Publisher: Mira

Divider

The Bourbon Thief – Tiffany Reisz – 4 stars

June 29, 2016 NetGalley, Read in 2016 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Bourbon Thief – Tiffany Reisz – 4 starsThe Bourbon Thief by Tiffany Reisz
Published by Mira on June 28, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary Women, Family Life, Literary, General, Romance, Historical
Pages: 400
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

From the internationally celebrated author of the Original Sinners series comes a brand-new tale of betrayal, revenge and a family scandal that bore a 150-year-old mystery

When Cooper McQueen wakes up from a night with a beautiful stranger, it's to discover he's been robbed. The only item stolen—a million-dollar bottle of bourbon. The thief, a mysterious woman named Paris, claims the bottle is rightfully hers. After all, the label itself says it's property of the Maddox family who owned and operated Red Thread Bourbon distillery since the last days of the Civil War until the company went out of business for reasons no one knows… No one except Paris.

In the small hours of a Louisville morning, Paris unspools the lurid tale of Tamara Maddox, heiress to the distillery that became an empire. But the family tree is rooted in tainted soil and has borne rotten fruit. Theirs is a legacy of wealth and power, but also of lies, secrets and sins of omission. The Maddoxes have bourbon in their blood—and blood in their bourbon. Why Paris wants the bottle of Red Thread remains a secret until the truth of her identity is at last revealed, and the century-old vengeance Tamara vowed against her family can finally be completed.

I struggle with how to explain this one without giving away secrets but here we go any way…

There are two time periods (actually sort of 3… hmmmm….) that are presented in this book but you won’t be thrown back and forth like crazy between the periods so if your afraid of it because of that…  worry no more.

Present day is a man meets a woman at the bar, they play a bit in bed, she tries to steal from him and then he gets told a story.  The present day piece is not the main story you want to hear even though I’d almost like to know more about Cooper as he might have his own story to tell but I digress.  Paris is the woman who has attempted to steal a very valuable bottle of bourbon from him and while he’s pissed she makes a deal with him that he can’t refuse.  She’ll tell him a story and at the end of it he’ll be compelled to give her the bottle as it is rightfully hers.  This is the real story you are wanting to read and it isn’t the most beautiful or happy story.

We get to see the dark underbelly of a Kentucky bourbon dynasty where anything will go in order to keep the family line intact.  We have murder, incest, rape and all sort of other secrets that come to light as Paris reveals the story of the last of the great Maddox family.

Tamara is the golden Maddox princess but her life isn’t all sunshine and love.  Is she spoiled?  Yes….  but not all is right in the Maddox household.  There are so many secrets that start to unravel on her birthday and they come to light slowly over the course of a few years and the reader is taken along for the ride.  We get glimpses of the founding of the distillery and the madness that started it all.  We also see that this latest behavior by the scion of the Maddox line is not the only time where darkness has entered it but that the line has had issues all along.

I enjoyed this story but I will warn you that this isn’t for everyone.  There are things that come to light as Paris reveals the history which might make (honestly should make) one uncomfortable but I found myself drawn to the characters and wanted to know more.  I’d like to see more of Paris in the future as she intrigued me but this doesn’t read like a start of a series so perhaps that will never happen.  If you don’t mind darker tones to a story then I’d say go grab this one but if even the idea of rape or incest makes you extremely uncomfortable then you might not like this.  I will note that I did like what happened to the person who attempted the rape so… there’s that…  Once again Tiffany has given us a story that isn’t pretty in tone but keeps you interested in knowing more about the characters and wanting to know how it all plays out.

four-stars

Divider

The Queen – Tiffany Reisz – 5 stars

November 2, 2015 Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2015 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Queen – Tiffany Reisz – 5 starsThe Queen by Tiffany Reisz
Published by Mira on 2015-11-01
Genres: BDSM, Contemporary, Erotica, Fiction, General, Romance
Pages: 448
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Once upon a time, Nora and Søren made a fateful deal—if he gave her everything, she would give him forever. 

The time has finally come to keep their promises. 

Out of money and out of options after her yearlong exile, Eleanor Schreiber agrees to join forces with Kingsley Edge, the king of kink. After her first taste of power as a Dominant, Eleanor buries her old submissive self and transforms into Mistress Nora, the Red Queen. With the help of a mysterious young man with a job even more illicit than her own, Nora squares off against a cunning rival in her quest to become the most respected, the most feared Dominatrix in the Underground.

While new lovers and the sweet taste of freedom intoxicate Nora, she is tempted time and time again by Søren, her only love and the one man who refuses to bow to her. But when Søren accepts a new church assignment in a dangerous country, she must make an agonizing choice—will the queen keep her throne and let her lover go, or trade in her crown for Søren's collar?

With a shattering final confession, the last link in the chain is forged in The Original Sinners saga. It's the closing chapter in a story of salvation, sacrifice and the multitude of scars we collect in the name of ecstasy—and love.

Ok I am going to do a rare thing and use gifs to help a bit with summing up my thoughts going in to this book…

This was me as I processed the end of the Original Sinners series…

Which was closely followed by:

You see like many others I DID NOT want to let these characters go but Tiffany gives us a great story that ends in a way that made me very happy even as I was sobbing because it was over.

I can’t say much without possibly spoiling some of it but we get:

  • Confessional Sex – not a spoiler because Tiffany promised us this and YEP she delivered.
  • Kingsley being his usual self with all the personality in the world and such a deep love for our beloved priest even when he was at odds with him.
  • A sense of the gamesmanship between the trio and how that impacts those around them.
  • A better idea of the dynamics between Nora and Søren as they struggled to understand what they were to one another.
  • Did I mention confessional sex???  Cause…  if not…  CONFESSIONAL SEX….  yes I went there… *fans self*
  • An amazing scene that made me all sentimental and was such a great way to address certain items.  (Can I be any more vague? *cue evil laugh*)

All in all this was a story of a woman finally coming in to her own, a man who is driven to do things because of his need to punish that which he loves the most, a man who loves but won’t open his eyes and mind to what his love really needs or who they are, and a glimpse at the incredible people they have become after so many years near and with one another.

I hate that we are done with the series but Tiffany hasn’t completely closed the door to additional stories with these characters but instead has closed the door, for now, to longer glimpses at their lives.  We may still see them popping up in other places but for now I must accept that Søren is taking a small break from us to continue being with those he loves the most and  I can always go back and read those stories again.

I must say thank you so much to Tiffany and all the people who worked so hard on this series.  You’ve made me more comfortable with experimenting with things that seem outside my comfort zone which means I have expanded my horizons in reading and life.  I cannot thank you enough for opening these doors for me.

five-stars

Divider

The Mistress – Tiffany Reisz – 5 stars

July 27, 2013 Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2013 0

The Mistress – Tiffany Reisz – 5 starsThe Mistress Published by Harlequin, Mira on July 30, 2013
Pages: 458
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon

There's punishment—and then there's vengeance.

Nora Sutherlin is in handcuffs, held captive by two men. . Under different circumstances, she would enjoy the situation immensely, but her captors aren't interested in play. Or pity.

As the reality of her impending peril unfolds, Nora becomes Scheherazade, buying each hour of her life with stories—sensual tales of Søren, Kingsley and Wesley, each of whom has tempted and tested and tortured her in his own way. This, Nora realizes, is her life: nothing so simple, so vanilla, as a mere love triangle for her. It's a knot in a silken cord, a tangled mass of longings of the body and the heart and the mind. And it may unravel at any moment.

But in Nora's world, no one is ever truly powerless—a cadre of her friends, protectors and lovers stands ready to do anything to save her, even when the only certainty seems to be sacrifice and heartbreak….

My Thoughts:

I’ve got to admit that getting my hands on an uncorrected proof at the RT Convention has to be one of my best moments.  My partner in crime at the convention was ready to just call it a trip at that point and just read it.  Well she read it while we were still in Kansas City at the expense of sleep and the copy stayed in the room safe when we were wandering the convention.  This review is not based on that copy but is based on the ARC copy I received via NetGalley.com from Harlequin and I must say I adored both versions.  I adore Tiffany and loved being able to not only meet her in Kansas City but to also get to see her again at the Lori Foster event in West Chester.  She’s a wonderfully sweet individual who handles crazy fans very patiently.  I also have to mention that Andrew is such a patient man to deal with those of us crazy fans… 😉

I’ve got to admit struggling a bit with how to write this review without giving away spoilers and I think the only way I can do this is to mention the main players in this story with thoughts I had about their stories.

So on to the main players:

  • Wesley – Sweetheart I adore you but you are too innocent and vanilla to ever completely fit in to or handle the world that Nora thrives in.  While I do understand the depth of your feelings for her and hers for you I’m happy you got to go on a journey to discover exactly what you want and need for your future.  My hopes are that you continue to grow and develop in to the man you are meant to be.  I loved seeing you get to see the truth that you’ve always hidden from and realize exactly who what love can be even behind masks.  You’ve got such potential and hopefully Tiffany will give us a chance to see more of you in the future.
  • Laila – You are a beautiful young woman who got to see how love really is with two strong people.  You gave us such an amazing glimpse in to life between Søren and Nora which I greatly appreciated.  You know what love can be and are willing to risk it even when you aren’t sure it can be returned.  You deserve every bit of happiness that I believe is coming your way and my hope is with the example that you had from Nora and your uncle you will never settle.  You got some great moments in this story and I enjoyed seeing your views of our main characters.
  • Grace – We didn’t really get to know you well in The Siren but you are an amazing woman who is lucky enough to have a husband in Zach that is willing to give you room to fly and spread your own wings.  Your conversations and times spent with Søren have to be some of my favorite moments as you truly saw who he is behind the mask and probably have some of the best insights in to this amazingly complex man.  You held your own against some of the strongest personalities and I admit to cheering when you not only got to experience one of your fantasies but when you got something you truly desired with the man you love.  You are a lucky woman who has an amazingly open heart to accept things not everyone would be capable of.
  • Kingsley – What can I really say other than *sigh*  You proved yourself to be willing to do something that would have brought most other men to their knees but I am glad that circumstances made it where you didn’t have to break yourself to get this resolved.  You got to understand more about how your relationship with Søren evolved and also got to rediscover what you originally saw in Nora.  You had an amazing amount of growth during this story and I’m happy you have finally found the balance you needed in  your life.  The fact you really got to understand what was behind everything that Søren has done through the years I think gave you the things you needed to make your life truly fulfilled and for that I’m grateful to the kidnapper.
  • Nora – I have struggled at times to like you.  I didn’t like the way you played with people’s emotions and needs but as we got to see via the stories you told Marie-Laure there is a depth to your heart that you’ve just kept locked behind the mask.  You like to play and manipulate but you really do love the men in your life to the point of almost having a split personality.  I think you loved the idea of Wesley and the “normal” life you might be able to have with him but Søren feeds your soul in a way that no one else will ever be able to.  You have a clear understanding of wanting what is best for the man you love even if it does tear you apart inside.  I adored hearing more about your relationship with Kingsley and Søren because it also gave me insight in to who you are which gave me what I needed to really adore you.  I had struggled but once we got more of what drives you it made me soften in my feelings towards you to the point where I was happy to see where you ended up.
  • Søren – What a roller-coaster I’ve been on with you since The Siren.  I admit I did not like you originally but as we got to see more of you other than the Dom I will admit to falling for you myself.  Are you still scary?  Yes, I mean let’s be honest here and say anyone would be scared of a sadist who has an amazing ability to see all the way to your soul.  As we started to see you via The Angel and The Prince we got to see a man truly in love with Nora and one that also deeply loves his Kingsley.  What threw me over the edge to complete adoration of you had to be the stories of a younger you with Nora and Kingsley but also your conversations with Grace and Wes.  I think your conversation with Wes in this book was amazingly beautiful but also the fact you were willing to accept his place in her life just amazed me.  You gave her what she wanted at the expense of self and this my dear is just an amazing thing.

Ok…  I’ve tried to be careful with what I’ve stated above to not give away too much but still show how much I adored the stories that Tiffany wove together and the fact that every character gets what they need via this book.  They may not get what they originally thought they would but I can’t imagine any other ending…

Thanks so much to Tiffany Reisz, NetGalley.com and Harlequin for the chance to read this in 2 different formats and I cannot wait until we get more from Tiffany.  I’m looking forward to a young Søren in love so bring it on…

 

 

Divider

The Mistress Files – Tiffany Reisz – 5 Stars

June 1, 2013 Harlequin, Purchased, Read in 2013 0

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
The Mistress Files – Tiffany Reisz – 5 StarsThe Mistress Files Published by Harlequin, Mira on June 1, 2013
Pages: 200
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

Kingsley Edge, king of kink himself, wants Mistress Nora to write a training manual to instruct his other professional Dominants how to take better care of their clients. But Mistress Nora can't put pen to paper without churning out a sexy short story and Kingsley's training manual quickly turns into true tales of her adventures with her favorite clients.

A female submissive who can't orgasm.​

A male Dominant too scared to do kink with his blind wife.​

A rock star with a secret.​

A vanilla gay woman with an embarrassing little problem. ​

A male switch with an itch for more than just pain.​

These are their stories.

I’m going to keep this review short like the stories are.

We get to see Nora do what Nora does best which is get in to people’s heads and help them realize their potential.

The Case of the Acting Actress

Nora helps a natural sub realize what her real needs are and how she can experience an orgasm even without her first sexual partner.  We get to see Sheridan in another light which is fun.

The Case of the Diffident Dom

Nora helps a married couple find their true needs by bringing back the Dom to the man who just wants to take care of his wife.  This was a sweet insight into a truly loving marriage that just needed a push to get both partners where they truly wanted to be.

The Case of the Reluctant Rock Star

Nora gets to release a hidden submissive.  She has a lot of fun in this one and we get to see more of how clearly she sees through the facade.

The Case of the Secret Switch

Swoon…  Nora and a certain special someone we all know and love…  and no not Søren because that man is in no way shape or form a switch.

The Case of the Brokenhearted Bartender

Nora helps a woman open up in more ways than one..  LOL

 

Overall this is a nice teaser to tide us over until The Mistress releases at the end of next month.

 

five-stars

Divider