightmare you lived for so many years.  Your tattoo is beautiful even with the ugliness that drove you to it.  I’m proud of what you accomplished and look forward to seeing more of your growth if Jackie will write us a bit more…  *hint hint*

 

Again special thanks to Jackie for giving me a copy of this to drool over and cry a bit while reading.   She had no expectation of review and in no way colored my thoughts.  I loved my damaged hero Hunter and hope everyone else will enjoy him as much as I did.   And…  Yes he is a dirty dirty boy…  😉

five-stars

Divider

Sponsored Contest – Beauty Bites – Mary Hughes – 4 stars

September 3, 2013 Contest, Read in 2013, Samhain, Sent 2

Sponsored Contest – Beauty Bites – Mary Hughes – 4 starsBeauty Bites Published by Samhain on August 27, 2013
Pages: 357
Format: eBook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
four-stars
Beauty Bites (Biting Love Book 6)
Beauty is skin deep…but the beast goes all the way.
When top Minneapolis ad man Ric Holiday is asked to design a campaign for a quaint little town, his first reaction is absolutely not. Meiers Corners is too near Chicago, home of the vampire who turned him as an orphaned boy.
Then the city sends an angel-faced med student with a body made for sin to plead their case. Synnove Byornsson is the ray of sunshine Ric hasn’t felt since he was human.
Armed with determination and a micro miniskirt, Synnove is prepared to crash Holiday’s penthouse cocktail party—and to dislike him on sight. But Mr. All-Style-No-Substance turns out to have a deadly smile, a barely restrained, feral strength, and piercing blue eyes that look at her—not at her cleavage.
Unfortunately Synnove has competition in the form of a sly temptress with a counterproposal. For the first time in her life, Synnove must cash in her genetic lottery ticket and fire back with some sizzle of her own—or her beloved Meiers Corners could become the new Sin City.
Warning: Contains a doctor with a bod for sin, an ad exec with a chip on his shoulder, sarcasm, sex, and a cabin full of annoying friends. Secrets are revealed. One heart-stopping, horrific moment leads to the ultimate of happily-ever-afters.

My Thoughts:

I have to say I really enjoyed this latest entry in the series although it did serve as a reminder that I missed a short story and another full length one somehow.  I’m going to have to go back and grab it so I can make sure not to miss a second of the craziness that is Meiers Corners.

Synnove is at a crossroads in her life when her cousin talks her in to visiting an ad executive in order to persuade him to help the town with a needed ad campaign.  What she ends up getting is thrown in the middle of a battle that has its roots in the 1800s and a war that goes back even farther than that. I liked how she wanted to be something other than the genetic outward gift that she was cursed with but also that she didn’t really understand her full worth.  She pushes back when way out of her element and doesn’t back down when someone larger tries to get their way.  She uses her brain to figure the clues out that end up getting everyone what they want in the end and that takes guts along with the amazing smarts.

Ric was something else.  I enjoyed how hard he tried to keep her at arm’s length but like all the other vampires in this series doesn’t stand a chance against claiming his mate.  He’s got an über protective streak towards his people and her but does try to fight it in order to make her happy.  His conversation with Bo was a wonderful scene that I’m glad Mary included as it puts a lot of things in to perspective for the reader and provides a great moment for Ric to really show how much he cares for Synnove.  His past is something else and I hope that as we see more of this world they both will play a part in the war that you know is coming closer to a head.

Overall this was a nicely paced story with a pairing that made me laugh at times.  Both of them are stubborn and her tendency to spout medical jargon when flustered should make you laugh a few times as they bust out of her mouth at the most inopportune times.  I really want a story starring his right hand man/partner so hopefully we will get that one soon.  😉

Special thanks to Author’s Angels who allowed me to be a part of this tour and help spread the word about this fun book.  They also provided this to me for review and I’m so happy that I got to get my greedy hands on it as a result.  Please scroll down a bit for a fun contest that is a part of this tour and take advantage of the excerpts below.

Excerpt:

It was all fun and games until the gun hit my skull.
Thud. A bright pain cracked in my brain, telling me the mountainous hostage-taker had brought his own weapon to bear.
Almost immediately something heavy plowed into us, spinning me away from the gun. I staggered to a stop.
My sight cleared to Ric, wrestling the mountain.
The big goon seized Ric with one arm, hugging him close like he was going to give him noogies. But the gun in his noogie hand made reality more chilling.
Ric shimmered, and suddenly the mountain was holding a cloud of mist.
Vampire fighting technique? I cheered before it occurred to me to wonder why Ric hadn’t used it before and why the shadowman helping us hadn’t used it at all.
The edge of Ric’s mist caught a stray beam of sunlight. It instantly combusted—poof. My elation turned to horror.
Ric snapped back into being like a rubber band. His cheek was seared open, exposing red muscle surrounded by blackened, bubbling skin. But he lost no time raising his bound hands, swinging, and whacked the bad guy’s head with fists like a mallet.
The mountain swayed but didn’t go down. Ric spun, once, twice, winding up his whole body behind it, and whacked him again.
Still the guy didn’t go down. My heart tripped double time. The mountain swept his gun toward Ric.
I leaped at them. Went oof when I hit the shadow’s arm, stuck out like a bar. I folded over it like a cheap towel and staggered back.
Ric slid into the rifle.
The mountainous goon opened fire as Ric knocked the gun to the side—the side where the ogre-like head hostage-taker stood.
Ogre Face ducked and covered. A spray of bullets rat-a-tat-tatted a line where his head had been.
Ric chopped his forearms across the mountain’s right wrist. The mountain howled, both arms flying up in defense, right hand dangling with a protruding lump at the wrist presenting as broken. The gun fell to hang from its clip. The mountain groped for it with his left hand.
Ric grabbed the big man’s balls.
The guy shrieked. Ric wrenched. The mountain dropped, curling on the floor like a shrimp. Apparently Ric also had a grip like a nut crusher.
“Stop!”
I whipped around. Ogre Face pointed his gun at my head. He rasped, “You’re dead.”
Terror burned that instant into my head like a snapshot. I stood facing the ogre. About ten feet separated us. Behind me was the hostage-lined bank of windows, the shadowman already running toward them. A few feet to my right, the mountain goon curled on the floor, Ric breathing deeply over him.
Both Ric and I were too far away to stop the ogre from shooting.
“Down!” The shadowman pushed hostages to the floor, starting with the ones in Ogre Face’s direct line of fire. Well, if you didn’t count me.
Ric leaped.
My knees started to bend.
Ogre Face pulled the trigger.
Ric wouldn’t hit him in time, even though he’d leaped before the ogre pulled the trigger.
The gun went off.
———————————————-
I turned.
Ric Holiday in his full sizzling glory was right on top of me.
I stepped back, spine hitting the edge of the elevator shaft. My nipples reached out as if trying to stay in touch. *The erection of the mammary papilla is due to muscle contraction, like the pilomotor reflex which causes goose bumps*—Stupid nipples. “What do you want?” I spoke a bit sharply, but his heat and heady scent had goosed my frustration into borderline rudeness. I flushed but held my place. Well, fused against the corner of the shaft, I had to.
He stared down into my eyes, his own frustrated too. “I want to explain.”
“You made it clear enough. Me and Camille at the O.K. Corral, one week from today.” I looked away. The elevator was leaving.
“Synnove.” He slid two strong fingers under my chin and urged my face back to him. The blue had softened. “I’m sorry.”
“Why? There’s worse?” I scowled, but I had to work at it. Why did he have to be so gorgeous? Why did his fingers have to be so gentle, so warm? “You’re going to make us bikini mud wrestle?”
“Ouch.” He smiled slightly. “I deserve that.”
“No,” I grumped. “You don’t. But you’re getting it anyway.”
The grin slowly widened, making his whole face edible. “The vaunted Byornsson honesty. I’m beginning to see the advantages.”
And I was beginning to see the advantages of hot sexy sizzle. But no way I was admitting that to him. Not lying, just omission, which is not a lie. Mostly.
When my lips parted to say something that was not a lie and definitely wasn’t about how sexy he was, his eyes darkened. “Shh.”
He replaced the two fingers on my chin with two cupping hands, holding my face gently, like it was something precious. Like I was precious.
My lips stayed parted but no words came out.
In that moment of silence, he lowered his head. Slowly, so I could have stopped him.
Should have stopped him.
Did not want to.
*He’s nothing but image.*
*Image and intense pleasure.*
*The lips have one of the highest density of nerve endings in the body…*
*Argh. Shut up and kiss him.*
While I was arguing with myself his warm mouth settled on mine, tongue sliding deftly between my lips. It rasped my sensitive skin, rubbing my lips awake like a thorough toweling. A steamed towel, hot and wet.
Confused feelings fled. I gave a little moan and opened wider.
He swept inside, all spice and heat. He groaned, a sound of masculine hunger. His questing mouth, his hot kiss, said lust plain and clear. Yet his hands were tender on my face, his sweet caress speaking of something beyond sex, a closeness that transcended the physical.
Happiness blossomed in my heart. Our groans were intertwined, mutual. For this one moment, the battle was suspended and we were on the same side.
His fingers tunneled into my hair, holding me firmly while his tongue drove deeper. He pressed closer yet, pinning me to the edge of the elevator shaft with his body, imprinting me with every muscle, every bulge, every place he was hard and primitive under his worsted.
I rippled against him and moaned softly in response. If he could generate this kind of pressure standing, how would the weight of his body feel, pressing me into a mattress?
At the thought I nearly exploded.
He shifted me, his powerful hands urging me away from where the corner of the elevator was digging into my spine and guiding me onto the wall. There he pressed me into vinyl wallpaper and kissed me like he was starving for me. The honest hunger in his kiss undid me. I grabbed his head and kissed him back with everything I had.
A big hand slid up my ribs, sparking a trail of heat, stopping under my breast. The mound throbbed, waiting, wanting, yearning for that hot hand to slide up the curve, to touch my delicate and private flesh. To brand it as his own. My soft moans shortened to whimpers, and I arched to thrust my breast more fully into his hand.
A deep rumbling started, a lion’s purr. His hand moved, fingers barely brushing the bottom curve. I stopped breathing. His fingers skimmed higher, circling nearer, nearer to the hardening tip. I twitched in anticipation, greedy for his touch on sensitive flesh barely covered by a thin blouse and the wispiest scallop of lace. Bless Twyla’s endless supply of sexy bras.
Finally, finally his thumb scraped my nipple. I shrieked into his mouth, jerking against him. My nipple furled instantly, wordlessly urging him again, more, now.
He opened his hand and covered my breast, his heat searing. Slotting the nipple between two fingers, he began to pump and tug gently, rhythmically squeezing, pulling. I thought I’d go insane from the sweet soft tugging.
Until he replaced the hand with his mouth.
His lips closed on my erect nipple through thin blouse and bra, breath wetting the material until he could have been sucking directly on flesh. It was the dream become real; it was better. More aroused than I’d been in my life, I grabbed his ears and beat my hips into him, not thinking at all, just moving. A pressure built between my legs, a hot, heavy throbbing that made me want him on his back and me naked and clamping him between my thighs.
A ding startled me; my eyes flew open. The elevator, which had gone and come back again, disgorged half a dozen professional-looking people.
Bio:
I’ve worked as everything from a cleaning temp to project manager for global clients. Currently I’m an author, musician, and computer consultant. I live in the United States Midwest with a basement full of spare computer parts and several musical instruments including my husband’s romantic cello and my flute for playing bird parts in orchestra…ask me to tell you that story sometime 🙂
Hugs!
Mary

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Image 1
Tour Schedule
four-stars

Divider

Diamond Dust – Vivian Arend – 5 stars

August 21, 2013 Read in 2013, Samhain, Sent 0

Diamond Dust – Vivian Arend – 5 starsDiamond Dust Published by Samhain on August 20, 2013
Pages: 273
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

She can’t shift, but she can shake their world.

Caroline Bradley is having one hell of a week. Her wolf lover has sniffed out his mate, making her an instant free agent. Not only that, Takhini territory has been overrun with aggressive bear-shifters electing a clan leader, and the wolf pack is feeling the effects—pushing her diplomatic skills to the limit.

Tyler Harrison is a grizzly on a mission. If he’s going to win the majority of the bears’ votes, he needs one final thing: a female companion. The only woman in town with influence over wolves, humans, and more bears than he’d like to admit, is Caroline.

Despite the sexual pull between them, though, Tyler’s not seeking a permanent relationship. And Caroline isn’t looking to be anyone else’s political pawn. But she should have remembered that when shifters are involved, changes happen in the blink of an eye.

Warning: Billionaire bear hero plus kick-ass human heroine equals a sexually volatile power struggle. Get ready for what might be the naughtiest game of tag that’s ever been played in the great outdoors.

My Thoughts:

Ok my fan-girl crush on Vivian Arend continues with this latest installment in the Takhini Wolves series.  I mean seriously I can’t wait until the RT convention in New Orleans to get a chance to see her in person again.  I have to say there was a part of me to see Evan and Caroline part ways even though I knew it was coming I was happy to see her get what she truly deserved.  Now when are we getting Evan???  Huh?  Huh?  I mean come on…  LOL  I also have to mention that I’m glad Lillie pushed Viv to write a book with BEARS!!!  Cranky, grumbly BEARS!!!!  Did I mention BEARS??  Oh sorry lost my train of thought there…

When Evan scents his true mate Caroline knows things are going to change but she isn’t aware yet how big the changes are.  She finds out about Evan after she gets caught in an embarrassing situation and is helped out by a man who she is definitely instantly attracted to.  She thinks it can’t go anywhere because of her arrangement with Evan but when circumstances change she decides to roll with it and maybe have a bit of fun with this stranger.  She’s disappointed when the shifter in question marginalizes their attraction and claims that she is there as a political ally and this is going to be a business only arrangement.  Maybe it is time for her to take the time off away from things once this week is up and re-group to figure out what path she should take now.  She’s so used to either doing things for someone else she loves/cares about or being used by others to improve the situation for themselves that she just wants someone or something just for her.  I liked getting to see behind the facade she presents in order to survive being a full-human in the company of shifters and really appreciated how she tried to draw the lines with her grumpy bear at the beginning.  She isn’t being heartless but trying to protect herself from wanting to have something more than what is being presented to her.  She’s strong with a huge heart that has been hidden from everyone for years out of self-preservation.

Tyler is intrigued by a woman who he found in the hot tub of his hotel suite.  He can’t afford to get distracted right now as he needs to win the bear conclave’s leadership vote but something about her calls to him.  When he finds out who she is and exactly how good she is at shifter politics he has to have her on his side.  He also wants to engage in some healthy side activities but is positive it will just be for the week of the conclave and nothing more.  He isn’t looking for anything permanent but as he spends more time around Caroline he finds himself getting thoughts that he never expected.  This is compounded by the fact that his bear is incredibly drawn to this feisty woman and others at the conclave have doubts about him being a good leader since he isn’t attached.  As we get to know him we see him struggle with what is considered acceptable in bear society as he is confronted by a woman who demands to know why bears love to claim instinct versus humanity.  As he looks at bear culture from this new vantage point he is ashamed of what he sees and is willing to stand up finally to this old pattern.  I loved how he struggled initially with what to do to make Caroline happy but he did truly listen to what she was saying it just didn’t always sink in quickly.  He has so much growth from the initial man who honestly wanted to do nothing more than look at life as a business to a man who lets himself love and live life outside of work hours.  I adored his cranky attitude at the beginning and how Caroline wouldn’t accept this from him.

This is a pair that is truly well-matched and I cannot wait to get glimpses of them in the future but…  ahem…  now when do we get Evan’s story again?  Oh…  and when can we have more BEARS!!!!!!  😉

Special thanks to Fatin who contacted me on behalf of Viv to see if I wanted an ARC of this title..  I really appreciated it and ummmmm just assume yes to anything by Viv you ever get in your hands again.  I’ll take em…  🙂

 

 

 

five-stars

Divider

Masked Cowboy – Sarah M Anderson – 4 stars

August 5, 2013 Read in 2013, Samhain, Sent 2

Masked Cowboy – Sarah M Anderson – 4 starsMasked Cowboy Published by Samhain on August 6, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

He hides from the world…but he can’t hide from her.

Men of the White Sandy, Book 2

Moving her veterinary practice out west is a chance for Mary-Beth to start over. But her resolve to learn to hold her tongue goes out the window when she meets Jacob, a Lakota cowboy who says next to nothing—especially about the black leather mask covering half his face.

Sometimes he seems to be almost flirting. Other times, it’s as if he’s angry she exists. But there’s no mistaking the heat that flares between them.

Jacob still isn’t sure who—or what—carved up his face and killed his best friend three years ago. All he knows is the thing was after a child he now hides with his silence. A medicine woman’s granddaughter he would die to protect.

Outspoken, sexy Mary Beth reminds him of how lonely his life has become. But he can’t forget how much he stands to lose if any distraction allows a monster to rise again and destroy the last hope of his people.

Warning: This book contains a masked cowboy with a lot to hide, a woman who shoots her mouth off at all the wrong times, and the wanton destruction of a certain pair of panties during explosive sex.

My Thoughts:

Just like Mystic Cowboy Sarah takes us back to the White Sandy in Masked Cowboy.  We get to see Rebel and Madeline again but this is about Jacob and his lady-love Mary-Beth with a side visit to the reservation.  We get to see who has been behind the poisonings and find out more about the town that surrounds the reservation.

Mary-Beth has always kept moving away from things that seem too much like relationships.  She always leaves her romantic entanglements and isn’t looking for anything other than the chance to get her new veterinary practice off the ground away from everyone she knows.  When she gets to see the show that a masked cowboy puts on she’s incredibly drawn to this mysterious sexy man but is more intrigued by the little girl she sees him pick up.  Who is this little girl and how can she help with her?  As she gets drawn in to the mystery of poisoned animals and the little girl she also finds herself spending more time with a man who gets under her skin in a way she never has experienced.  I liked how outspoken she was and especially appreciated how much she was unwilling to let Jacob treat her as if she didn’t matter.  She pushed him to open up to her but in a way that you were rooting for and not one that turned you off.  My heart broke for her at the end but man Jacob knew what to do even if it didn’t seem like it at first.

Jacob is obviously hiding something as he wears a mask but he also keeps to himself and doesn’t let many people close to him since the incident that left him scarred.  He’s got a child no one knew about and is working for a man no one likes but there has to be more to the story than people understand.  What we find out is a man who is stuck in a holding pattern protecting everything he holds dear from a man bent on destroying the reservation.  He hides behind the mask because of the damage he sustained when he lost his first and only love but also uses it as a crutch to keep others at bay.  He’s determined to keep Mary-Beth at a distance because he doesn’t believe himself worthy of love but after a stormy interlude in a remote cabin he just can’t do it.  When the worst thing imaginable almost happens to Mary-Beth he reacts in such a heart-warming way that you can’t help but want him for yourself.  The level of trust he puts in her very early on was amazing and seeing her return his trust with equal abandon was wonderful even as they both kept a bit distant.  Your heart will break for the hell he has been through at the hands of an insane individual but will sing when you see him let Mary-Beth in.

This is a couple who don’t have an easy path to love but it is a love you know will last as it is built on mutual respect and need plus a good dose of friendship.  I cannot thank Sarah enough for sharing a copy of this with me early for review as I really enjoyed it.  I’m ready for more in the series especially…  Nobody!!!

four-stars

Divider

Pitch Perfect – Sierra Dean – 5 stars

August 5, 2013 Read in 2013, Samhain, Sent 0

Pitch Perfect – Sierra Dean – 5 starsPitch Perfect Published by Samhain on August 6, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

She’d be the perfect catch if he could take his eye off the ball.

Emmy Kasper knows exactly how lucky she is. In a sport with few opportunities for women at the pro level, she’s just landed her dream job as head athletic trainer for the San Francisco Felons baseball team. Screwing up is not an option.

She’s lost in thought as she pedals to the spring training facility, her mind abuzz with excitement as she rounds a corner—and plows head-on into two runners. The end of her career dances before her eyes when she realizes she’s almost run over the star pitcher.

As Tucker Lloyd watches the flustered Emmy escape with his bandana tied around her skinned knee, the view is a pleasant change from worrying about his flagging fastball. At thirty-six, the tail end of his career is glimmering on the horizon. If he can’t pull something extraordinary out of his ball cap, the new crop of rookies could make this season his last.

The last thing either of them needs is a distraction.

The last thing either of them expects is love.

Warning: Contains a down-on-his-luck pitcher, a good-girl athletic therapist, chemistry that’s out of the park and sexy times that’ll make them round all the bases.

My Thoughts:

I have to thank Sierra right off the bat for giving me the chance to read this book as I adored the chemistry you feel from the beginning between the main pair.  You also get some lovely secondary characters that I am beyond ready for their stories (hint hint).  Add to this the fact that she captures a loyal Cubs fan perfectly and man I was in love.

Emmy is ecstatic to finally be a head athletic trainer.  She’s always wanted it and has worked very hard to get where she is in a world dominated by men.  She’s a bit distracted and plows into two baseball players as she turns a corner one of which is her team’s star pitcher.  As she starts working with him on his rehab she gets a complication she doesn’t want but can’t avoid – she’s attracted to him on both a physical level and more importantly an emotional one.  She’s involved with someone but as she and Tucker spend more time together the lines keep getting blurred.  Thankfully both of them really do work hard to keep the relationship on the up and up while she is still “technically” with someone else and when she finally lets the hammer fall on the old relationship all bets are off.  I liked that she didn’t want to trade on her dad’s fame and that she really did understand that it was what people would try to focus on in addition to being female.  She’s smart and very loyal to those around her even if they don’t deserve it.

Tucker is at a point in his career where he is wondering if this will be his last year or can his body withstand another year doing the thing he loves.  He isn’t looking for a relationship but is instantly attracted to Emmy and wants to find out where it could lead.  When he finds out she is taken he respects the boundaries while pushing them as  much as he can.  He knows the relationship she has is a dead one and not truly a happy one but he does respect it even as he develops a friendship with her while making it clear he wouldn’t mind it becoming more.  I liked how much he was willing to put himself out there for her and man when the relationship was kaput he turned on the heat.  He’s such a good guy that you want him for yourself.  I also appreciated how he took Emmy’s professional advice and really used it to help his career continue.

This is a good pairing that you will love watching build up via friendship and flirting to something that will definitely withstand the rigors of MLB and time.  Thanks again to Sierra for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.  I wouldn’t complain if anything else in this series “accidentally” ended up in my mailbox.  Again…  HINT HINT!  🙂

 

five-stars

Divider

Trust In Me – Dee Tenorio – 5 Stars Contest!!!

July 27, 2013 Read in 2013, Samhain, Sent 2

Trust In Me – Dee Tenorio – 5 Stars  Contest!!!Trust In Me Published by Samhain on July 23, 2013
Pages: 240
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

Sometimes falling in love is the easy part…

 

Rancho del Cielo Romance

Locke Jackman is single, childless…and he has a bad case of empty nest syndrome. For years, as he fought tooth and nail to keep his brothers and sisters together after his parents died, his entire life was focused on his responsibilities.

Now his siblings have all moved on with their lives, and there’s no one around to distract him from his overpowering attraction to his sister’s best friend. Their mutual desire is stunning…but then again, so are the secrets keeping them apart.

Susie Packard’s nightmarish marriage taught her what happens when she gives in to her weakness for powerful men. Too bad the big, stoic frowner across the street—the one who sets her bells jangling just by breathing—has her in his sights.

Try as she might to keep her emotional distance, Locke is determinedly knocking down all her walls. But as much as she wants to be the woman he needs, she knows better than most—passion may have its rewards, but every secret has its price.

 

Warning: This book contains a hot, modern-day Viking seducing his way to the heart of his woman, a stubborn lingerie designer with a world of secrets and a very deep bathtub… Enjoy!

My Thoughts:

*Sigh* where do I start with this one??  Well I guess I first start with an apology to Dee because I’ve had this for a bit on my Kindle but have been a bit sidetracked on what title released what date.  So Dee I’m extremely sorry that it took me this long to fall in love with Locke but now that I’ve finally read it I’m truly kicking myself for taking so long.  He’s just amazing and the fact you gave him a partner that won’t let him roll all over her is just amazing.

As much as I want to gush about Locke I’m going to start with talking about the woman who was lucky enough to catch his attention and his devotion. Susie owns the local lingerie and other fun items shop but other than this she’s a bit of a mystery to the town.  Sure she’s close to Amanda Jackman but otherwise she’s a bit private in her off-hours and other than one incredible interlude in a remote cabin is not involved with anyone.  Does she harbor thoughts about the big man across the street who can get her revved up with just a look?  Yes…  is she hiding something huge from her past that makes her feel like no matter how badly she craves him she shouldn’t lead him on? Yes.  Is she hiding something more pressing from him than her past?  Oh yes she is but with her history she’s not going to spill the beans on this time bomb until she can have 3 more days to fret and worry.  She’s strong but with her history carries an amazing amount of baggage that will make you truly feel for her as much as you want to yell at her for pushing Locke away.  She just can’t see beyond the past to a future she really does deserve with a man that would do anything to make her happy.

 

Ok …  I can’t hold out on gushing over Locke any more…  I just can’t.  He’s just an amazing character that you wish was waiting around the corner for you to find and have fall in love with you.  He can be a bit overbearing but you can tell it really does come out of a place of love and not out of a need to control every action you make.  He’s put his life on hold to raise and keep together his family after the death of their parents but he really doesn’t feel that he made a huge sacrifice as his family means the world to him.  When he sets eyes on Susie he knows that this woman is the one for him and also senses that she’s not going to make the pursuit of her easy so he just works on being a part of her life until the one day when their mutual lust explodes at his cabin.  Once they get back to town she’s even more determined to keep him out but he’s even more sure that this is the one for him and will do what he can to make her understand.  When her secrets come out he shows an amazing amount of patience and compassion while doing everything he can to prove that she can trust him and trust in them.  I have to say watching such a strong man struggle with his need to protect the woman he loves and her need to prove her own strength was amazing.  I’ve also got to say he broke my heart a few times as we watch him brought to his knees by some of her actions (trust me she means well but man seeing him in pain was just….).

 

Ok Locke love-fest over as man I could continue talking about him for a very very long time.  Thanks to Dee for sharing this story with me with no expectation of a favorable review…  I adored him!!

 

And now for some fun….  At RT Dee was kind enough to sign five of the below postcard so for a chance to win one please enter the contest below…   Note that one lucky postcard winner will also win a eCopy of Trust In Me because who wouldn’t want Locke in their lives….  *sigh*

Image 2

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

five-stars

Divider