Publisher: Entangled Publishing

Divider

Down On Her Knees – Christine Bell – 4 stars

February 26, 2014 Entangled Publishing, Purchased, Read in 2014 0

Down On Her Knees – Christine Bell – 4 starsDown on Her Knees (A Dare Me Novel) by Christine Bell
Published by Brazen, Entangled Publishing on 2014-02-24
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, General, Romance
Pages: 250
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Four lessons, no strings…Detective Rafe Davenport has always made Courtney DeLollis uneasy. While her instincts whisper, Touch him, her mind says, Run. But since she learned that he’s dominant in the bedroom, she hasn’t been able to forget about it. She should be appalled—she knows all too well what happens when a man has too much control—but a deeper, darker part of her is fascinated...And so is Rafe. The sexual tension between them is thick enough to touch, and damn, does he want to touch. So he suggests something that will benefit them both. Four scenes—because anything more is a relationship, and Rafe won’t go there ever again. Each scenario is designed to tease and torment. To show Courtney that with every submission comes the reward of scintillating pleasure. But once he has Courtney down on her knees, Rafe realizes that she might be the one woman capable of bringing him to his…

I have been looking forward to this story as we’ve seen the heat that the main pair throw off when they are in a room together for more than 30 seconds.

Courtney is a nurse who has no room in her life for a relationship.  She’s not looking for anything due to her ex but when she hears about what Rafe likes to do with women she’s on the outside horrified but on the inside intrigued.  She equates BDSM with abuse because of her past experience with a controlling boyfriend but when Rafe pushes her to try it for only four scenes she’s interested enough to jump at the chance.  Well…  maybe not jump but she does decide that she can trust him enough to try it before she loses her nerve.  She ends up getting more than just amazing sex out of the bargain, she gets her sense of self confidence and power back.  I liked seeing her emerge from her past to become someone that loves life.

Rafe is a love-em and leave-em kind of man since his girlfriend died years ago.  He’s not looking for anything other than short-term, 4 scene maximum things so when he decides to act on his attraction to Courtney he fully expects this to be nothing different than getting her out of his system.  All romance readers will roll their eyes at that thought because as we all know this is not the way it works in these stories.  As they spend more time together and he scenes with her there are boundaries that are crossed and walls that start to come down.  He does the normal stupid hero BS but I loved his grovel (short but very honest) at the end.  He’s really not a bad guy at all but has a heart that has already suffered a horrific loss and fears that if he lets someone else in that he won’t survive another loss.  He’s growly and sexy but dear lord how much he craves Courtney’s happiness sparks off the page…  She’s a lucky woman for catching this sexy Dom.

Short hot and oh so good….  make sure you read it and the others in this series.  🙂

four-stars

Divider

Molly Gets Her Man – Julie Rowe – 3 stars

January 27, 2014 Entangled Publishing, Read in 2014, Sent 0

I received this book for free from the Author . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Molly Gets Her Man – Julie Rowe – 3 starsMolly Gets Her Man by Julie Rowe
Published by Entangled Publishing, Ignite on 2014-01-27
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, General, Romance, Suspense
Pages: 250
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

When flaky Las Vegas hairdresser Molly McLaren overhears hears a Russian hit man planning to kill a US congressman and take out Hoover Dam in the process, she becomes a target for murder. Now, on the run from the assassin and a dirty cop, she winds up in an eighteen wheeler with an ex-cop sporting a bum leg, a bad attitude, and a body built for loving.Grey Wilson just wanted to be left alone. No more Las Vegas. No more casinos. And no more floozy women like the one his best friend sent him to pick up on the side of the road. She talks fast, but her endless curves and sensuous nature make him want to slow down. Which is not in the cards. Grey knows he needs to unload his excess baggage. And quick.But when someone tries to kill the Vegas beauty, Molly captures his heart with her backbone of steel, and brains to boot. Now in order to grasp the future that had once seemed impossible, Molly and Grey need to keep Hoover Dam, the congressman, and their love from being blown sky-high.

So what do you get when you mix a woman who thinks that negotiation and using your words is the way to solve things with a man who thinks that force and physicality are the best ways to get things done?  You end up with our pair, Grey and Molly…. You also end up with some moments where both of them need to have some sense smacked in to them.

Molly is having a really bad day.  I mean how else to describe a day where you just are there to give someone a haircut and end up overhearing a plot to kill a congressman?  She’s on the run and when her brother sends someone to protect her she ends up meeting a man who scares her at first but ends up being the thing she didn’t think she’d ever find.  I liked Molly during most of the book but I will tell you her tendency to talk and not completely think things thru did piss me off a couple of times.  She’s just not always using common sense even though she means well.  I get that you don’t like violence but to put yourself in the middle of things that not only put you in danger but put others in it just frustrated me.  I also liked how she did tend to recognize when she was making those mistakes but still couldn’t help herself and made them any way.

Grey was described as an amazingly big man and proved himself to be a gentle giant in many respects with her.  He does tend to act without thinking thru his actions but I didn’t find myself screaming at his actions as much as I did Molly’s.  He’s still coming to terms with the shooting that left him injured and off the force but while he does this he is still trying to investigate the drug dealer that played a role in his injury.  He’s very shocked by his reactions to Molly and when he claims her it is definitely a sexy time.

Overall this was a nice story with decent pacing but Molly’s tendency to act without thinking did piss me off a bit as I read it.  Also you have to suspend belief quite a bit as the pair gets to their “I love you”s very quickly but they do have fairly decent chemistry.  I guess part of me would’ve liked the story to take place over a bit longer time so we could see them together a bit more but unfortunately things don’t always work that way.  If you are looking for a quick read with a bit of heat but not too much then this is the story for you.  Quick pace and characters that are well defined with a bad guy you know from the first page make this a fun, sexy read.

Special thanks to Julie Rowe for giving me the chance to read this with no input on my review.  I can’t wait to see you again at RT in NOLA!

three-stars

Divider

Ruined – Jus Accardo – 4 stars

January 8, 2014 Entangled Publishing, Read in 2014, Sent 0

I received this book for free from the publisher . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Ruined – Jus Accardo – 4 starsRuined by Jus Accardo
Published by Embrace, Entangled Publishing, Macmillan on 2013-12-30
Genres: Coming of Age, Fiction, General, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 340
Format: eBook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Hell is looking for a way to break loose...Jax lost the genetic lottery. Descended from Cain, the world's first murderer, he's plagued by a curse that demands violence in exchange for his happiness. He left everything behind, including the girl he loved, but thriving on the pain of others is lonely… And it's killing him.After a series of heartbreaking losses, Samantha put rubber to pavement and headed for college as fast as her clunker could carry her. But she can't outrun her problems. When an attack at school drives her back home, she's thrown into the path of a past—and a guy—she's been trying to forget.Sam strains Jax's control over his darkness, but running isn't an option this time. Someone—or, something—followed her home from school: a ruthless monster with a twisted plan centuries in the making. Forced together to survive, and fighting an attraction that could destroy them both, Jax and Sam must stop a killer bent on revenge.

I was lucky enough to receive a copy of this from Entangled Embrace and I have to say I was rather impressed by the world that Jus has created.  I cannot wait to see more of how this all plays out and hope that our pair gets the happiness they deserve.

Sam is not having a good day, week, month, year…  She’s unhappy with the way her life is playing out and when a man she thought gone forever suddenly appears in town she just wants to tell the world to stop and let her off.  She’s forced to confront him on a lot of levels but also finally gets to understand what his issues have been for years and, in some respects, gets a bit of closure on the hurt that has been her entire life to this point.  I liked that she was strong and independent but was willing to listen to others even if she didn’t want to lean on anyone.  She loves our hero deeply and I liked that she pushed him to really tell her the truth even if it was unbelievable.  What she does at a pivotal moment is really testament to how much she really knows about him and the level of trust it showed was phenomenal.

Jax is such a tortured soul.  As you find out more about the hell he has lived with his entire life you cannot help but want to soothe him in any way possible.  He loves Sam but knows that all he would bring to her is pain and destruction but he can’t help but be drawn back to her time and time again.  He keeps his distance but he’s been guarding her in his own way for years.  When he gets pulled back into her life he is tormented by being so close to the one thing he knows he can’t have.  His life has been nothing but misery and torture unless he’s around her but around her leads to pain and a different kind of torture.  I loved his willingness to sacrifice everything to keep his brother safe but hope that he will get a chance to be truly happy at one point in his life.  He’s such a great soul stuck in a terrible situation.

I hope you give this one a try as it was very well done and I can’t wait for more stories about Jax and Sam.  Thanks again to Entangled for giving me the chance to read this and while you gave this to me for review you did not color the review in any way.

four-stars

Divider

Release Day Spotlight & Contest – Tempted in the Tropics – Tracy March – 3.5 stars

September 9, 2013 Contest, Entangled Publishing, Read in 2013, Sent 2

Release Day Spotlight & Contest – Tempted in the Tropics – Tracy March – 3.5 starsTempted in the Tropics Published by Bliss, Entangled Publishing on September 9, 2013
Pages: 200
Format: eBook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
three-half-stars

he only thing they agree on is the sultry heat between them.

 

Nothing’s more important to Paige Ellerbee than her struggling bakery, Sweet Bee’s. When Lane Anderson, the temporary new doctor hot enough to rival McDreamy, moves in next door, though, she’s sure things are looking up. Until he threatens her business in their first conversation.

 

Lane just wants to practice medicine responsibly—not argue with the flighty bakery owner next door. But when he finds himself traveling down to the Caribbean to play guitar for Paige’s best friend’s wedding, suddenly the sight of the blonde in a bikini eclipses the fact they can’t agree on anything. And as their vacation romance grows, his reservations about starting something after getting burned by love are washed away like sand on the beach.

 

But once Paige and Lane land back home, will these polar opposites be able to forgive their feud and find lasting love?

My Thoughts:

 This was a cute entry in the series where we get to see the friend of the heroine in book one find love when she didn’t expect it.

Paige is happy running her little bakery in her hometown and getting to keep an eye on her father but she does want more than that.  She wants to have a man look at her and love her like Cole loves her friend Liza but with a town full off older people and married younger ones she knows she probably won’t find it any time soon.  She’s worked hard to help people in her town with the cooperation of the doctor but when his nephew comes in to cover for him while he is on vacation all hell breaks loose.  She doesn’t know his story but is pissed when he won’t continue the little program she has with his uncle.  As much as she is pissed at him there is a huge amount of chemistry between them and when it combusts while at Liza’s wedding she ends up making herself vulnerable to a man she knows is leaving and has a lot of baggage he needs to work through.  I liked her strong personality and adored how she wasn’t 100% willing to let him in unless he was completely invested as well.  They make a good couple when they both just be themselves.

Lane is at a really bad point in his life.  His partner who he also happened to be engaged to just ruined their medical practice in Austin and to add insult to injury was having an affair with her attorney.  His life is in shambles so when his uncle asks him to step in and help while he’s out of the country well why not?  He starts things off rather badly but as you get to know him he does redeem himself.  I loved his willingness to be in the moment with her although things don’t always work out as they planned and when he does realize what he has with her is special he does an amazing grovel to try to win her back.  This is a man who has had his world rocked to the core but is a great guy that needs someone as in the moment as she is to bring him out of his doldrums.

About the author:

Award-winning author Tracy March writes romantic thrillers influenced by her career in the pharmaceutical field, and her interest in science and politics. She also writes lighthearted romances inspired by her real-life happily ever after.

Always up for travel and adventure, Tracy has flown in a stunt plane, snowmobiled on the Continental Divide, ziplined in the Swiss Alps, and been chased by a bull in the mountains of St. Lucia. She loves Nationals baseball, Saturday date nights, and Dairy Queen Blizzards—and rarely goes a day without Diet Coke and Cheez-Its.

Tracy lives in Yorktown, Virginia, with her superhero husband who works for NASA. They recently spent two years living in Washington D.C., and enjoy visiting often—especially when the Nats are in town.

Tracy’s links:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest

Giveaway Info:

Tropics Beach Bling prize pack including a charm bracelet, ring and a $25 Amazon or B&N gift card.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

three-half-stars

Divider

Gamble in Gold – Natalie Anderson – 3 stars

August 26, 2013 Entangled Publishing, Read in 2013, Sent 0

Gamble in Gold – Natalie Anderson – 3 starsGamble in Gold Published by Entangled Publishing, Indulgence on August 26, 2013
Pages: 97
Format: eBook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
three-stars

Seven years have passed since shy Lexie Peterson had her heart trampled by her teenage crush. And Luke Marchetti walks into his flat to find Lexie in a negligee, all he can think of is having a little flirt and fling. But Lexie’s determination to keep him at a distance makes him realize she deserves more than he can offer. Is one kiss enough to entice the two to take a gamble on love?

My Thoughts:

This is an extremely quick read but I enjoyed both the main characters and seeing how an attraction formed years ago ends up being a match that neither was really looking for.

Lexie is a woman who is and was incredibly shy around people but has forced herself to live outside her comfort zone as much as she can.  When she falls victim to a bad investment she’s just looking to get back on her feet doing what she loves, tell and help people travel all over the globe.  She’s excited to have a place to stay in London while she finds a job and some place to live but when the owner of the place comes back in town unexpectedly she’s confronted with a major ghost from her past.  I liked how she wanted to stand on her own two feet but couldn’t completely keep herself guarded from the temptation and need she has for Luke.  She’s not willing to settle for second best so does what she can to keep herself protected from the heartbreak she is certain he will give her.

Luke is not having a good day until he gets home and sees an incredible sight of a woman in skimpy attire in his place.  Add to that it being a grown-up version of the girl he wanted all those years ago but couldn’t have and maybe just maybe things aren’t so bad.  As much as he just wants a fling he knows this isn’t the person to have a fling with but he just can’t help but be drawn to her just like he was when they were both younger.  He’s changed a lot from the boy she knew but he isn’t certain if he’s the right man for her.  He’s kept a major secret from her all these years and when they spend time together he finds that he doesn’t want to let her go again.  He’s got the chance of a lifetime if only he can make her see who he is now and not what he was then.  I liked that he’s not exactly what the world thinks of him and that he does small things to make others happy.  He’s an incredible catch and she’s the lucky woman who holds his heart.

This was a sweet story for such a short format but I would have liked a longer platform for these two.  They were nice to see together and I would’ve loved a chance to see more.

Special thanks to Entangled Publishing for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.

three-stars

Divider

YA Review – Out of Play – Nyrae Dawn/Jolene Perry – 4 Stars

August 20, 2013 Entangled Publishing, M Reads, Read in 2013, Sent, Young Adult 0

YA Review – Out of Play – Nyrae Dawn/Jolene Perry – 4 StarsOut Of Play Published by Entangled Publishing, Teen on August 6, 2013
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

Rock star drummer Bishop Riley doesn't have a drug problem. Celebrities—especially ones suffering from anxiety—just need a little help taking the edge off sometimes. After downing a few too many pills, Bishop wakes up in the hospital facing an intervention. If he wants to stay in the band, he’ll have to detox while under house arrest in Seldon, Alaska.

Hockey player Penny Jones can't imagine a life outside of Seldon. Though she has tons of scholarship offers to all the best schools, the last thing she wants is to leave. Who'll take care of her absentminded gramps? Not her mother, who can’t even be bothered to come home from work, let alone deal with their new tenants next door.

Penny’s not interested in dealing with Bishop’s crappy attitude, and Bishop’s too busy sneaking pills to care. Until he starts hanging out with Gramps and begins to see what he’s been missing. If Bishop wants a chance with the fiery girl next door, he’ll have to admit he has a problem and kick it. Too bad addiction is hard to kick…and Bishop’s about to run out of time.

My Opinion:

This book really brings into light the stained sides of people and how much they will strive to deny it. It does have some things to be taken into consideration if you want your children to read it, but it is a very inspiring work. When I read it I couldn’t help but feel a sense if pity and sympathy for Bishop, and nothing but respect for Penny. The book is written alternating between both their views, which can be quite interesting when certain major events come up.

Bishop hates everything about being in Alaska, from the “babysitter” there with him, to the nonexistent pizza delivery service. That is, until he meets Penny, who makes him feel he no longer needs drugs to live.

Penny, however, could really care less for Bishop until her own love fantasies start dissolving before her very eyes. To her, he is someone who accepts her as she is and understands what those close to her won’t. She is the tough girl hockey player that doesn’t like to lose. That is probably why one of the most interesting pieces of the story is watching her fall for Bishop.

I couldn’t give the book a perfect score mostly because of the ending, which I felt at the time was a bit unfair and parts unrealistic. But I can look back and see they were predictable based on story development. Whatever my own personal qualms, this really was quite a good book that I wouldn’t put down for the second half. I think it is a great read not just for adults, but especially teens to young adults that, in particular, could have similar feelings or situations. The best advice I can give is to read it and enjoy it yourselves.

four-stars

Divider

Talking Dirty With the Player – Jackie Ashenden – 5 stars

August 19, 2013 Entangled Publishing, Read in 2013, Sent 0

Talking Dirty With the Player – Jackie Ashenden – 5 starsTalking Dirty With the Player Published by Entangled Publishing, Indulgence on August 12, 2013
Pages: 219
Format: eBook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Up-and-coming photographer Judith Ashton is pretty sure she has everything in her life under control. That is, until a blast from the past comes back to taunt her, in the shape of Caleb Steele, her older brother's best friend...and the man who broke her heart eight years ago. Their chemistry is combustible, but she's been fooled once by this player, and she's not going there again. To pro rugby player Caleb, Judith has always been his Kryptonite. But his former playboy lifestyle is the last thing she wants to be involved in. In the midst of her brother's threats to back off, and the deal of his career sending him far away from her, he knows he's playing with fire. And this is one game he's going to lose.

My Thoughts:

What do you get when you have two damaged souls that have amazing chemistry?  You get the story of Judith and Caleb with all the pain that goes along with opening your heart up when you really don’t want to trust it to anyone at all.

Judith is over Caleb.  No, really she is…  I mean sure they had one amazing night together when she gave him everything she was and then dealt with the fact that he basically threw it back in her face days later.  Yeah there is no reason that seeing him should be difficult and you know that pesky little thing called her hormones should be immune to Mr. “Abs of Steele” cause they just should be dammit.  She’s needs to be in charge so badly in order to protect herself from ever being let down again that she’s basically living in a shell and doesn’t realize that she’s missing out on anything until her brother finds his HEA.  While she wants this for herself she doesn’t believe that it will ever happen for her as everyone important to her leaves her.  It isn’t that her brother isn’t there for her but he has his own issues with life and dad was always busy working so she couldn’t rely on him but the one person she could rely on until that horrible night was Caleb.  He’s the only person she ever truly let in and look how that turned out.  I liked her even when she was pushing him away out of a need for self-preservation.  She’s a very sensitive person behind the facade and his abandonment truly cut her to the core.  When their chemistry boils over she is always waiting for the other shoe to fall and when it does she doesn’t know if she can let anyone in again.  I liked her strength and ability to really see him even when he shut her out.  I think that is what made it more painful..  She really does know him even if he doesn’t know himself.

Caleb has prided himself on living his life without any attachments as his past has shown him you don’t always get what you want and you just need to not let people become something you care about.  He has always had a soft spot for Judith but in his gut knows he can never give her what she deserves.  He has to have her talents for a charity calendar he is doing but he’s shocked by how hot their chemistry still is.  As he spends more time around her he struggles with what he wants to have with her and what he believes is all he can give.  He makes many mistakes along the way but you do get the feeling that it is because he’s trying so hard to avoid admitting what is happening every time they are together is happening.  I enjoyed his need to just make her happy even when he wasn’t sure exactly what he did wrong.  He cares deeply even though he doesn’t want to admit it and seeing him open up with her to be the real person hidden behind the playboy was at times heartbreaking.  I never really disliked him even when he was being an ass but hey I have a soft spot for a hero who hides his heart because of his past.  He’s just a big softie.   🙂

Thanks to Entangled Publishing for the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.  I truly enjoyed this latest installment from Jackie and can’t wait for more.

 

five-stars

Divider

Something’s Cooking – Meg Lacey – 4 stars

August 15, 2013 Entangled Publishing, Read in 2013, Sent 2

Something’s Cooking – Meg Lacey – 4 starsSomething's Cooking Published by Entangled Publishing, Indulgence on August 12, 2013
Pages: 182
Format: eBook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

Tess Banyon has turned her brilliant recipe and crafting ideas into a multimedia empire. Landing her own TV show throws her into a panic. If she's not careful, the public will discover she isn't the domestic diva everyone thinks she is. Investigative reporter Josh Faraday smells something smoking in Tess's world. His goal to expose the real Tess goes into overdrive when she lands a television show deal. He secures an assignment to shadow her, reporting on her program, but what he's really doing is getting dirt for his expose. Things get even stickier when Tess's family play matchmaker. There's no shortage of fire between them, and after an impulsive night together, Josh discovers a story he never expected--or bargained for.

My Thoughts:

This was a fun read with some pretty hilarious moments as Tess is a bit of a walking disaster.

Tess knows she is living a lie as a domestic diva but she really does have her heart in the right place and everything just has spiraled out of control.  She may present this cool, calm, collected individual when she does the crafts and cooking segments for morning TV but what the public doesn’t know is her family is the workforce behind this orchestrated front woman.  Sure she has the creative ideas and marketing brains but trust me you don’t really want her to cook for you or even be near you with a glue gun unless she’s had a ton of practice runs.  When her agent tells her the Boston paper is sending a reporter to do a story on her upcoming TV series she panics as another Boston area reporter hiding behind the initials JR has been taking not so subtle jabs at her via his column.  She is immediately attracted to the reporter who shows up and we get some fun watching her family do everything possible to hook them up.  I liked how she wanted to tell him the truth but is also so driven to give the public what she loves so much she just can’t see a way out of it.  She’s brave as well when some truths come out and she’s forced to own her own part in deceiving the public and making a very public acknowledgment of her own shortcomings.  I was happy to see that people really loved her and not just the facade she’s presented.  She’s someone I would like to know in real life.

Josh is also tired of living a lie hiding behind his JR pseudonym at the newspaper.  Something about Tess has bothered him since he first saw a report on her so he’s been digging to find out is she really as perfect as the public image portrays?  When he first meets her he realizes there is something hinky going on but he is drawn to the woman he sees when she lets her guard down and finds himself wanting to share all his own secrets with her.  He knows that when she finds out the truth about who he is it will ruin something that he didn’t think was ever in the cards for him but misses many chances to come clean until it is too late.  I adored seeing him let his walls down and realize that what he was faulting her for he was doing himself and that he didn’t like what he’d let himself become.  His work to get back in her life was something sweet to watch as he knows how badly he messed things up but he just needs her to listen to him.  He’s not trying to justify his actions but instead owns them and knows how bad they were even though some of what happened was truly beyond his control.

This is a couple I think any of us would like to know in real life as they both own up to their shortcomings after a bit of prodding and have some wonderfully funny mishaps as they wind down the path to HEA.  Thanks to Entangled Publishing for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.

four-stars

Divider

The Best Man’s Baby – Victoria James – 4 stars

August 12, 2013 Entangled Publishing, Read in 2013, Sent 0

The Best Man’s Baby – Victoria James – 4 starsThe Best Man's Baby Published by Entangled Publishing, Indulgence on August 12, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

Florist Claire Holbrook has always played by the rules her entire life, but breaks them to spend one night with sexy lone wolf Jake Manning, a man she's adored since she was a teenager. Six weeks later things get complicated when she discovers they created a bond that will last a lifetime...Jake has never played by the rules. Getting Minister Holbrook's daughter pregnant wasn't part of any life plan, but he won't run from his responsibilities. He'll step up and be the best man he can, even if he doesn't have a clue where to begin. The more time he spends with Claire, though, the more he wants her, and the harder it is to get close because that would mean sharing the one thing he hasn't with anyone--the truth and his heart.

My Thoughts:

Claire has always been the resident good girl.  You know the ones who never do wrong and always fit the perfect mold?  She’s making it on her own with a very successful floral business but has always had a soft spot for resident bad boy Jake.  When Jake actually makes a move on her at her friend’s wedding she can’t help but give in and take something for herself this one time.  Unfortunately this one time ends up being something that will change her life forever and also provide her with something that is more than she could have ever dreamed possible.  She’s strong, sassy and at the same time extremely vulnerable but I loved the undercurrent of steel she has to have dealt with some of the things she has.  Sure to everyone else she’s always perfectly put together but man does she have some demons of her own that get put to rest in this book.  I loved how much she tried to keep herself guarded against what seemed too good to be true but she also did let him in when the moment was right even though he hurt her to the core.

Jake…. sigh… Jake!  Man he has some explaining to do and groveling to accomplish.  Not only did he have sex with the minister’s daughter, ya know the man who saved him from himself, but he also left without saying much of anything then was gone for 6 weeks working without so much as a it was fun speech.  He’s always played outside the lines but when you find out what has driven him all these years your heart will break for the kid who should have never had to deal with what he did and the man that kid has become.  When he finds out the repercussions of that single night with Claire he is floored and wants to truly do the right thing.  He works extremely hard to prove to Claire that he is going to do right by her but she wants more than he believes himself worthy of.  I admit to shedding a tear when his past comes out but I also loved how her father and his family truly stepped up to do right by him when the truth finally came out.  This is a man who deserves every bit of happiness he and Claire will have in the future and I hope we get to see more glimpses of them from Ms. James.

Thanks to Entangled Publishing for the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.  I definitely will keep my eye out for more by Ms. James.

four-stars

Divider

Lions, Tigers, and Sexy Bears Oh My! – Candace Havens – 4 stars

July 30, 2013 Entangled Publishing, Read in 2013, Sent 0

Lions, Tigers, and Sexy Bears Oh My! – Candace Havens – 4 starsLions, Tigers, and Sexy Bears Oh My! Published by Covet, Entangled Publishing on July 22, 2013
Pages: 164
Format: eBook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

A Montana town where no one is who they seem....  Everything about runaway heiress Ainsley McLeon screamed trouble—from her luscious midnight locks to her Louboutin-clad toes.  Yet sexy, stoic bar owner Luc couldn’t deny the instant connection he felt to the tempting stranger…or the long-dead feelings she evoked.  She could work in his pub until her truck was fixed but after that she had to leave town for good.  Ainsley traveled with her own emotional baggage and there was no way she'd fall for the bear-tempered Luc...no matter how many passionate nights she spent in his bed or how safe she felt in his muscular arms. Can these two opposites find love in the middle of a blizzard, or will Luc's darker side and Ainsley's past catch up with them?

My Thoughts:

Other than a I’m on birth control so we don’t have to use a condom even though we really don’t know one another moment I really enjoyed this title.  The whole don’t use a condom thing for a first time new hook-up is a pet peeve thing of mine but hey we all have our moments.

Ainsley is in trouble.  She’s fled California with just what she’s wearing and her purse but nothing more.  She’s driving on a backroad in Montana when she almost runs over a tiger??  really a tiger???  in Montana??  She’s understandably thinking that she must be hallucinating due to stress and the fact that she’s freezing in this piece of junk truck with no heat she bought with cash but she didn’t really just see a tiger in the snowstorm did she?  She ends up telling jokes to it as it stares at her through the window of her truck until a deputy shows up to help her get out of the now totaled vehicle.  When she ends up in a bar begging for work she knows she’s hit rock bottom but where else can she go since she doesn’t know if it was her uncle or brother that tried to have her killed?  She was a lot tougher than people made her out to be and I found her to be a perfect foil for our hero.  I liked how she wanted to earn her own way and not rely completely on others but also liked that she really did work to understand what was going on around her even while her life was falling apart.  She takes finding out about the existence of shifters in a rational way, if locking yourself in a closet with a tray of brownies could be considered rational.  I wasn’t quite as fond of her treatment of Luc at the end but I did understand it even though it sort of was over the top.

Luc knows from the moment he sees her that she’s going to be nothing but trouble.  He’s determined to send her on her way but as he learns more about what is driving her he just can’t do it.  He’s also instantly attracted to her which also makes him really want to run the other way as he can’t take letting someone get close to him again after losing his entire family in a dam break.  He’s a goner though and we all know it which makes this a fun story.  I felt for him when he gets news that rocks him down to his core and understood why he behaved like a complete and utter jerk to her.  I didn’t like it but I really did understand it.  I loved how he goes out of his way to try to help everyone in town as they have become his new family even if he doesn’t completely want to admit it.  He’s gruff but so sweet and gentle with Ainsley as she heals and seeing him be so afraid of hurting her was heartwarming.  I also admit he pulled my heartstrings when he struggles to help his old friend, Ian, come back from shapeshifter hell.

This was a fun title with a bit of angst with both the main players and a secondary character that I want to see more of.  I want to see Ian get his HEA and find what he needs to make him whole again.  I have to say thanks to Entangled Publishing – Covet – for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.

four-stars

Divider