Publisher: Carina Press

Divider

Audiobook – Goddess with a Blade – Lauren Dane – 4.5 stars

July 17, 2017 Audiobook, Listened to in 2017, Steph 1

Audiobook – Goddess with a Blade – Lauren Dane – 4.5 starsGoddess With a Blade by Lauren Dane
Published by Carina Press on June 6th 2011
Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Urban, Romance, Paranormal, General
Pages: 265
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Rowan Summerwaite is no ordinary woman. Physical vessel to the Celtic Goddess Brigid and raised by the leader of the Vampire Nation, she's a supercharged hunter with the power to slay any vampire who violates the age-old treaty.

A recent string of murders has her at odds with Las Vegas's new Scion, the arrogant and powerful Clive Stewart. The killings have the mark of Vampire all over them, and Rowan warns Clive to keep his people in line—or she'll mete out her own brand of justice.

Though her dealings with Clive are adversarial to say the least, Rowan is intensely aware of her attraction to him. But she can't let it distract her from her duty—to find and battle the killer before more women die.

73,000 words

Ok I know I am late to the party on this series but I ADORED the banter between our leads as they fight their attraction to one another and the strong dislike they also have regarding their roles in society.  There is something refreshing about characters who are open and honest about who they are with no apologies for their actions if they are what is needed.  They both apologize for items that are out of line but they do not back down as they do what they were meant to do.

Rowan is the vessel for an ancient Celtic goddess and was raised in the service of the First.  The First is an ancient vampire who considers Rowan to be his daughter even though she now is tasked with killing those vampires who kill humans or break the treaty that keeps the various races in balance.  She’s tough and is not looking for anything other than to make sure that the new North American Scion understands what she’s supposed to do and stays out of her way.  She meets Clive and immediately dislikes him not only for being a vampire but for being an insufferable, stick-up-his-ass jerk who thinks he is all mighty and powerful.  She works to figure out who is this latest rogue vampire with help from her crew but keeps having to deal with Clive and the attraction that she feels for someone she shouldn’t want.  I loved watching her jump in to things without regard for her own safety but seeing Clive try to get thru to her how much she means to those around her was enjoyable.

Clive is such a damn asshole… yes… a damn snobby, stick-in-the-mud and stick-up-his-ass asshole.  Yet, I found myself enjoying him as we got to see more of who he is.  He’s not fond of meeting this Hunter as she killed his predecessor (yes it was definitely deserved) but he’s taken aback as he finds himself drawn to her.  He’s very protective of his people and very fierce when it comes to protecting the Vampire Nation even as he knows there are things Rowan should be let in on in order to more efficiently and effectively do her job.  I loved seeing his fierceness as he fights to get her to not go off on her own trying to find the killer in their midst but ultimately failing as she will do her job no matter the cost.  Clive is someone you learn to love as the series progresses as he may be a fuddy duddy in some respects but damn if the man cannot get dirty with the best of them.  There is a reason why he is in the position he is in and it isn’t just because he is a good businessman.  He’s ruthless and deadly but when it comes to Rowan he is such a damn romantic man.

The good news is by waiting so long to start the series all the books are out so you can read them back to back but I do warn you … you will scream when you get to the last one and I hope that Lauren Dane is able to get back to this world soon as I adore the characters and want to see more of the story that is still out there.

four-half-stars

Divider

His Alone – Alexa Riley – 4 stars

March 31, 2017 Carina Press, NetGalley, Read in 2017 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

His Alone – Alexa Riley – 4 starsHis Alone by Alexa Riley
Published by Carina Press on March 28 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, General
Pages: 166
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars
five-flames

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR

Ryan Justice may be her boss, but nothing will stop him from making her his. New York Times and #1 ebook bestselling author Alexa Riley entices with a brand-new, full-length novel.

She thinks I'm perfect. A good boss, a good man. She thinks that I play by the rules.

She has no idea who I truly am. Why I'm really here.

Paige Turner is trying to outrun her past, but there it is, tossed back in her face anytime she manages to get two steps ahead.

She has no idea what a man like me will do to get what he wants.

Her need for Ryan got in the way of revenge, took her off course. Redirected her focus. Before she knew it, he'd made his way into her life. Into her heart.

I'm dirtier than she knows. She thinks I'm good to the core, but she doesn't know the things I've done. The things I would do for her.

True love doesn't let secrets as big as these stay buried. And when the truth about Paige's father is finally exposed, Ryan will do anything to fix everything. Paige has always been his—and his alone.

This book is approximately 75,000 words

One-click with confidence. This title is part of the Carina Press Romance Promise: all the romance you're looking for with an HEA/HFN. It's a promise!

I have to say that I was looking forward to this story after reading Everything for Her…  it does not disappoint!  Paige and Ryan definitely have chemistry and when they finally allow it loose it definitely does not dim.

Paige has proven herself to be a great friend (yes, that may have begun as a job but) and is trying to learn how to be a sister but she isn’t quite willing to open her heart or her life up to anyone.  She’s attracted to Captain (Ryan) who happens to be her boss but she thinks he’s too good for her.  She takes on guilt for things that weren’t her fault and is trying to find revenge on someone who deserves it but honestly isn’t worth the damage she is doing to herself.  I liked her and especially liked how she pushed Ryan’s buttons while making sure that once she claimed what was hers she let everyone know it.  She’s not afraid to get dirty but she is terrified of the need she feels to have a true family.  She wants love so badly that she hides from it until forced to admit that is what she craves.  I loved how she ultimately got everything because one man decided that he would make it his mission to give the world to her.

Ryan, aka Captain, isn’t the perfect guy Paige believes and we get to see there is more to him at the beginning of this book.  He’s so damn growly and sweet with Paige that you can’t help but swoon.  Everything he does is to keep her safe even if it means keeping her away from him for years.  I loved how we got to see their first meeting as a bonus chapter from his point of view as this shows us how hard it was for him to be patient.  I also loved how we got to see his struggle with waiting to claim her until she really was his.  I felt for him as his secret was exposed but he knew it might go down the way it did and while it hurt he still did what needed to be done.  I admit his ways of showing his dirty side made me swoon as much if not more than his gentle ways of showing how much she means to him.

The epilogues to this story will make you smile as they show how much these two have gained over their years together and laugh as his protective side does not diminish over time.  He’s definitely growly and possessive but with a heart of gold when it comes to those who mean everything to him.  Paige is his world and seeing that it remains true for years in the future made me smile.

four-stars

Divider

Everything for Her – Alexa Riley – 4 stars

March 30, 2017 Carina Press, NetGalley, Read in 2017 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Everything for Her – Alexa Riley – 4 starsEverything for Her by Alexa Riley
Published by Carina Press on January 1st 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, General
Pages: 379
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars
five-flames

"I devour every single delicious word Alexa Riley writes." —#1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Maya Banks

New York Times bestselling author Alexa Riley's first full-length novel shows just what happens when a strong, possessive man finds the woman of his dreams

I'll never forget the way she looked, so confident and sure of herself. I watched her from a distance. She wasn't ready for me yet. I didn't approach her and I didn't disturb her, but I never once took my eyes off her.

Mallory Sullivan is ready to start her new life. After graduating at the top of her class, she's landed one of the most coveted internships in the United States. Hard work and determination have gotten her to this moment of living the life she only dreamed of growing up in foster care.

From the start, I knew that she would be my greatest achievement, so the day I let her go, I set down a path for her. A path to me.

She never expected Oz to be the greatest culmination of those dreams. But sometimes fate determines who you fall in love with. Who makes you lose control. Who owns your soul.

And then you realize it wasn't fate at all…

I've wanted to care for and protect her since the first moment I saw her. I've constructed everything in our lives so that at the perfect moment, I could have her, could give her the life she deserves.

The time has come.

This book is approximately 97,000 words

One-click with confidence. This title is part of the Carina Press Romance Promise: all the romance you're looking for with an HEA/HFN. It's a promise!

I admit that I am losing my mind a bit but I would’ve sworn that I already posted this earlier in the year.  Yeah ummmm nope I didn’t so here I am getting ready to post this the day before I post my review for book 2.  I swear I cannot wait until next February when I will be done with school and can get back to doing more reading and blogging.

This book was interesting to me as if I had a man do one iota of what Oz does I would be creeped out and run as fast as possible in the other direction.  In this book we meet a man who has been busy plotting revenge on his scumbag of a father when he comes across the one person who would end up mattering more than revenge ever would.  He’s driven to protect her and give her all the perks he can while keeping her away from him until she’s ready and he’s ready to finally make her his.  He moves faster than he expected because he just can’t help himself but as you get to know him you see what drives him to be so obsessive.  He absolutely is not good at expressing his true feelings so this is a barrier when it comes to Mallory and Paige but Mallory gets him to be more open as she works on making him wake up to what is truly important.

Mallory annoyed me a bit with how naive and sheltered she was but I got it.  I really did understand where it came from and liked when we saw the spine that she kept buried during a decent chunk of the book.  She’s definitely a sweet person but she isn’t the wallflower or pushover others have seen in her.  I liked how she just wanted to prove herself and what she was capable of without others paving her way.  I also appreciated how she was hurt by the realization that the internship was not due to merit but due to Oz wanting her to be near him so he could pursue her.  She isn’t willing to just be the pampered princess but really wants to be a valued member of a team who pulls her own weight.  As she processes the secrets that Oz and Paige have kept from her we see a woman emerge who is more aware of what she wants, who she is and what she needs to do.  I liked her and really enjoyed seeing her again as Paige finds her way.

four-stars

Divider

What It Takes – Shannon Stacey – 4.5 Stars

February 28, 2017 Uncategorized 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

What It Takes – Shannon Stacey – 4.5 StarsWhat It Takes: A Kowalski Reunion Novel by Shannon Stacey
Published by Carina Press on February 28, 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, General
Pages: 164
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Revisit all of your Kowalski favorites while falling in love with a brand-new romance in this reunion novel from New York Times bestselling author Shannon Stacey

Laney Caswell is looking for a change. A decade's worth of less-than-happy matrimony behind her, she wants peace—movies, books and, best of all, a new job at the Northern Star Lodge in Whitford, Maine. Spending the summer living in a camper is her chance to rediscover what makes her happy, and a perfect transition to her new life.

Being a paramedic in Whitford is nothing like Ben Rivers's city life, but when Josh Kowalski offers him the job, the lure of his hometown is too much to resist. Also too much to resist: Laney Caswell. Ben always thought he'd have a wife and kids, a happy family like the Kowalskis have all built, but he never made time in his life. Now he's found a woman who draws him like no other and helps him dream again—and the last thing she wants is a husband.

When the annual Kowalski family camping trip is moved to the Northern Star, both Ben and Laney are surrounded by the kind of happiness they've always wanted but never had. It just might be theirs—if they can put aside the past and reach for it together.

I have to say that this is a very bittersweet book to have read but I loved it.  Bitter in the fact that this is the last Kowalski book but sweet in that it shows the reader so many things about how the couples have stuck together and grown as a couple.  I love this series and am sad to see it end but know that Shannon will keep providing us with great stories in the future.

Ben has finally come back home and is ready to settle down with the right woman but he isn’t in a hurry to do it, he just knows he wants it.  He’s struck by how many people around him have found their partners but I appreciated how he really was honest about it to himself and to Laney.  He is a wonderful man though and intuitive enough to know he needs to let things move organically with Laney.  He is so sweet to her and makes sure that she doesn’t feel like he is taking over for her  or that he doesn’t feel that she can do things on her own.  I quite enjoyed his character and the fact that he was honest about what he was looking for even as he worked hard to not put pressure on Laney.  I also fully understood why he got so hurt by some of her reactions but he never really took it out on her.  He just said his piece and let the cards fall where they may.

Laney was a character I understood.  I understood how easy it is to let yourself fall away in order to preserve the peace.  I understood how hard it is to make decisions about what to do with your life when you aren’t certain who you are any more.  I understood it because it is something that I am struggling with in real life.  I also appreciated the fact that while she didn’t want to want Ben… she wanted Ben and was honest with him as to what she was struggling with.  I got why she reacted the way she did in the closing section of the book.  I didn’t like it in a way but I got it.  I also loved how being around the craziness that is the Kowalski family helped her see what she wanted and made it possible for her to finally understand what was important.  She really does fit in with the clan and seeing her embrace life was such a nice feeling.

There are moments with Sean and Emma that will be a bit sniffle worthy but they were appreciated as we see a couple come to terms with their relationship and what matters.  I also loved seeing Rosie and Andy but also just in general getting some glimpses of the family we love.  For fans of the series this is such a wonderful close to a great set of stories.

four-half-stars

Divider

Deadly Strain – Julie Rowe – 3.5 stars

June 15, 2015 Carina Press, NetGalley, Read in 2015 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Deadly Strain – Julie Rowe – 3.5 starsDeadly Strain by Julie Rowe
Published by Carina Press on 2015-06-15
Genres: Action & Adventure, Contemporary, Fiction, General, Military, Romance, Suspense
Pages: 242
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Book one of Biological Response Team

Major Grace Samuels, a trauma surgeon deployed to Afghanistan, spends her life helping her fellow soldiers overcome disease and combat injuries. But her own wounds are harder to heal. Wracked with guilt over the death of a fellow soldier, she finds comfort in her only friend and appointed bodyguard, weapons sergeant Jacob "Sharp" Foster.

Sharp feels more for Grace than a soldier should, more than he wants to admit. When the team discovers a new, quick-to-kill strain of anthrax, he tries to focus on the mission to find its source. He knows he can help Grace defeat her demons, but first they must defeat the deadly outbreak.

Sharp is Grace's most loyal ally, but in close quarters, he starts to feel like more. She can't watch someone else she cares about die—but she might not have a choice. The closer they get to finding the source of the strain, the closer it gets to finding them.

79,830 words

Interesting story about modern day biological warfare and those who work to keep us safe.  I look forward to more from this series as the work that went in to researching the biological weapon and special forces personnel showed in a believable threat with action that kept me interested during the story.

Grace just wants to do her job and do it well.  She wants nothing more than to save lives and make a difference to those she works with but she’s also haunted.  She will never forget people she’s served with and lost but one loss haunts her more than any other.  When they get a call to go check out a suspicious set of deaths at a relatively remote outpost, she has to come to terms with not only her past but the man who wants to be there for her future in order for any of them to have a future.  She’s driven and damn good at what she does which shines thru even as she doubts herself because of survivor’s guilt.  I liked how she would work herself to the bone in order to get answers but mainly liked that she does what she has to in order to survive and complete the mission.  She is someone that I would want in my corner should the worst happen as you know that she will sacrifice herself if it means more survive.

Jacob..  *swoon*…  he’s something else but I would expect him to be all that and a bag of chips.  He’s Special Forces but he’s also a man who has discovered the woman that makes him a bit crazy.  He’s driven to protect Grace from not only outside threats but also herself as he discovers more about how driven she is.  When he pushes her you understand her frustration with him but you also see why he pushes her to let go.  She needs someone who will act as a relatively neutral voice of reason in order to get her to eat and take care of what her body needs.  She really does need a babysitter in some respects but the way Jacob goes about it occasionally made me laugh.  He was someone that while driven to defend his woman also realized that she was quite capable of holding her own.  He didn’t coddle her but instead worked to make her see his side even as much as she hated that.

Overall this was an interesting story with some information that will frighten those who haven’t kept up with modern or heck even old-school biological warfare.  The weapon described is frightening in nature made more so by how much of a possibility this is.  I hope that we never see something like this created but one never knows what evil is out there.

 

three-half-stars

Divider

Signal Boost – Alyssa Cole – 4 stars

April 27, 2015 Carina Press, NetGalley, Read in 2015, Readathon 2015 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Signal Boost – Alyssa Cole – 4 starsSignal Boost by Alyssa Cole
Published by Carina Press on 2015-05-04
Genres: Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic, Fiction, Gay, General, New Adult, Romance, Science Fiction
Pages: 158
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

When technology stopped working, the world as they knew it ended.

In a secluded cabin, John and his loved ones have survived. He should feel grateful. But his family is in his face 24/7, he has to watch his best friend, Arden, and brother, Gabriel, flaunt their love, and as a techie in a Luddite world he’s pretty much useless. The cabin is brimming with people, but he feels utterly alone.

Until he catches Mr. Tall, Blond and Gorgeous raiding their garden. Mykhail is an astrophysics student, he makes John’s gaydar ping like crazy and he thinks he knows what caused the devastation. He’s on a journey to his university to find answers, and John invites himself along. Partly to get out of the house, and partly because he can’t let Mykhail go without acting on the mutual attraction that’s so obvious even John’s mom is playing matchmaker.

The closer they get to campus, the more Mykhail lets down his walls. But with answers come secrets both devastating and deadly, and before they can save the world, they’ll have to save themselves.

I was so happy to see John got his story.  This is an interesting look at what could happen if we were hit with a flare that knocked out our power grids.

John is restless but loves his family.  He wants something he doesn’t think he’ll find as who thinks that it will be easy for a gay man living out in the middle of nowhere during a world-wide crisis to find love?  He is shocked when he feels the spark of attraction for a man who appears out of nowhere to try to steal food from their garden but when they find out more about the reason behind the failure of the power grid and breakdown of society as they know it … well this just gives John something to do.  He’s driven to go with this stranger and see if he can provide any assistance or at least get more information about what’s out there plus getting to spend more time with this man….  well that’s just a win.

Mykhail was someone I truly felt for.  He’s lived his life pleasing others and trying to be what everyone else wants while suppressing his true self.  I felt for him as he struggles with what he did post-flare but also with who he is.  This is a man who is truly a great guy but with his upbringing he struggles with not only being gay but also going after what makes him happy.  I felt his struggle with his actions but admired the way he did what was right even as it might be what killed him.

Overall I found this to be an interesting story with some parts that were brutal in many respects but sadly I could easily see happening should we ever end up in this same situation.  Stress brings out the worst in many people….

four-stars

Divider

Radio Silence – Alyssa Cole – 5 stars

February 3, 2015 Carina Press, NetGalley, Read in 2015 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Radio Silence – Alyssa Cole – 5 starsRadio Silence by Alyssa Cole
Published by Carina Press on 2015-02-02
Genres: Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic, Fiction, General, Multicultural & Interracial, New Adult, Romance, Science Fiction
Pages: 169
Source: NetGalley.com
Radio Silence (Off the Grid)<img src="http://ir-na.amazon-adsystem.com/e/ir?t=booaholano0c-20&l=as2&o=1&a=B00N0MYHC2" target="_blank">Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

No one expects the apocalypse.

Arden Highmore was living your average postgrad life in Rochester, New York, when someone flipped the "off" switch on the world. No cell phones, no power, no running water—and no one knows why. All she and her roommate, John, know for sure is that they have to get out, stat. His family's cabin near the Canadian border seemed like the safest choice.

It turns out isolation doesn't necessarily equal safety.

When scavengers attack, it's John's ridiculously handsome brother, Gabriel, who comes to the rescue. He saves Arden's life, so he can't be all bad…but he's also a controlling jerk who treats her like an idiot. Now their parents are missing and it seems John, Gabriel, their kid sister, Maggie, and Arden are the only people left alive who aren't bloodthirsty maniacs.

No one knows when—or if—the lights will come back on and, in the midst of all that, Arden and Gabriel are finding that there's a fine line indeed between love and hate. How long can they expect to last in this terrifying new world, be it together or apart?

Book one of Off the Grid

69,000 words

I have to give credit to both Alisha Rai and Bree for getting me to notice and read this title.  I hadn’t really paid attention to it until I saw them on Twitter gushing about the title and then I needed to read it.  I am so glad I took a chance on it because it was AMAZING.

My review is not going to do this justice but you really need to take a chance on this title because:

  1. We have a strong heroine, Arden, who is struggling with finding her place in this new reality.  She’s honest about her issues but also is very open to change.  I loved her struggle with guilt about not spending time with her parents but appreciated that she didn’t use that as an excuse to fall apart.  She is a good person to have on your side because even with everything that is going bad in the world she won’t let it keep her down.  She’s tough, caring and oh so a match for…
  2. Gabriel… dear lord is this man HOT.  I loved his surly exterior as he becomes the man in charge and tries to keep everything as normal as possible in a world where nothing is the way it should be.  Answers are not forthcoming from the outside world but he is not one to fall apart.  His surliness masks a really sweet man who truly loves his family and is fascinated by Arden even as he growls at her like he can’t stand her.  There is so much to this man and I enjoyed getting to see his personality over the course of the story.
  3. John…  bless his heart..  He’s such a sweet, funny man who brought some much needed laughter as he realizes he has NO SOCIAL MEDIA or ELECTRONIC GAMES…  I mean what the HELL man…  How can we all survive without Twitter….  He’s also a good foil for the intensity of Gabriel.
  4. Maggie is also available as a bit of drama but also a nice resource for Arden in this world gone wrong.  I liked how strong she is even as young as she is.  She’s very smart in many ways but we get to see her vulnerability as she struggles with missing her parents and worrying about a boy she was starting to know via social media.  I liked how she showed that she was capable of being more than just the kid sister who needs coddling although I wanted to hurt her when she did something incredibly stupid.

Overall this book kept me enthralled not only because of the sheer chemistry between our main pair but because of the world that they find themselves in.  I want to know more about what exactly is going on … I mean we don’t know exactly what happened or how widespread it is or…. seriously you will be wanting more more more as you read this just because we don’t know.  I look forward to more of this series and will be keeping a close eye out.  I’m also going to be *ahem* slightly stalking Alyssa in order to find out about more stories from her as she kept me engaged every step of the way thru this one.

GO GRAB THIS ONE NOW!!!

five-stars

Divider

Where There’s A Will – Stacy Gail – 5 stars – Tour Giveaway!!

November 17, 2014 Carina Press, Contest, NetGalley, Read in 2014, Tours 0

Published by Carina Press Source: NetGalley.com

 

 

Title: Where There’s a Will
Series: Bitterthorn, Texas #1
Author: Stacy Gail
Publisher: Carina Press
 Release Date: November 17, 2014

 

Synopsis

Miranda Brookhaven returned to Bitterthorn, Texas to fix the past. Years ago,
her father used her teenage romance with Coe Rodas to steal the
prototype for a groundbreaking new automotive invention. Now her
father’s dead, and thanks to the convoluted will he left behind, she’s
stuck in town until she rights the wrong that lost her the man she
loved.

Coe learned early on that life never goes according to
plan. His dreams of hitting it big vanished when Miranda all but invited
her father to take the only thing of value he ever had. But now the
once-pampered princess is holed up in a condemned trailer on the edge of
town…and everything he thought he knew about her—and about what
happened between them back then—seems completely wrong.

Miranda’s determined to give back to Coe all that he lost. If she can do that,
maybe she can move on from the past. But Coe seems to be more interested
in their rekindled passion than claiming what she thinks he deserves.
She’s got sixty days to convince him to cough up evidence that he’s the
original inventor—after that, the only way to transfer the patent rights
over to him would be to make him part of the family, and she’s not sure
her heart can take another hit.

Links to Buy

 

AMAZON US / UK

B&N / KOBO / iTUNES

 

Also Available

 

 

AMAZON US / UK

B&N / KOBO / iTUNES

 

AMAZON US / UK

B&N / KOBO / iTUNES

 

AMAZON US / UK

B&N / KOBO / iTUNES

 

Review

 

COEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!
Whew…  now I feel so much better to have gotten that out of my system.  Stacy knows that I was chomping at the bit for his story since I first saw him in Starting From Scratch but I and many others were very pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed this story.
My personal belief was he was going to be one of those men who don’t realize how much they love their heroine but know they want to keep her happy, safe and will do anything in their power to make sure all of the above happens.  Coe fits this to a T even as he claims to hate the woman who holds his future in her hands.  He’s a great guy that has had his unfair share of hurt, heartbreak and abuse in his past which causes him to not be able to recognize what he had in his hands as a young man.  He is arrogant in his youth which led him to make a crucial mistake that could have cost him the one woman who completes him.  I adored how he showed her what she meant to him even as he claimed she meant nothing to him but…. his actions show she is his everything and I loved how he owned up to what he did but also made things right even as they hurt.
Miranda..  lucky woman..  she’s bitter but driven to make things right for the man she loved with everything she had.  She did do one thing wrong back then but honestly I understood where it came from and she was a pawn in a game played by her father.  I loved her strength and while she did frustrate me a bit with her stubbornness about fixing the wrong to the point that she almost lost what was truly important in her drive to resolve things I still enjoyed her.  She’s the perfect match for our lovely, grouchy Coe and will push him to be all that he really can be while also loving what/who he is.
I enjoyed seeing Lucy and Sully but this story is fully Miranda and Coe’s with a lovely ending that made me tear up.  I wouldn’t complain if they all show up again before long in another story but thank you Stacy for giving us this beautiful love story.
Special thanks to NetGalley.com and Carina Press for giving me access to this title in exchange for my honest review.

 


Excerpt

 

“Shit like dirt and grime don’t belong on you. Silk, diamonds…me.
That’s what belongs on you.” His big feet were on either side of hers, and she
drank in the heat pouring off his chest at her back as he went about sliding
his soapy fingers through hers. It felt good, that slick slide of flesh against
flesh. Too good. The heat sinking into every pore of her skin brought her back
to when they’d been in this situation once before, and it made her bite her
lip. She remembered the trembling, the excitement, and the crippling
uncertainty of what she should do next.
Time really made all the difference in the world. Seven years later, she now knew exactly what to
do.
Her soapy hands slipped over his, squeezing, caressing. Cleaning his skin as he cleaned hers,
yes, but it was obvious her interests weren’t just in getting clean. But maybe
that was because while she did that, she also nudged her ass back against him,
hitching up just a bit so she could hit the money spot…
He sucked in a sharp breath.
Jackpot.
“Miranda.” His voice was low and rumbling. It purred down the length of her spine to pool deep in
her belly, where the sweet tension of need began to curl in on itself. That
masculine rumble shortened her breath and tensed her thigh muscles, because she
knew what it meant. He wanted her, and soon he’d go for what he wanted just as
hard and hot as she wanted him to. “Careful, babe.”
“I had you shut the doors. That’s careful enough.” She looked over her shoulder at him, just as she
had when she was eighteen and almost dying from attraction. It was no less
intense now, and she could only marvel at the hold he had on her. “I hope you
have protection on you, because I won’t be satisfied with just a kiss this time
around.”
“But you will be satisfied.” With the glitter of arousal building into a wildfire blaze in his eyes, he turned off the water. Then he braced her hands on the far lip on the sink before reaching for the
front of her pants. “This garage guarantees satisfaction for all the work I do
here.”
“Good policy.” The last of her retort fizzled on a hiss as his fingers dived past the barrier of
her panties and into her cleft. Her head dropped forward while she pushed
against his hand, and the sinuous roll of her hips rubbed the hardness behind
her. Her pleasure fed his, and soon their disturbed breathing was echoing
through the garage.
Damn, but the man knew what he was doing.
“I love how wet you get for me.” His voice was deliciously rough, exciting her all the more. Then
the sound of a zipper and crinkling of packaging being ripped open reached her
ears, and she almost hyperventilated. “I’m going to make you come so hard your
legs won’t be able to hold you for the rest of the day.”

Oh,
dear God…

Author Bio

A competitive figure skater from the age of eight, Stacy Gail began
writing stories in between events to pass the time. By the age of fourteen, she
told her parents she was either going to be a figure skating coach who was also
a published romance writer, or a romance writer who was also a skating pro. Now
with a day job of playing on the ice with her students, and writing everything
from steampunk to cyberpunk, contemporary to paranormal at night, both dreams
have come true.

 

Author Links
Giveaway

Divider

Carrier – Anne Tibbets – 4 stars

July 15, 2014 Carina Press, Contest, Read in 2014, Sent, Tours 1

Carrier – Anne Tibbets – 4 starsThe Line Book One: Carrier by Anne Tibbets
Published by Carina Press on 2014-06-16
Genres: Dystopian, Fiction, General, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 203
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Twenty-two -year-old Naya has spent nearly half her life as a sex slave in a government institution called The Line. Excommunicated after getting pregnant with twins, she's left with no way to earn a living and a horrifying choice to make: find someone to replace her at the institution by the time she gives birth, or have her babies taken in her stead.Ric Bennett wants to help. A doctor with a history of aiding ex-Line girls, he runs a team of rebels that can delete Naya's records, prevent her from having to make an impossible choice, and free her forever. But when his plan is sniffed out, things get bloody, fast. The Line wants them back. The organization has discovered information about Naya and her twins that make them more valuable than just sex slaves. It makes them dangerous—and part of the The Line's larger plan.As they hide from government search parties, Ric comes to admire Naya's quiet strength. And Naya realizes Ric might be a man she can trust. If they make it off the grid, they could build a new life. But first they'll have to survive the long, vicious reach of The Line.Book one of two77,000 words

What if corporations seized territory and created their own countries?  What if these corporations decided that they wanted more and to do so they were willing to go to extremes in genetic warfare?  This is some of what is at stake in this new series from Anne Tibbets.  We get a brutal introduction via a woman who has lived thru hell for nine years as a sex slave only to be let go when it is discovered that she is pregnant.

Naya/Natalia has been in this hell where she has 10 hour-long appointments a day, 7 days a week with no holidays or rest days.  Imagine being forced to have sex or do whatever you are told by the person who bought time with you that many days in a row.  She’s not used to having clothes or being treated with any sort of kindness but when she’s kicked out of the Line she ends up making the best of a horrible situation.  She’s overwhelmed many times in this story with any human kindness and touch is something she is terrified of but you get glimpses of how badly she desires it.  I loved seeing her really start to come in to her own as the book progressed and while she has a long way to go you get to see that she’s an incredible survivor who will do well as she gets used to being “free”.  Her flashbacks are horrific and serve to provide more information on how this came to be while also showing you more about how strong she really is even at a young age.  I really loved how much she was willing to do to protect her babies from the hell she lived thru but I really loved how she was willing to sacrifice herself to save people she didn’t know.

Ric is someone I am looking forward to getting to know better as the series progresses.  He’s a tower of strength even as he crumbles because of the costs that this operation places upon him.  He’s got an amazing heart and seeing him work with Natalia was painful but still made me smile at times.  He wants to help but from the beginning you can sense a deeper connection to her and the need he has to keep her safe plus let her spread her wings.  He’s very dedicated to destroying this evil but also very practical in that he knows it can’t be done overnight but needs to be accomplished over time even as it hurts him to know the Line still operates.  As he finds out what the Line is really for you can sense that nothing will ever be the same for the residents of this corporate hell and that hopefully the start of a revolution will be forthcoming.

I look forward to learning more about this world and hope that Natalia and Ric get to find true happiness not only with one another but with the society that so desperately needs change.  Special thanks to the team at Expresso Book Tours for giving me the chance to spread the word about this book and by giving me the chance to host a stop on the tour where I get to share with my readers the awesome tour contest….

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Anne

AUTHOR BIO:

Anne Tibbets is an SCBWI award-winning and Smashwords.com Best Selling author. After writing for Children’s television, Anne found her way to young/new adult fiction by following what she loves: books, strong female characters, twisted family dynamics, magic, sword fights, quick moving plots, and ferocious and cuddly animals.Along with CARRIER, Anne is also the author of the young adult fantasy novella, THE BEAST CALL and the young adult contemporary, SHUT UP.

Anne divides her time between writing, her family, and three furry creatures that she secretly believes are plotting her assassination.

Find her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/AnneTibbetsAuthor or on Twitter @WriteforCoffee. To contact Anne, visit www.annetibbets.com and click the ‘CONTACT’ tab.

Author Links:

four-stars

Divider

Up to Me – Christi Barth – 4 stars

June 24, 2014 Carina Press, NetGalley, Read in 2014 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Up to Me – Christi Barth – 4 starsUp to Me by Christi Barth
Published by Carina Press on 2014-06-23
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, General, Romance
Pages: 224
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Ella Mayhew's always appreciated the beautiful view of Seneca Lake from the spa window of her family's hotel.But the view improves dramatically when a hot stranger runs across the grounds—shirtless. He's the first man to kickstart her hormones in the three years since she lost her parents, and she doesn't even know his name.

Graydon Locke's on his umpteenth undercover assignment. The routine's always the same: assess a business, recommend it for closure, then roll out before anyone discovers his decisions impact hundreds of lives. He's always believed nothing good comes out of small towns. Why would this one be different? Then he makes two classic rookie mistakes—falling for the sweet, sexy girl who owns the very business he's on the verge of axing. And letting the town's residents get involved in both his life, and his relationship with Ella.Ella's the best thing to ever happen to Gray, but he's lied to her from the start. If he pulls the plug on Mayhew Manor, the entire town may crumble. Ella couldn't save her parents, but it's up to her to save their hotel. Even if that means turning her back on true love.100,000 words

I loved this small town and the people who we get to see poke their noses in to our pair’s relationship.  I cannot wait to see more and am happy that this story made it possible for us to get such a great view of the town.

Ella loves living on Seneca Lake even as the loss of her parents weighs on her every decision.  She’s happy being the masseuse and being around the manor but there is a part of her that hasn’t moved on with her life.  She’s shocked when she meets a man who flips all of her switches even before she starts to get to know him.  As she starts to branch out and take a chance letting him in she also starts to reclaim the life she put on hold because of misguided guilt.  I really enjoyed watching her journey to becoming a woman not afraid to live and take control of her own destiny even as things seem to fall apart around her.  She’s got such loyal friends that mean the world to her and have stepped up to be there for her as she dealt with some really heavy things.  I especially loved how she found the strength to finally let go of letting the journal make her decisions for her.  While it served its purpose it was time for her to stand on her own two feet to become someone her parents would have been so proud of.

Graydon was such a fun character.  He’s got secrets of his own and when he meets Ella he is so torn between doing what is right with her and what is right by his job that it causes major conflicts and issues for him.  His reaction to the way the town protects Ella was wonderful but he saw that in many respects it was stifling the inner self she needed to let loose.  I also enjoyed his entry in to the journal and found it quite telling how much faith he put in the town when push came to shove.  This is a man who needed to find somewhere he could belong and a life that was filled with things that made him happy.  He was like Ella in that he was so stuck in his past that he wasn’t really living life to the fullest.

Watching them fight what they were feeling for one another was fun and seeing how everyone rallied around them both made me laugh a few times.  There was a good amount of heat but honestly the way that the relationship took its time to fully develop was the best part of it.  If you like small town romances where the town and its residents play a part in the story then this will be right up your alley.

Special thanks to NetGalley.com and Carina Press for the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.  I cannot wait for more of this series!

four-stars

Divider