Publisher: Macmillan

Divider

Kidnapped By The Billionaire – Jackie Ashenden – 4.5 stars

March 8, 2016 Macmillan, NetGalley, Read in 2016 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Kidnapped By The Billionaire – Jackie Ashenden – 4.5 starsKidnapped by the Billionaire by Jackie Ashenden
Published by Macmillan on 2016-03-01
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance, Suspense
Pages: 400
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Get lost in the deeply passionate, darkly sensual new novel from Jackie Ashenden, Kidnapped by the Billionaire.
He kissed her the way he’d run her down, conquering her, taking her…

A priceless plan. An illicit attraction.
Seven years ago, billionaire-turned-bodyguard Elijah Hunt lost everything he had—his family, his future—and now he wants revenge. But when he decides to kidnap the daughter of the man who ruined his life, Elijah gets a lot more than he bargained for. Violet Fitzgerald is nothing like her corrupt wealthy father. In fact, she’s so disarmingly independent—and irresistible—that she just might be dangerous…

And a love that’s too good to be true.
Violet never thought she’d feel a connection to her captor. But there’s something beneath Elijah’s steel-bodied exterior that makes her want to know him more deeply…and surrender to his every demand. But once Elijah’s erotic fantasies become a reality—and he and Violet develop a real romantic connection—he finds himself in a quandary: Is he still the one in control? Or has Violet imprisoned him—body and soul?

Jackie Ashenden's novels are:
"Sexy, emotional." -Laurelin Paige, New York Times bestselling author
"Tantalizing . . . explosive."-Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Mine to Take
"Not to be missed."-RT Book Reviews

Ok, Jackie is a master at making you want to hate the hero but then love him as you get to understand more about their demons and what has driven them to be the damaged men you meet.  Elijah is no exception as he is driven to a desperate act in order to complete his mission.  You’ll sort of hate him but he’s someone that was given one of the hardest moments that anyone could ever survive and came out the other side a different man.

We’ve seen Elijah in the previous books as he seemingly thwarts our other leads in their pursuit of their own revenge and answers but as we discover in this story he had his own ax to grind with our bad guys.  He’s now having to scramble to complete what he believes to be the best revenge for his loss but, as he discovers when he meets our heroine, perhaps what he needs has been standing right in front of him in the guise of a spoiled princess.  I loved how severely he lived his life because of his trauma but as we saw the walls tumble down around his inner self there is a man with such a deep heart and feelings that just needed to find a new mate.

I LOVED VIOLET *ahem* I really loved Violet and how she surprised everyone with how strong she is.  She really got to come in to her own true self and find out that she was ready to be seen as the strong person she was.  She really surprised me as she let go of her dreads which allowed her to hide and accepted that she couldn’t escape Elijah.  She tried but was smart enough to wake up quickly and embrace what she was stuck with.  As she opens her eyes and heart to a man that is not what he seems, she also has to realize who her family truly is and accept that her biological ties may not be what she should focus on.  I also appreciated that she pushed Elijah and accepted his dark side while working to make sure he saw the light side that deserved to live.  She’s insightful and isn’t willing to just take the easy ride if push comes to shove she can and will push hard.

This series has been so wonderful to read and I look forward to much more from Jackie.  I know she will push me to the dark side but then deliver heroes that love their partners with no reserve once they accept that this is truly theirs.

four-half-stars

Divider

Make You Mine – Jackie Ashenden – 4.5 stars

May 5, 2015 NetGalley, Read in 2015, St. Martin's Press 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Make You Mine – Jackie Ashenden – 4.5 starsMake You Mine by Jackie Ashenden
Published by Macmillan on 2015-05-05
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Gothic, Romance, Suspense
Pages: 384
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In the Nine Circles Club, one lucky man gets more than his share of money, power, and women--until he meets a beautiful opponent who plays in the name of love…in Make You Mine by Jackie Ashenden.
He's raising the stakes.
International playboy Alex St. James always plays to win. Whether it's betting on a high-stakes card game--or bedding a high-class socialite--the gorgeous world-class gambler knows how to beat the odds using his brains, his body, and a whole lot of charm. But there's one woman who's immune to Alex's bag of tricks--which makes her the perfect challenge…and the ultimate prize.
She's going all in.

Once a special operative in her native Russia, Katya Ivanov knows what kind of man Alex is. As his personal bodyguard, she's seen him seduce the richest women, place the riskiest bets, and break the hardest players. But to even a score from her past, she's willing to take a gamble on her reckless boss. Even if she has to pretend to be his lover. Even if he drives her mad with desire. And then she never wants this dangerous game to end…

This story made me very happy!  We have a really strong heroine with a hero that can definitely keep up but can’t keep his guard up around a woman who makes him feel.

Alex has a lot of secrets that he has buried for years.  This has cost him his family but also has hardened him to the point where he thinks all he wants is a quick bit of play and then move on to the next no-strings-attached fling.  He plays hard and unless you are paying attention you will see him as a playboy with a ton of money who really doesn’t care for anything.  After dice are found with his stepfather that gain access to an exclusive poker tourney it is determined that he needs to be the one who attends.  Alex wouldn’t have let it be anyone else but now he needs to figure out how to keep protection around him without making the person he is targeting aware of it.  His idea is to use his female bodyguard but when he sees her in something other than work clothes and also spends more time around her…. well…  then it gets complicated.  His story will make you mad, sad and then joyful as we find out his past then celebrate his future with a partner who truly knows him.

Katya is an amazing heroine in many respects.  She and Alex are definitely peas in a pod in more ways than they know so seeing two extremely stubborn people find one another was explosive.  There is so much she has kept buried for so many years in order to make others happy so she struggles with figuring out what it is she wants and needs.  The fact that she is absolutely loyal to those who don’t really deserve it was heartbreaking but I still enjoyed her even with the big chill she presents.  She’s not cold in any way, shape or form but she needed to find someone that could push her to expand her limits.  She’s also intriguing in the way we see her start to feel… be a woman with wants and needs… but mainly open up to someone that deserves it.

I can’t wait for the next story as the pair will be quite entertaining….  he’s going to make it clear to her that she’s HIS….

four-half-stars

Divider

One Night of Trouble – Elle Kennedy – 4.5 stars

January 28, 2015 Entangled Publishing, Read in 2015, Sent 0

I received this book for free from the publisher . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

One Night of Trouble – Elle Kennedy – 4.5 starsOne Night of Trouble (Entangled Brazen) by Elle Kennedy
Published by Macmillan on 2015-01-05
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, General, Romance
Pages: 237
Source: the publisher
One Night of Trouble (Entangled Brazen) (After Hours)<img src="http://ir-na.amazon-adsystem.com/e/ir?t=booaholano0c-20&l=as2&o=1&a=B00R19EZH2" target="_blank">Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A sexy category romance from Entangled's Brazen imprint...

No More Mr. Nice Guy…

The moment AJ Walsh sees the sexy, tattooed pixie walk up to his bar, it's lust at first sight. He's always been labeled the "nice" guy―opening doors, buying flowers, and never, ever having one-night stands. But with this wicked little angel with red lips and unfathomably dark eyes? Oh, yeah. Tonight, "nice" has nothing to do with it...

Brett Conlon is trying to convince her family that she's put away her reckless wild girl side for good. Nothing―and no one―could be better for her reputation than golden boy AJ Walsh. So they make a deal: if he plays The Good Boyfriend for her family, he can be a very, very bad boy with her. Now their one naughty night is about to turn into a whole lot of trouble...

I can’t believe January is almost over already…  This means that my month of Elle Kennedy is at an end but you can still try to enter the wonderful contest by checking out my first post this month – here.

I’ve enjoyed each of these stories and am not ready to give these guys up but hey that’s what rereads are for right????

AJ has always been the good guy you can count on.  On the surface he’s perfect from opening doors, paying and in general being a gentleman but…. he’s BLAND…. Yes I said it..  sex on a stick with an MMA past and the man is ummmmm boring.  Well unless you look a bit deeper… if you look deeper you get a man that is a bad boy in all ways with a heart of gold that just needs someone to kick his ass and show him that he’s worthy even if he’s always tried to live up to a memory.  I liked his good boy side but dammit GIVE ME THE BAD BOY!!!!!  I loved why he was behaving the way he was but it wasn’t fair to him or his family because everyone was losing out on the wonderful man kept in check for fear of disappointing them.  He also was good for Brett as he showed her that a little bit of a wild streak wasn’t a bad thing.

Brett has her own issues…  She wants to be seen as responsible and capable of running her own location of the family tattoo chain.  She’s smart and funny but made mistakes in trusting someone who wasn’t good for her.  She’s a bit impulsive when we first meet her but trying hard to keep that side of her under lock and key but this man just calls to her wild side and she can’t keep him at arm’s length for long.  She knows AJ as the golden child as she went to school (a couple of years behind) with him and always had a bit of a crush on him.  As she gets to know the man inside the image she finds that maybe they can help one another out but they aren’t really building anything real …  or are they??

There’s something wonderful about discovering who you really are and getting someone that not only gets the real you but celebrates it.  I enjoyed seeing them both find their match and themselves in this story.  Now…  what to read next???

four-half-stars

Divider

One Night of Scandal – Elle Kennedy – 4 stars

January 21, 2015 Entangled Publishing, Read in 2015, Sent 0

I received this book for free from the publisher . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

One Night of Scandal – Elle Kennedy – 4 starsOne Night of Scandal (Entangled Brazen) by Elle Kennedy
Published by Macmillan on 2014-09-08
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, General, Romance
Pages: 230
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

A sexy category romance from Entangled's Brazen imprint...The wrong man never felt so right...Ex-fighter Reed Miller has been secretly lusting over his best friend’s girl for months, but he refuses to jeopardize a friendship over a woman—especially one who doesn’t like him all that much. Now that Darcy’s on the market again, it’s even more imperative to stick to his strict hands-off policy. But the sizzling attraction between them is too powerful to ignore, and once he’s had a taste of her…all bets are off.Darcy Grant is tired of walking the straight and narrow path. She’s on the hunt for passion, and there’s no denying Reed is just the man to give it to her. Although she has no interest in dating a bad boy, and certainly not her ex’s best friend, it’s impossible not to melt beneath Reed’s skillful touch. Now it’s just a matter of setting a few ground rules—and hoping her rule-breaking, sweet-talking bad boy agrees to follow them. But if she lets Reed into her bed, does she stand a chance of keeping him out of her heart?

Yep it is that time again for me to post the review for the second story in this HOT series.  For a chance to enter the giveaway from Entangled Publishing for One Month of Elle Kennedy click here.

Now for my thoughts on this entry…  ummmmm HOT sums it up but you already figured that since I said the series was hot.  There was something about this one that made me a very happy reader and I think it was due to the fact that the main pair really didn’t know what to think of one another but had such chemistry that they couldn’t resist even as they struggled with what to do about her ex-BF and his best friend … yeah they broke the rule surrounding exes and best friends as we are talking the same man in both cases.  Anyway what we get is a heroine who needs to find someone that brings out the passion in her and a man who wants to find someone he can share his life with.

Darcy thinks she wants a good guy.  You know the good guy that you could bring home to mama and that everyone comments on how great of a wholesome guy he is.  Well what she actually needs is a bad boy who can get her passionate side to come out but is really a good man underneath the bad boy exterior.  She gets it in spades when she decides to go against her better judgement and explore the chemistry she has with her ex’s best friend.  I liked how she was strong and self-sufficient plus that she really wanted to make sure that her ex was ok with everything before she completely crossed the line with Reed.  I did not like that she wasn’t honest with Reed about how she was feeling and it led to some tension between them.  I got why she played the game she did but I didn’t have to 100% like it.

Reed was a surprise in many ways.  He’s hidden his lust for his best friend’s GF under a facade of cold indifference but when he finds out that she’s an ex well that just makes things interesting.  He’s a stand-up guy though and really does mean to check with his buddy before he crosses the line but he just has trouble keeping himself in check when it comes to her.  I liked how he was honest about many things and was willing to take the cues from her as they worked their way through their attraction.  I also melted at his work with kids and the way that he really was a nice guy underneath the bad boy persona.  He’s wonderfully dirty though and I wouldn’t mind it at all if he were standing by me right now putting moves on me… (if a certain someone is reading this…. ummmm… yeah…  you know I adore you but *fans self* heh).  Mind you I would be looking over my shoulder to see who he was really talking to but hey we can have those momentary fantasies right???  LOL

Overall this was a hot read with a couple you just know is in it for the long haul even as they try to deny it…

four-stars

Divider

One Night of Sin – Elle Kennedy – 4 stars

January 14, 2015 Entangled Publishing, Read in 2015, Sent 0

I received this book for free from the publisher . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

One Night of Sin – Elle Kennedy – 4 starsOne Night of Sin (Entangled Brazen) by Elle Kennedy
Published by Macmillan on 2014-08-04
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, General, Romance
Pages: 162
Format: eBook
Source: the publisher
One Night of Sin (Entangled Brazen) (After Hours)<img src="http://ir-na.amazon-adsystem.com/e/ir?t=booaholano0c-20&l=as2&o=1&a=B00LRXRO4Y" target="_blank">Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

A sexy category romance novella from Entangled’s Brazen imprint…Sometimes it’s good to be bad…When it comes to sex, good girl Skyler Thompson always plays it safe, choosing stable and sedate over wild and thrilling. She doesn’t do one-night-stands, but one look at sinfully sexy Gage Holt and she’s willing to reconsider. He makes her want to be bad for once in her life, and she’s prepared to take what she wants.Danger follows former MMA fighter Gage Holt like a shadow. Despite his successes as part owner of Sin, an exclusive nightclub in Boston, Gage can’t risk getting involved with a woman, especially one as sweet as Skyler. Still, he can’t resist a taste—and it’s so damn good he has to see her again. As addicted as he is to her, Gage knows there’s no future for him and Skyler—not with his past lurking in the dark corners of an MMA cage. But Skyler’s tougher than she looks, and she’s ready to fight for her man.

To enter the contest associated with the month of Elle Kennedy Tour go here.

I have to start this with…  Can I have a Gage for my very own????  He’s yummy even as he tries to portray himself as a cold asshole.

Skyler is the classic good girl who has always tried to be the good girl but man oh man is she not really one.  She’s good from the outside the bedroom perspective and likes to live a clean life but when she finds someone that makes her motor run as hot as Gage does she finds out that she really needs a bad boy to get to her true self.  I liked her being open to exploring her wilder side with Gage but I really liked that she saw thru to the real man under the grumpy exterior and was willing to fight for him even as they had issues.  Her issues with her stepfather were realistic in many respects and I appreciated when she finally opened her eyes and heart to what he wanted and who he really was.  She’s a good match for Gage and I was happy to see them bring out the best in one another.

Now Gage is what I really liked in this story.  Mind you I liked his naughty, naughty ways but his heart was what made me happy.  He’s a great guy in a bad situation and seeing him just want to do what was right in order to protect his family was wonderful although you wanted to slap him for taking so much abuse because of a weak brother.  I think that his brother finally had grown up by the time we met him in this story but the damage he caused was already done and to be honest a bit unforgivable.  I also appreciated that we got to see Gage called to the carpet by the men who know him best.  He deserved to have his eyes opened but I think what made me happiest was seeing this gruff man fall hard for the woman who looked sweet but has a spine of steel to stand up to his domineering ways.

The story is hot as hell with sweet moments and a hero that will make you swoon.  He has some major moves on him…  *snicker*

 

 

 

four-stars

Divider

Sweeter Than Sin – Shiloh Walker – 4 stars

October 6, 2014 NetGalley, Read in 2014, St. Martin's Press 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Sweeter Than Sin – Shiloh Walker – 4 starsSweeter Than Sin by Shiloh Walker
Published by Macmillan on 2014-09-30
Genres: Contemporary, Contemporary Women, Fiction, Romance, Suspense
Pages: 336
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

CAN’T FORGET THE PAINIt took years for Adam to stop drowning his regrets in alcohol, and running the local bar doesn’t make it any easier—especially not when everyone he knows gathers there to discuss the shocking allegations that have shattered his hometown. When another murder rocks sleepy Madison to its core, it becomes chillingly clear that even more vicious wounds are waiting to be exposed.WON’T RESIST THE PLEASURENothing is sacred anymore, and no one is safe, least of all the mystery woman who shows up in town out of the blue, looking like every fantasy Adam’s ever had. She may have her own dangerous secrets, but she can’t ignore the urgent heat between them any more than he can. As a killer’s quest for vengeance explodes into violence, Adam is tempted to lose himself in the delicious promise of her body—until he realizes he’ll risk anything if she’ll give him her heart…in Sweeter than Sin by Shiloh Walker.

I’m loving this series so much and this entry has an amazing balance of suspense and romance.  I loved the fact that we have two people who really have always felt something for one another even though one of them wasn’t really aware of what the other one meant to them even back then.

Adam has buried himself in alcohol and women to dull the pain of not being there for the woman who meant everything to him when she needed him.  As his town starts to unbury the past he is forced to recall the horrifying details of what happened that long ago night and is confronted with someone that he never expected.  I loved how damaged he is and how aware of his own weaknesses but still making the effort to not slip back to addiction.  He’s so strong but shows such a weakness when it comes to his heroine.  I loved watching him work so hard to stay within boundaries with her and truly respect her even as he wants to get the answers he so desperately needs.  His need for her leaps from the pages and you’ll probably want him for your very own….  I have to admit to sighing a few times as his need shines thru.

The one thing I am not going to do is give the heroine completely away.  Her journey is part of the story I wouldn’t trade because as you see her work thru her issues you get to see how much she needs Adam.  She’s got so much guilt and so many secrets that you want to help her but know that she needs to do this by her own terms otherwise she won’t be able to move forward.  She’s very strong and my hope is Shiloh will give us more time with her as she gets on with the life that has been in limbo for so long.  She’s got a strong soul and it shines as it lets go of the secrets and embraces a future with a man that is everything to her.

The story told about this town is not a pretty one or an easy one to read.  As someone who has lived with an abuser as a child it hit me a bit harder than some but I loved that Shiloh went there.  I think while it is something that is disquieting and honestly disgusting in nature it is something that happens every day all over the world.  Only by bringing stories to the public, even fictional in nature, it hopefully will make some people do more research to see what they can do to help victims of these horrible crimes and also bring those perpetrators to justice.

Special thanks to NetGalley.com and St. Martin’s Press for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest opinion.

four-stars

Divider

Convicted – Dee Tenorio – 4 Stars

September 2, 2014 Read in 2014, Sent 0

Convicted – Dee Tenorio – 4 StarsConvicted by Dee Tenorio
Published by Macmillan on 2014-08-18
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, General, Romance, Suspense
Pages: 241
Goodreads

A thrilling suspense from Entangled’s Ignite imprint…The only thing more dangerous than passion is the truth.Former Marine and new Sheriff’s Deputy Cade Evigan is hanging onto his damaged soul—and his personal code—by a thread. His current mission? Weed out a violent motorcycle crew from a small mountain town. The problem? Katrina Killian, a woman standing firmly on the other side of the law, smack in the middle of the gang he’s there to destroy. She may get under his skin, but the sultry biker has criminal written all over her. So why can't he see her like any other convict?For two years, Katrina has been a DEA agent hiding in plain sight amidst a pack of killers, working to put an end to the gang that has terrorized her hometown. The last thing she needs is to fall in love with a man who could blow her cover—and her heart—to pieces, but Cade’s become an addiction she can’t break. Unable to risk either of their lives with the truth, she plays both ends against the middle to keep him safe. But lies can only last so long, and Katrina’s time has just run out…

I must say what made me happiest about this story was the fact that neither of our lead pair knew what hit them when they met each other.  Both of them have every reason to not want to have a relationship at all but the chemistry between them will not be denied!

Cade is damaged due to his military service and while he is keeping it together he gives off this vibe that anyone else senses as bad news.  Sure, he’s a deputy and should be someone that the town can count on but this town has been under the control of a motorcycle gang that seems to be getting more and more violent with the jailing of their leader.  He’s in town as a favor to a friend but would be much happier up at his secluded cabin where his past doesn’t overwhelm him.  As he gets to spend time around our heroine the walls start to tumble down and he starts to actually live again.  He’s still rough as hell around the edges but people start to warm up to him as the walls fall.

Katrina…  now she made me laugh at some of her antics… Talk about a heroine who says some of the most outrageous things just to get a rise out of Cade.  She is balancing her need to help the warrior she sees so wounded by his past and her job of being undercover to bring down the gang terrorizing this small town.  She’s the best one for the job with her family ties to the organization but how far will the man who is running things while the leader is in prison go in order to consolidate power?  She’s so conflicted during this story with her overwhelming need for Cade and her duty to serve and protect that we see a couple spending much time apart because of secrets.  She wants to tell him but needs to finish this in order to make people safe.

The scenes with them are hot as hell and they burn brightly but I enjoyed the storyline of a MC gone mad and a town dealing with the consequences.  I cannot wait for the next story as I’m sure it will provide some intense moments.

Special thanks to Dee for giving me a

Divider

Long For Me – Shiloh Walker – 5 Stars

May 13, 2014 April 2014 Read-A-Thon, NetGalley, Read in 2014, St. Martin's Press 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Long For Me – Shiloh Walker – 5 StarsLong For Me Published by Macmillan on May 13, 2014
Pages: 80
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Christina Bell remembers what it was like to be part of a loving family. The youngest of the Bell children, she simply cannot believe that her dad, or anyone else she loves, had a hand in her mother’s disappearance. She’s looking forward to moving on and spending more time with her sexy best friend, Guy Miller, who she is starting to see in a whole new light.

Their attraction sizzling and love deepening, Christina feels confident in her life and ability to handle what comes her way...But when Nichole’s body is found—and the mystery of her death slowly reveals itself—Christina is left not knowing who to trust. What if Guy, her one true desire, proves to be her biggest danger?

Loved this one in so many ways except…. I wanted more at the end… Greedy I know but damn damn damn..

Guy has always been in love with Christina (Tink) but other than one stolen weekend has kept those feelings from her no matter how much it cost him.  As information comes to light about the trauma from her past can he really still hope to have a future with the woman who means everything to him?  I loved Guy in all the glimpses we’ve seen of him as the stories of the siblings were told.  He’s such a great friend to all of them but his constant presence in Tink’s life was the most beautiful thing.  You see his struggle with remaining only friends with her as she struggles with her own issues but there was something amazing as they spent more time together in an intimate fashion.  You see his feelings in everything he does to get her the answers she needs even as the answers destroy him.  He’s such an amazing man and the strength he shows was mind-blowing.

Christina is used to being different.  She’s always struggled with finding her place in the world and quieting her mind.  When she finally got the diagnosis of ADHD and dyslexia things started to make sense but then in a moment her world was shattered.  She’s always had Guy to center her but wouldn’t let it become anything more because nothing stays.  She’s not afraid to speak her mind but the sheer amount of fear she hides behind a devil-may-care attitude broke me a bit.  As she struggles with the answers to the tragedy of her past she also struggles with her feelings for the man who is her rock.  She wants to shut down and ignore everything but as others force her to confront the truth behind her own issues outside of the family tragedy she realizes that she could lose something much more precious…

They have some really steamy times but to be honest the conversations they have and the feelings they share with one another were so powerful that I really didn’t want to see the story end…  Special thanks to NetGalley.com and St. Martin’s Press for the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.

five-stars

Divider

Burn For Me – Shiloh Walker – 4 Stars

April 26, 2014 April 2014 Read-A-Thon, NetGalley, Read in 2014, St. Martin's Press 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Burn For Me – Shiloh Walker – 4 StarsBreak For Me by Shiloh Walker
Published by Macmillan on 2014-04-22
Genres: Contemporary, Contemporary Women, Fiction, General, Romance, Suspense
Pages: 80
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Jensen Bell had twelve happy years before her mother disappeared and her whole world went to pieces. Since then, she's become a cop—one who takes great pride in her work, and in helping keep others safe. The saving grace in her own life has been Dean West, the only man who can make her burn with desire and help her through her burdens. But when a shocking discovery turns her life upside-down, even being wrapped in Dean’s arms might not be enough to keep her out of harm's way, in Break for Me by Shiloh Walker.

More to the story of a missing woman and the mess that it left behind with her family…

Dean has been lusting after Jensen since he met her but he’s never made his move.  He senses that she wouldn’t handle him moving in on her so has been watching and waiting for a chance.  He’d walk away if it wasn’t for the fact that he has seen the same longing reflected in her eyes at rare moments so he just can’t give up on the one woman who has really sparked his interest in years.  Once he finds out her history he finds a kindred soul in more ways than one as he has a massive source of pain in his own past.  Different but still as life-changing to him as hers was to her path in life.  I loved how he stood for her as she gets the news that part of her needed but the other part of her always dreaded hearing.  He worked so hard to keep strong for her and watching him struggle with what he wanted from her but wasn’t willing to risk what he finally managed to get from her was a bit heartbreaking.  He’s an amazing man and I hope that we get to see more of them together as the other stories release.

Jensen is the strong one.  She channeled the pain of her past in to the career she loves but she’s lonely.  When she sees Dean she’s drawn to him like a moth to a flame but can’t seem to let her guard down enough to take a chance.  As things start to flare between them she gets word that something has come to light which throws her for a loop.  As she struggles with this information she also struggles with the intense passion that Dean has unlocked within her and seeing this strong woman come to terms with this intense need was interesting to read.  She’s strong but I liked that she let herself feel when with Dean even as she wanted to retreat.  She’s good with everyone around her but seeing her get someone who will truly cherish her as much as she deserves made me happy.

A good second part to the story arc which will continue in Long For Me….  Special thanks to NetGalley.com and St.Martin’s Press for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.

four-stars

Divider

Break For Me – Shiloh Walker – 5 Stars

April 26, 2014 April 2014 Read-A-Thon, NetGalley, Read in 2014, St. Martin's Press 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Break For Me – Shiloh Walker – 5 StarsBurn For Me by Shiloh Walker
Published by Macmillan on 2014-04-01
Genres: Contemporary, Contemporary Women, Fiction, General, Romance, Suspense
Pages: 80
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Scarred long ago by the disappearance of his mother, Nichole, Tate Bell aches to spend his days and nights with Ali Holmes, a woman he’s loved for years. But while Ali’s heart pines to be with Tate, her head has reservations... Ali knows that Tate has never forgiven his father for the fight he had with Nichole right before she left the house—and was never heard from again. Ali thinks that Tate's unresolved anger is a force to be reckoned with...even though the heat that blazes between them is undeniable. Now both Tate and Ali are left to wonder: Can love really conquer all? Get lost in a world of secrets and shadows in Burn for Me by Shiloh Walker.

Smoking hot with a hero that really believes himself so damaged and likely to be a monster because of his past.

Ali loves Tate with all her heart but knows this isn’t what he wants to hear.  She’s been willing to be his lover in private but an acquaintance during the day.  I use acquaintance instead of friend because in a lot of respects that is what it felt like.  Did they spend some time together in public?  Yes..  but… there is always a wall up and in many respects that sort of wall would make it seem like a lesser relationship than a friendship would have.  She’s aware of the trauma of his past but if he won’t let her in why should she keep hurting herself by letting him give her so little of himself?  I liked her willingness to push him away even as it hurt her but I loved the fact that when push comes to shove she really does open her arms to help him heal.  She’s smart and someone that I would potentially love to know in real life as she has had a hard time in life but doesn’t let it break her.

Tate…  my dear broody, stubborn as hell Tate.. I loved your depths and wish that you had woken up before you put Ali thru such pain.  Well and put yourself thru the wringer as well as you work thru the pain of your past.  I loved your strength and once you were confronted with the truth that you were honest about what you needed/wanted.  I loved watching you struggle with what you believed was right even as others knew what you were doing to keep yourself hurting.  You will love watching how sexy he is but I think the fact that he’s held on to what he had to in order to function was amazing.  Was he right?  No…  but as you’ll see in the story it made sense even as much as it didn’t.

Overall a very good start to the series and I can’t wait to see more.

five-stars

Divider