Publisher: Harlequin

Divider

The Bourbon Thief – Tiffany Reisz – 4 stars

June 29, 2016 NetGalley, Read in 2016 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Bourbon Thief – Tiffany Reisz – 4 starsThe Bourbon Thief by Tiffany Reisz
Published by Mira on June 28, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary Women, Family Life, Literary, General, Romance, Historical
Pages: 400
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

From the internationally celebrated author of the Original Sinners series comes a brand-new tale of betrayal, revenge and a family scandal that bore a 150-year-old mystery

When Cooper McQueen wakes up from a night with a beautiful stranger, it's to discover he's been robbed. The only item stolen—a million-dollar bottle of bourbon. The thief, a mysterious woman named Paris, claims the bottle is rightfully hers. After all, the label itself says it's property of the Maddox family who owned and operated Red Thread Bourbon distillery since the last days of the Civil War until the company went out of business for reasons no one knows… No one except Paris.

In the small hours of a Louisville morning, Paris unspools the lurid tale of Tamara Maddox, heiress to the distillery that became an empire. But the family tree is rooted in tainted soil and has borne rotten fruit. Theirs is a legacy of wealth and power, but also of lies, secrets and sins of omission. The Maddoxes have bourbon in their blood—and blood in their bourbon. Why Paris wants the bottle of Red Thread remains a secret until the truth of her identity is at last revealed, and the century-old vengeance Tamara vowed against her family can finally be completed.

I struggle with how to explain this one without giving away secrets but here we go any way…

There are two time periods (actually sort of 3… hmmmm….) that are presented in this book but you won’t be thrown back and forth like crazy between the periods so if your afraid of it because of that…  worry no more.

Present day is a man meets a woman at the bar, they play a bit in bed, she tries to steal from him and then he gets told a story.  The present day piece is not the main story you want to hear even though I’d almost like to know more about Cooper as he might have his own story to tell but I digress.  Paris is the woman who has attempted to steal a very valuable bottle of bourbon from him and while he’s pissed she makes a deal with him that he can’t refuse.  She’ll tell him a story and at the end of it he’ll be compelled to give her the bottle as it is rightfully hers.  This is the real story you are wanting to read and it isn’t the most beautiful or happy story.

We get to see the dark underbelly of a Kentucky bourbon dynasty where anything will go in order to keep the family line intact.  We have murder, incest, rape and all sort of other secrets that come to light as Paris reveals the story of the last of the great Maddox family.

Tamara is the golden Maddox princess but her life isn’t all sunshine and love.  Is she spoiled?  Yes….  but not all is right in the Maddox household.  There are so many secrets that start to unravel on her birthday and they come to light slowly over the course of a few years and the reader is taken along for the ride.  We get glimpses of the founding of the distillery and the madness that started it all.  We also see that this latest behavior by the scion of the Maddox line is not the only time where darkness has entered it but that the line has had issues all along.

I enjoyed this story but I will warn you that this isn’t for everyone.  There are things that come to light as Paris reveals the history which might make (honestly should make) one uncomfortable but I found myself drawn to the characters and wanted to know more.  I’d like to see more of Paris in the future as she intrigued me but this doesn’t read like a start of a series so perhaps that will never happen.  If you don’t mind darker tones to a story then I’d say go grab this one but if even the idea of rape or incest makes you extremely uncomfortable then you might not like this.  I will note that I did like what happened to the person who attempted the rape so… there’s that…  Once again Tiffany has given us a story that isn’t pretty in tone but keeps you interested in knowing more about the characters and wanting to know how it all plays out.

four-stars

Divider

The Queen – Tiffany Reisz – 5 stars

November 2, 2015 Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2015 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Queen – Tiffany Reisz – 5 starsThe Queen by Tiffany Reisz
Published by Mira on 2015-11-01
Genres: BDSM, Contemporary, Erotica, Fiction, General, Romance
Pages: 448
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Once upon a time, Nora and Søren made a fateful deal—if he gave her everything, she would give him forever. 

The time has finally come to keep their promises. 

Out of money and out of options after her yearlong exile, Eleanor Schreiber agrees to join forces with Kingsley Edge, the king of kink. After her first taste of power as a Dominant, Eleanor buries her old submissive self and transforms into Mistress Nora, the Red Queen. With the help of a mysterious young man with a job even more illicit than her own, Nora squares off against a cunning rival in her quest to become the most respected, the most feared Dominatrix in the Underground.

While new lovers and the sweet taste of freedom intoxicate Nora, she is tempted time and time again by Søren, her only love and the one man who refuses to bow to her. But when Søren accepts a new church assignment in a dangerous country, she must make an agonizing choice—will the queen keep her throne and let her lover go, or trade in her crown for Søren's collar?

With a shattering final confession, the last link in the chain is forged in The Original Sinners saga. It's the closing chapter in a story of salvation, sacrifice and the multitude of scars we collect in the name of ecstasy—and love.

Ok I am going to do a rare thing and use gifs to help a bit with summing up my thoughts going in to this book…

This was me as I processed the end of the Original Sinners series…

Which was closely followed by:

You see like many others I DID NOT want to let these characters go but Tiffany gives us a great story that ends in a way that made me very happy even as I was sobbing because it was over.

I can’t say much without possibly spoiling some of it but we get:

  • Confessional Sex – not a spoiler because Tiffany promised us this and YEP she delivered.
  • Kingsley being his usual self with all the personality in the world and such a deep love for our beloved priest even when he was at odds with him.
  • A sense of the gamesmanship between the trio and how that impacts those around them.
  • A better idea of the dynamics between Nora and Søren as they struggled to understand what they were to one another.
  • Did I mention confessional sex???  Cause…  if not…  CONFESSIONAL SEX….  yes I went there… *fans self*
  • An amazing scene that made me all sentimental and was such a great way to address certain items.  (Can I be any more vague? *cue evil laugh*)

All in all this was a story of a woman finally coming in to her own, a man who is driven to do things because of his need to punish that which he loves the most, a man who loves but won’t open his eyes and mind to what his love really needs or who they are, and a glimpse at the incredible people they have become after so many years near and with one another.

I hate that we are done with the series but Tiffany hasn’t completely closed the door to additional stories with these characters but instead has closed the door, for now, to longer glimpses at their lives.  We may still see them popping up in other places but for now I must accept that Søren is taking a small break from us to continue being with those he loves the most and  I can always go back and read those stories again.

I must say thank you so much to Tiffany and all the people who worked so hard on this series.  You’ve made me more comfortable with experimenting with things that seem outside my comfort zone which means I have expanded my horizons in reading and life.  I cannot thank you enough for opening these doors for me.

five-stars

Divider

Avenge Me – Maisey Yates – 4 stars

June 27, 2014 Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2014 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Avenge Me – Maisey Yates – 4 starsAvenge Me by Maisey Yates
Published by Harlequin on 2014-06-01
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 272
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

TEN YEARS AGO ONE DEVASTATING NIGHT CHANGED EVERYTHING FOR AUSTIN, HUNTER AND ALEX. NOW THEY MUST EACH PLAY THEIR PART IN THE REVENGE AGAINST THE ONE MAN WHO RUINED IT ALL. Austin Treffen was born into a world of privilege, but behind its gilded doors lies a corruption so sordid New York's elite would never believe it—especially as his infamous philanthropic father is at its core! With everything he believed in shattered, how can Austin take down his father—risking his family name and those he loves—without any proof? Until one earth-shattering night with Katy Michaels unlocks not only their deepest, most passionate desires but also the key to bringing Jason Treffen's reign to an end. But with an intense sexual attraction that combines a heady mix of exquisite pleasure and sublime pain, will they satiate their thirst for revenge and each other…or lose themselves forever in the darkness?

Austin is back to playing prodigal son to the press and his father but in reality he is doing this for only one reason.  He wants to find the evidence he needs to destroy his father for once and for all.  He’s got a lot of work to do in order to accomplish this because his father has made a name for himself as a man who defends women against abuse while secretly using his power and influence to sexually abuse, harass and manipulate women that are vulnerable.  Austin also struggles with his own dark desires to control women but as we learn his desires are not twisted or sick but just ones of being sexually dominant.  He doesn’t want to control every move or destroy women but instead drive them both to a satisfying conclusion.  When he is drawn to a woman at his first big party with his father in 10 years he acts out a fantasy encounter that has him wanting more from her even as he doesn’t know her.  As he finds out who she is and what her agenda is he realizes that he has found someone that can give him the information he needs to bring his father down but he also finds that this is a woman he can’t live without but he has to finally realize that he isn’t his father.  Seeing his struggle to separate his need for dominance in the bedroom from his father’s sick behavior was hard but he needed to finally understand that consensual domination is not twisted or sick but healthy.

Katy has been missing a big part of her life since her sister killed herself.  As she found out what drove her sister to jump she is driven by a need to bring down the man behind it.  She doesn’t count on feeling something for the man’s son nor did she count on the one time she let herself have something for her own pleasure that it would be with the son of her target.  She’s understandably upset at the way Austin takes over her life once she loses her job and apartment but is more upset at how he makes he want things that she thinks she can’t ever have.  She’s always taken care of her little brother and had to fight for every little scrap of stuff she’s gotten so ending up being a jobless, homeless individual that is at the mercy of a man like Austin isn’t easy for her.  She’s surprised when she starts to fall for the man behind the facade of wealth and privilege but struggles to get him to see who he really is.  I liked her strength and willingness to fight for what she believed in even though she didn’t always feel like she deserved anything.  She’s a strong character in many respects so I appreciated that.

Overall this was a sexy story with a lot of drama as things start to come to light which will continue to play out over the next couple of books.  I enjoyed this one and the series as a whole so special thanks to NetGalley.com and Harlequin for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.

four-stars

Divider

The Saint – Tiffany Reisz – 5 Stars – Tour Contest!

June 25, 2014 Contest, Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2014, Tours 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Saint – Tiffany Reisz – 5 Stars – Tour Contest!The Saint by Tiffany Reisz
Published by Harlequin on 2014-07-01
Genres: Erotica, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 400
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Before she became Manhattan's  most famous dominatrix, Nora Sutherlin was merely a girl called Eleanor… Rebellious, green-eyed Eleanor never met a rule she didn't want to break. She's sick of her mother's zealotry and the confines of Catholic school, and declares she'll never go to church again. But her first glimpse of beautiful, magnetic Father Marcus Stearns—Søren to her and only her—and his lust-worthy Italian motorcycle is an epiphany. Eleanor is consumed—yet even she knows being in love with a priest can't be right. But when one desperate mistake nearly costs Eleanor everything, it is Søren who steps in to save her. When she vows to repay him with complete obedience, a whole world opens before her as he reveals to her his deepest secrets that will change everything.  Danger can be managed—pain, welcomed.  Everything is about to begin.

I tend to start all my Tiffany Reisz reviews with this disclaimer…

Please please please do not read this book unless you have an open mind and can truly embrace the idea of a Catholic priest as a sexual being.  This is not a series for everyone so I will not be offended if you choose to skip this one because you can’t get past Søren being a priest.  Also this book does have an underage female lead for a good portion of it and that I know can trigger issues with many people.

Ok now that I have warned people I have to say “I FREAKIN ADORED THIS BOOK!!!”  Tiffany once again made me cry and scared the hell out of me while at the same time giving me moments that made me laugh my ass off plus moments that were sexy as hell.  She’s great at taking my emotions thru the wringer but I wouldn’t trade one tortured moment of it!

Like usual my reviews of this series tend to be on the shorter side because while I want to gush and tell you everything that made me love the book I don’t want to spoil your own enjoyment of it.  We start this story in a dark place with Nora struggling to find her bearings after some extreme pain.  She ends up being comforted by a younger man who will prove to be someone you will fall in love with.  He’s amazing in so many ways and the fact that he is willing to submit to Nora in every way she needs is just icing on the cake.  I loved getting to see the story of how Eleanor and Søren came to be the people we met in The Siren by virtue of the stories Nora tells this sexy man.  Seeing his reactions to the story made it even more real in many ways and I appreciated the way this unfolded.

Some of my favorite moments:

1. The desk and Eleanor… yes that scene where she… and ….  (I’m a tease and I know it)

2. When she first meets Kingsley

3. Søren drunk

4. The bed scene… the one where S does… and damn was that HOT as hell.

5. Kingsley…  well hell I love seeing Kingsley so ya know this isn’t a surprise

6. Nora and her young man… What can I say I loved this even as something else had to give because of it but :-X

 

Ok I think I am going to end this review on that because I really want you to get to have the same fun I did while reading it.  The surprises and emotions that will come as you read this with no spoilers is sooooooo worth it.

Special thanks to NetGalley.com and Harlequin for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.  Also make sure to enter the tour wide contest below….
a Rafflecopter giveaway

five-stars

Divider

Misbehaving – Tiffany Reisz – 5 stars

February 12, 2014 Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2014 0

Misbehaving – Tiffany Reisz – 5 starsMisbehaving by Tiffany Reisz
Published by Harlequin on 2014-02-11
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 88
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Wanted: Adventurous, open-minded man willing to try…anything…As a popular sex blogger, Beatriz gets paid to have orgasms. So being on deadline the week of her sister's wedding isn't as rough as it sounds. There's just one hitch: Bea's assignment is to write a review of a sex position manual, but she doesn't have a plus-one to play with.The good news: Ben, the one who got away back in college, is also attending stag—and he's as temptingly gorgeous as ever.The bad news: Ben turned down Bea's offer of graduation-night sex five years ago.The best news: He's not planning on making the same mistake twice….

Once again Tiffany reminds me of why I love her writing…  This one will make you laugh a bit but mainly it will serve to show you how good she is at writing hot pairings.  In this one we get a bit of a play on Shakespeare’s “Much Ado about Nothing” and a chance to have a chuckle at the inclusion of our favorite bad boy in the form of a gift.

Bea is getting ready to go to her sister’s wedding and is advised she needs to come up with material for her boss ASAP.  She advises sure she’ll write a review or something up of one of the many books she has lying around and heads out for the week.  When she realizes she’s grabbed a book on different sexual positions the fun begins as she doesn’t have a date so no one to try them all out with.  While that is a bit of an issue she figures she’ll find someone there to play with and all will be fine….  well…  until she runs in to the one man who turned her offer down flat while they were in college.  The man she wanted more than anything else…  the man who still haunts her even as she’s moved on.

Ben was incredibly attracted to Bea but due to circumstances that he didn’t share with her made the decision to turn his fantasy down.  He’s always regretted that decision but never had the chance to make things right between them before life got in the way.  Now that he has her in his sights again and the circumstances have changed he can’t help but jump at the chance to get her where he’s always wanted her.  In bed…  his bed..  as much as is possible…

Both of them have time to make up for and there is not a huge amount of time that elapses between them running in to one another again and them steaming up the bedroom but the story we get in between those times will make you laugh…  scream and in general keep you entertained.  I liked how both of them opened up to one another and other than a big misunderstanding (it will make you laugh when it is cleared up) there is little tension between the pair.  This is a couple who are meant to be together and time did not change that fact but instead gave them both a chance to be everything they were supposed to be.

Enjoy!!!

Special thanks to NetGalley.com and Harlequin for letting me get my hands on this in exchange for review.

Divider

Fearless – Tawny Weber – 3.5 stars

September 21, 2013 Harlequin, Read in 2013 0

Fearless – Tawny Weber – 3.5 starsFearless Published by Harlequin on September 17, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
three-half-stars

Promising career: check

Amazing apartment: check

The best of friends: check

Sex life: MIA

There’s just one thing missing from Gia Renyard’s life: sexual adventure. And the one man she’d like to have it with is her hot co-worker, Luke Monroe. If only company rules didn’t prohibit her from asking him out. So Gia comes up with a plan: make herself over into a fantasy seductress, follow Luke to a convention in Sin City, and have her way with him for one erotic weekend. The man will never even know who did him.

Everything is going according to plan—until Gia discovers that Luke is perfect for her outside the bedroom too. And suddenly she’s no longer content to let what happens in Vegas stay in Vegas…

My Thoughts:

What do you get when you push yourself out of the rut you’ve cornered yourself in?  In this case you get a red-hot sexual relationship that ends up being so much more than sex.

Gia has always been the safe one.  She’s got the good job, good apartment, good friends and in most respects a very good life but… She wants more and that more takes the form of having her sexual fantasies come to life.  Her friends talk her in to going to Vegas to go after the man she wants for a weekend fling but what if she discovers she wants more?  As she gets back to her real-life things don’t go the way she figured when she ends up having to work for the man of her dreams.  As she tries to avoid him she can’t help but wonder what if he knew she was the one that he spent the amazing time in Vegas with.  Would he still want her or would he just ignore her?  I liked how she let herself walk on the wild side but I didn’t like how much she doubted herself even after the weekend.  She’s strong and opinionated but has a major self-esteem issue that I think is handled well in this short read.

Luke is the golden boy who has always had things handed to him with little to no effort.  He’s drawn to the woman in Vegas and finds himself pissed when she runs off without giving him a chance to spend more time with her.  While they did have some amazing sex it was the fact that she pushed him and challenged him in ways he never expected that makes him continue to think of her even after she left.  He decides to push himself at his office and is intrigued when Gia pushes his buttons and shows how valuable she is to his team all while avoiding him like he had the plague.  This gets him more and more curious until …  well..  I’m not going to give it away.  I liked Luke and liked that even though he had things come to him easily he really didn’t like that.  He wanted challenge but it took spending time with someone that pushed him to be more for him to realize how bad he had let it get.  He wasn’t happy but didn’t know how to fix it.

This was a nice read with some good heat between the main pair at the beginning and a real bit of conflict/issues in the middle.  Thanks to NetGalley.com and Harlequin for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.

 

three-half-stars

Divider

Cake – Lauren Dane – 3.5 stars

September 21, 2013 Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2013 0

Cake – Lauren Dane – 3.5 starsCake Published by Harlequin on September 15, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
three-half-stars

From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Dane comes the latest release from Cosmo Red-Hot Reads from Harlequin.

She won’t be satisfied with just one bite...

Art student-slash-bike messenger Wren Davis pursues what she wants. And what she wants now is Gregori Ivanov, rock star of the Seattle art scene. With his tattoos, piercings and sensual sneer, Gregori is the ultimate bad boy. Wren’s gotten to know the man beneath the body art, too—and it only makes her crave him more.

But Gregori loves women like he loves cake and champagne—intensely, but only for the moment. And after Wren experiences just how scorching sex with Gregori is, she’s determined to show him that just one taste won’t be enough...

My Thoughts:

This is an extremely quick read with a very strong heroine and sexy as hell hero.

Gregori is a Russian artist with the temperament and talent to match his impressive body of work.  He’s been married and since that time just enjoys women as outlets for his needs but nothing more than that.  He’s intrigued by the messenger that brings him stuff from his assistant but even though he is attracted to her he isn’t going to cross the line.  His penchant for withdrawing in to his work at the expense of everything else then lashing out or going off the rails when things get to be too much in his head are legendary but all of this masks a man who really does want something real and permanent.  I adored this sexy, rough man even when he was being a moron.

Wren works as a delivery person for a way to earn money while she is in school.  She has been delivering to Gregori for a while now and is fascinated by the man and his work.  She sees the real him behind the mask and wants him more than she has ever wanted anything before.  When she sees that their flirting is starting to heat up she decides to go for the man she wants.  What she runs into is a man who wants her, craves her but insists on pushing her away for her own good.  I loved how she was willing to put everything on the line for something she knew was real and worth fighting for. She’s amazingly strong and assured for a person her age which I found refreshing.

This is a quick read but the pair definitely heats up the pages with amazing chemistry and great personalities.  Thanks to NetGalley.com and Harlequin for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.

 

three-half-stars

Divider

The Mistress – Tiffany Reisz – 5 stars

July 27, 2013 Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2013 0

The Mistress – Tiffany Reisz – 5 starsThe Mistress Published by Harlequin, Mira on July 30, 2013
Pages: 458
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon

There's punishment—and then there's vengeance.

Nora Sutherlin is in handcuffs, held captive by two men. . Under different circumstances, she would enjoy the situation immensely, but her captors aren't interested in play. Or pity.

As the reality of her impending peril unfolds, Nora becomes Scheherazade, buying each hour of her life with stories—sensual tales of Søren, Kingsley and Wesley, each of whom has tempted and tested and tortured her in his own way. This, Nora realizes, is her life: nothing so simple, so vanilla, as a mere love triangle for her. It's a knot in a silken cord, a tangled mass of longings of the body and the heart and the mind. And it may unravel at any moment.

But in Nora's world, no one is ever truly powerless—a cadre of her friends, protectors and lovers stands ready to do anything to save her, even when the only certainty seems to be sacrifice and heartbreak….

My Thoughts:

I’ve got to admit that getting my hands on an uncorrected proof at the RT Convention has to be one of my best moments.  My partner in crime at the convention was ready to just call it a trip at that point and just read it.  Well she read it while we were still in Kansas City at the expense of sleep and the copy stayed in the room safe when we were wandering the convention.  This review is not based on that copy but is based on the ARC copy I received via NetGalley.com from Harlequin and I must say I adored both versions.  I adore Tiffany and loved being able to not only meet her in Kansas City but to also get to see her again at the Lori Foster event in West Chester.  She’s a wonderfully sweet individual who handles crazy fans very patiently.  I also have to mention that Andrew is such a patient man to deal with those of us crazy fans… 😉

I’ve got to admit struggling a bit with how to write this review without giving away spoilers and I think the only way I can do this is to mention the main players in this story with thoughts I had about their stories.

So on to the main players:

  • Wesley – Sweetheart I adore you but you are too innocent and vanilla to ever completely fit in to or handle the world that Nora thrives in.  While I do understand the depth of your feelings for her and hers for you I’m happy you got to go on a journey to discover exactly what you want and need for your future.  My hopes are that you continue to grow and develop in to the man you are meant to be.  I loved seeing you get to see the truth that you’ve always hidden from and realize exactly who what love can be even behind masks.  You’ve got such potential and hopefully Tiffany will give us a chance to see more of you in the future.
  • Laila – You are a beautiful young woman who got to see how love really is with two strong people.  You gave us such an amazing glimpse in to life between Søren and Nora which I greatly appreciated.  You know what love can be and are willing to risk it even when you aren’t sure it can be returned.  You deserve every bit of happiness that I believe is coming your way and my hope is with the example that you had from Nora and your uncle you will never settle.  You got some great moments in this story and I enjoyed seeing your views of our main characters.
  • Grace – We didn’t really get to know you well in The Siren but you are an amazing woman who is lucky enough to have a husband in Zach that is willing to give you room to fly and spread your own wings.  Your conversations and times spent with Søren have to be some of my favorite moments as you truly saw who he is behind the mask and probably have some of the best insights in to this amazingly complex man.  You held your own against some of the strongest personalities and I admit to cheering when you not only got to experience one of your fantasies but when you got something you truly desired with the man you love.  You are a lucky woman who has an amazingly open heart to accept things not everyone would be capable of.
  • Kingsley – What can I really say other than *sigh*  You proved yourself to be willing to do something that would have brought most other men to their knees but I am glad that circumstances made it where you didn’t have to break yourself to get this resolved.  You got to understand more about how your relationship with Søren evolved and also got to rediscover what you originally saw in Nora.  You had an amazing amount of growth during this story and I’m happy you have finally found the balance you needed in  your life.  The fact you really got to understand what was behind everything that Søren has done through the years I think gave you the things you needed to make your life truly fulfilled and for that I’m grateful to the kidnapper.
  • Nora – I have struggled at times to like you.  I didn’t like the way you played with people’s emotions and needs but as we got to see via the stories you told Marie-Laure there is a depth to your heart that you’ve just kept locked behind the mask.  You like to play and manipulate but you really do love the men in your life to the point of almost having a split personality.  I think you loved the idea of Wesley and the “normal” life you might be able to have with him but Søren feeds your soul in a way that no one else will ever be able to.  You have a clear understanding of wanting what is best for the man you love even if it does tear you apart inside.  I adored hearing more about your relationship with Kingsley and Søren because it also gave me insight in to who you are which gave me what I needed to really adore you.  I had struggled but once we got more of what drives you it made me soften in my feelings towards you to the point where I was happy to see where you ended up.
  • Søren – What a roller-coaster I’ve been on with you since The Siren.  I admit I did not like you originally but as we got to see more of you other than the Dom I will admit to falling for you myself.  Are you still scary?  Yes, I mean let’s be honest here and say anyone would be scared of a sadist who has an amazing ability to see all the way to your soul.  As we started to see you via The Angel and The Prince we got to see a man truly in love with Nora and one that also deeply loves his Kingsley.  What threw me over the edge to complete adoration of you had to be the stories of a younger you with Nora and Kingsley but also your conversations with Grace and Wes.  I think your conversation with Wes in this book was amazingly beautiful but also the fact you were willing to accept his place in her life just amazed me.  You gave her what she wanted at the expense of self and this my dear is just an amazing thing.

Ok…  I’ve tried to be careful with what I’ve stated above to not give away too much but still show how much I adored the stories that Tiffany wove together and the fact that every character gets what they need via this book.  They may not get what they originally thought they would but I can’t imagine any other ending…

Thanks so much to Tiffany Reisz, NetGalley.com and Harlequin for the chance to read this in 2 different formats and I cannot wait until we get more from Tiffany.  I’m looking forward to a young Søren in love so bring it on…

 

 

Divider

The Mistress Files – Tiffany Reisz – 5 Stars

June 1, 2013 Harlequin, Purchased, Read in 2013 0

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
The Mistress Files – Tiffany Reisz – 5 StarsThe Mistress Files Published by Harlequin, Mira on June 1, 2013
Pages: 200
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

Kingsley Edge, king of kink himself, wants Mistress Nora to write a training manual to instruct his other professional Dominants how to take better care of their clients. But Mistress Nora can't put pen to paper without churning out a sexy short story and Kingsley's training manual quickly turns into true tales of her adventures with her favorite clients.

A female submissive who can't orgasm.​

A male Dominant too scared to do kink with his blind wife.​

A rock star with a secret.​

A vanilla gay woman with an embarrassing little problem. ​

A male switch with an itch for more than just pain.​

These are their stories.

I’m going to keep this review short like the stories are.

We get to see Nora do what Nora does best which is get in to people’s heads and help them realize their potential.

The Case of the Acting Actress

Nora helps a natural sub realize what her real needs are and how she can experience an orgasm even without her first sexual partner.  We get to see Sheridan in another light which is fun.

The Case of the Diffident Dom

Nora helps a married couple find their true needs by bringing back the Dom to the man who just wants to take care of his wife.  This was a sweet insight into a truly loving marriage that just needed a push to get both partners where they truly wanted to be.

The Case of the Reluctant Rock Star

Nora gets to release a hidden submissive.  She has a lot of fun in this one and we get to see more of how clearly she sees through the facade.

The Case of the Secret Switch

Swoon…  Nora and a certain special someone we all know and love…  and no not Søren because that man is in no way shape or form a switch.

The Case of the Brokenhearted Bartender

Nora helps a woman open up in more ways than one..  LOL

 

Overall this is a nice teaser to tide us over until The Mistress releases at the end of next month.

 

five-stars

Divider