Publisher: Loveswept

Divider

Roman Holiday #1 – Chained – Ruthie Knox – 4 stars

November 10, 2013 NetGalley, Random House, Read in 2013 0

Roman Holiday #1 – Chained – Ruthie Knox – 4 starsRoman Holiday: Chained Published by Loveswept, Random House on November 11, 2013
Pages: 40
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

Meet Ashley and Roman—complete opposites who can’t hide their attraction—in Episode 1 of Ruthie Knox’s eBook original serial, Roman Holiday.

Ashley Bowman is having a bad week. Reeling from the death of her beloved grandmother, she returns to the Florida Keys only to learn that a heartless Miami developer has gotten hold of the crappy vacation rentals she calls home. Ashley has one day to clear out before Roman Díaz destroys the only place in the world that matters to her. Chaining herself to a palm tree in the bulldozers’ path seems like a good way to stop him . . . until she realizes she should’ve brought food and water. And pants. Also, it would help if the evil developer weren’t so ridiculously hot.

The last thing Roman Díaz needs is some sun-kissed blond protester getting her picture in the newspaper and messing up his plans. He bought the property fair and square, and the resort he wants to build on the site is the key to realizing his highest ambitions. But when a hurricane blows through, Roman has to hustle Ashley to safety if he wants to protect his reputation—and that means giving in to her unreasonable demands.

Roman needs to learn a little compassion, and Ashley’s decided to teach it to him . . . even if she has to drag him all over the Eastern Seaboard to do it.

I know not everyone likes serials but this is from one of the authors I admittedly fan girl over so I am definitely going to want the rest of this.  Granted I prefer full release novels but for Ruthie I’ll make an exception!

This is definitely a brief introduction to the characters that will draw us in more as the story evolves but my initial thoughts are as follows:

 

Ashley is someone who needs to find something to center her.  She’s at loose ends with the loss of her beloved grandmother but the impression she’s left with me is of a woman who isn’t sure of what she wants in her life so proceeds from adventure to adventure secure in the knowledge her grandmother would be there as a rock.  The loss of this rock is going to cause her to have to grow up and make some hard decisions but at her core she’s a woman who believes in living life and not closing herself off.

 

Roman is a bit harder to pin down.  He’s a man who is driven to escape his past but I think this is coloring his future to the point that he isn’t 100% sure of who he is any more.  Sure he acts like he knows who he is but I think as this book plays out we are going to see him have to face his past in order to have a happy future.  I’m looking forward to his interactions with Ashley as I think we will get a lot of fireworks as he fights the hard fight to not let passion rule him but only logic.  This should prove fun as I think our lovely Roman has a naughty streak a mile wide that I can’t wait to see.

 

I’m ready for more and hope that my guess about Roman proves to be true….  Thanks to NetGalley.com and the folks at Random House Loveswept for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.

four-stars

Divider

Making It Last – Ruthie Knox – 5 stars

July 10, 2013 NetGalley, Random House, Read in 2013 0

Making It Last Published by Loveswept, Random House on July 15, 2013
Pages: 136
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

In a brand-new eBook original novella, RITA finalist and USA Todaybestselling author Ruthie Knox takes her spectacular Camelot series to new heights with a tale of desire reinvented.

A hotel bar. A sexy stranger. A night of passion. There’s a part of Amber Mazzara that wants those things, wants to have a moment—just one—when life isn’t a complicated tangle of house and husband and kids and careers. Then, after a long, exhausting “vacation” with her family, her husband surprises her with a gift: a few days on the beach . . . alone.

Only she won’t be alone for long, because a handsome man just bought her a drink. He’s cool, he’s confident, and he wants to take Amber to bed and keep her there for days. Lucky for them both, he’s her husband. He’s got only a few days in Jamaica to make her wildest desires come true, but if he can pull it off, there’s reason to believe that this fantasy can last a lifetime.

My Thoughts:

Ok…  I’m going to admit something that anyone who follows my blog already knows –

I’m a huge huge huge Ruthie Knox fan girl.

Ahhhhh that feels better to finally get that out in the open…  LMAO

Please read the other books in this series before you read this one.  Tony and Amber play a part in every story and this is an amazingly heart-wrenching read that hits very close to the heart of any married or long-term couple.  Have tissues available and make sure you won’t have to be any where until you have a chance to recuperate from this read.

Amber should be happy.  She knows she should be happy but she is having trouble living up to the facade she believes people expect of her.  I mean she loves her kids and her husband but something is wrong that is shaking her to the core.  She wonders does her husband really love her or is this the way it ends with mad lust/love dying to being just two ships that pass sometime during the week but really seem to have no soul deep connection.  You feel her pain coming off the page as she struggles with what the economy and life has done to her self-worth and marriage.  When Tony leaves her behind at the resort for some “her” time she’s lost without any idea how to get her self back and starts to really look at if she’s willing to deal with living a half-life back home or not.

Tony is in pain wanting nothing more than to make Amber happy.  He’s been working himself to the bone to try to have it all.  The amazing company, home, marriage and all the trappings of success while feeling like he’s trapped in a never-ending downslope.  The economy has severely impacted his construction firm and losing the help of his brother seems to be throwing the final nail in the coffin.  He leaves Amber at the resort in hopes that she’ll return to him healed and happy but is forced to realize that maybe he needs to be there with her to save the stagnant pool their marriage has become.  This is a man who is deeply in love with his wife but is so caught up in wanting to give her everything he has lost sight of what maybe is all she ever needed…

I’m going to stop here as you need to read this wonderful story (wiping tears as I write this) and blubber like most of us that have been lucky enough to read this early.  I cannot stress enough that Ruthie has captured the essence of a marriage at a crossroads where both parties have to decide on what the path forward will be – stay married or divorce?

Ok enough blubbering and say many thanks to NetGalley.com and the wonderful people at Loveswept who were nice enough to give me a chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.  This was an amazingly heart wrenching wallop to read and I really cannot stress enough that you have tissues available.

I’d really love it if you would share your thoughts once you read this amazing story as I found it immensely real and true to life.

 

 

five-stars

Divider

The Story Guy – Mary Ann Rivers – 5 stars

July 7, 2013 NetGalley, Random House, Read in 2013 1

The Story Guy – Mary Ann Rivers – 5 starsThe Story Guy Published by Loveswept, Random House on July 8, 2013
Pages: 120
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

In this eBook original novella, Mary Ann Rivers introduces a soulful and sexy tale of courage, sacrifice, and love.
 
I will meet you on Wednesdays at noon in Celebration Park. Kissing only.

Carrie West is happy with her life . . . isn’t she? But when she sees this provocative online ad, the thirtysomething librarian can’t help but be tempted. After all, the photo of the anonymous poster is far too attractive to ignore. And when Wednesday finally arrives, it brings a first kiss that’s hotter than any she’s ever imagined. Brian Newburgh is an attorney, but there’s more to his life . . . that he won't share with Carrie. Determined to have more than just Wednesdays, Carrie embarks on a quest to learn Brian’s story, certain that he will be worth the cost. But is she ready to gamble her heart on a man who just might be The One . . . even though she has no idea how their love story will end?

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from the Loveswept title Flirting with Disaster.

My Thoughts:

I swear to god this story will make you cry and yet leave you happy at the way it ends.  I really cannot wait to see more by this author as for such a short story it has such an amazing amount of angst and heart you just can’t help but want more.

I’m going to keep this review short in order to not give away the full story but it is such an amazing glimpse at two people with major issues in their lives – one at a crossroads where she thinks she should be happy and one thinking he’ll never be able to have happiness for himself.

Carrie pretends to be completely happy in her life but deep in her heart she knows she’s missing something important.  She’s happy to be a librarian, friend to a small group of people and loving daughter but recently her thoughts have been increasingly drawn to finding something…  she isn’t sure what but she does find herself wondering what is missing in her life.  I mean she shouldn’t complain but there is just this emptiness she can’t quite put her finger on.  She impulsively answers an ad for a regular Wednesday only date for just kissing in a public place and finds more than she ever thought possible.

Brian is kept a bit of a mystery in the beginning but is also at a point in his life where something has to give.  He puts the ad out there in the paper and has a had a couple of Wednesday meeting with people who have answered the ad but as he asked for they have led to nothing more than just kissing with no strings or other entanglements.  When he meets Carrie we get an amazing story of a man who is so far beyond incredible you can’t help but want to pull him to you and smother him with love and affection.  He’s just that kind of guy even when he is pushing her away he is calling to something deep in her soul that just won’t let this incredible man go.

Ok…  I’m promising myself to stop here because you really just need to read this to understand why myself and others have fallen in love with Ms. Rivers and why you should as well.  I mean I want a longer story from her because this one just took my breath away at the amount of heart is contained in so few pages.  I can’t imagine how much more we might see from her in a longer format.

Thanks to NetGalley.com and Random House/Loveswept for the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.  Please revisit my site on Friday, July 19th for a visit from Mary Ann Rivers.

five-stars

Divider

Flirting With Disaster – Ruthie Knox – 5 stars – Contest

June 11, 2013 Contest, NetGalley, Random House, Read in 2013 4

Flirting With Disaster – Ruthie Knox – 5 stars – ContestFlirting With Disaster Published by Loveswept, Random House on June 10, 2013
Pages: 342
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

In the latest eBook original novel in Ruthie Knox’s scorching-hot Camelot series, a no-strings fling looks an awful lot like falling in love—or flirting with disaster.

Fresh out of a fiasco of a marriage, Katie Clark has retreated to her hometown to start over. The new Katie is sophisticated, cavalier, and hell-bent on kicking butt at her job in her brother’s security firm. But on her first assignment—digging up the truth about the stalker threatening a world-famous singer-songwriter—Katie must endure the silent treatment from a stern but sexy partner who doesn’t want her help . . . or her company.

Sean Owens knows that if he opens his mouth around Katie, she’ll instantly remember him as the geeky kid who sat behind her in high school. Silence is golden, but he can’t keep quiet forever, not with Katie stampeding through their investigation. It’s time for Sean to step up and take control of the case, and his decade-old crush. If he can break through Katie’s newfound independence, they just might find they make a perfect team—on the road, on the job, and in bed.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as excerpts from these Loveswept titles: How to Misbehave, Along Came Trouble, and About Last Night.

My Thoughts:

I have to keep this review short because otherwise I would never stop writing this down.  This is a very nice story where you will want to hurt the hero for being so hard for his lady love to understand but when you find out why he is the way he is you just want to cuddle him.

Katie is at a crossroads in her life.  She’s now divorced from her disaster of an ex but she can’t quite decide where to land now.  She’s intrigued and pissed off by her brother’s recent hire as she’s convinced he hates her.  I mean he never talks to her so what else could it be?  As she works to become something she can be proud of she tends to put her natural caregiving tendencies down as she feels like it has made her a doormat in real life.  She’s very smart but because of past bad choices she doesn’t trust anything her gut tells her instead trying to be something/someone she isn’t.  Since Judah has decided to hire the company but only if she works his case she decides why not have a torrid fling with a rock star.  I mean hell why shouldn’t she have the same fun most men have?  She does a lot of silly stuff as a result and what she finds as time passes is her natural abilities are worth more than she ever thought and the man of her dreams has been there all along provided they both wake up.

Sean is in severe lust/love/oh what ever you want to call it with Katie.  She’s the only one who makes him feel more than just lust but she also has this ability to get behind the control he has lived his life with for decades.  He’s a thinker and doer but needs someone to make him face ghosts in his past so he can really be free of some horrible things.  He does everything to push her away as his life is back in California not in Camelot but he wants her so badly he ends up letting her in to places others have never been close to.  He is such a great man and I adored how much he struggled with his stuttering in the face of Katie but I really loved how much he was able to help her believe in herself.  He’s such a supportive person and watching him bloom while he helped Katie become who she was meant to be was very sweet/heartwarming.

As always I adore Ruthie and cannot thank NetGalley.com and Random House enough for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

five-stars

Divider