Genre: Paranormal

Divider

Archangel’s Viper – Nalini Singh 5 stars

September 26, 2017 Boookluvr Reads, Read in 2017 2

Archangel’s Viper – Nalini Singh 5 starsArchangel's Viper by Nalini Singh
Published by Penguin Publishing Group on September 26th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, General, Science Fiction
Pages: 368
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Enter New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh's breathtakingly passionate Guild Hunter world with the story of a woman who isn't a vampire or an angel...or human...   Once a broken girl known as Sorrow, Holly Chang now prowls the shadowy gray underground of the city for the angels. But it's not her winged allies who make her a wanted woman--it's the unknown power coursing through her veins. Brutalized by an insane archangel, she was left with the bloodlust of a vampire, the ability to mesmerize her prey, and a poisonous bite.   Now, someone has put a bounty on her head...   Venom is one of the Seven, Archangel Raphael's private guard, and he's as infuriating as he is seductive. A centuries-old vampire, his fangs dispense a poison deadlier than Holly's. But even if Venom can protect Holly from those hunting her, he might not be able to save himself--because the strange, violent power inside Holly is awakening...   No one is safe.

You’ll have to pardon my fangirling for a moment, but with some books/authors it simply can’t be helped.  I love Nalini Singh’s PNR books!  It doesn’t matter if I am in the middle of another book, when a new Guild Hunter or Psy-Changeling  book comes out I immediately start reading it.  PNR worlds can be tricky (especially first books) because so much of the story centers on the building or description of the world and I can find myself struggling to feel connected enough to the main characters of the story because I am so focused on the world.   I am always amazed that given how detailed the worlds in both series are, I didn’t feel that frustration or disconnect from the story.  Nalini’s world always seems to provide the detail needed to connect you to her characters rather than take away from the.  She does such an outstanding job bringing details like color, texture, taste and emotion to life in her books that you can almost feel the backdrops she describes.  Every description brings you further into the world of her characters and bonds you to them so that you feel every emotion along with them.  Given that, it’s no wonder both series are a favorite re-read for so many readers.

Archangel’s Viper was such a wonderful installment to the Guild Hunter series.  I have been looking forward to seeing Holly and Viper since Holly was introduced to us as Sorrow.  Their back and forth banter made me hopeful that they would be paired up later in the series once Holly had time to heal, so I was thrilled when this book was announced.

I loved seeing how far Holly came since we last saw her.  Her confidence, determination and attitude were delightful.  The emphasis on her clothing and accessories gave us a glimpse not just into who Holly is today, but who she was prior to being thrust into the world of angels and vampires.  The back and forth between Holly and Viper made me smile because they truly had a dynamic that was simply their own.  When the everyone else was still treating Holly with kid gloves in some ways, Viper never shied away from treating her like his equal.  Whether that meant telling Holly truths she may not want to see, or physically testing her limits, it showed us how much confidence Viper had in Holly’s ability to exist in their world.

My favorite elements of this story (without spoilers) were:

  • Ashwini programming ringtones in Holly’s phone.  I love seeing the playfulness between such powerful beings.
  • All the nicknames Holly and Viper had for each other.  To others these may have seemed like insults, but in the end it was a way for the two of them to establish a subtle intimacy before they even realized what was happening.
  • Holly’s dislike for Viper’s sunglasses.  I love that a feature that made Viper seem so alien was something that never deterred Holly.  She was not only fascinated by his eyes and their behavior, but could read his eyes ina  way that other’s seemed unable to do.  While Viper didn’t believe his eyes reflected emotion in the same way that most eyes do, with Holly that wasn’t the case.
  • The details of Viper’s home that called out to both he and Holly.  Given that otherness of Viper I don’t think I realized how important it would be that whoever he ended up with would be drawn to some of the same comforts.
  • Viper absolutely melted my heart when he cooked for Holly.  Seriously, a vampire that doesn’t eat who goes out of his way to not just prepare food, but meals that were either centered around dishes that he knew Holly liked based on observing her or those that were a bridge to his own past.  Each one was prepared with such care that it was one of the most romantic scenes I have ever read.
  • The flavored blood that Ashwini sent with Venom.  This to me is an example of such a subtle detail making a world of difference to the story.  Listening to Venom describe the flavors and the memories associated with them (especially given his taste for flavored blood) humanized him in a way that I wasn’t prepared for.
  • The glimpses into Holly’s relationship with Dimitri.  Given his painful past, I love that he has become a father figure to Holly and Naasir.
  • Holly and Viper playing in Central Park.  That scene did such a good job showing us how alike Holly and Venom were, and it was the first time we got to see Holly let her abilities surface in a playful way.
  • That Venom gave Holly his true name.  To me it was symbolic of his final wall coming down between them.  It was the moment where I knew that Holly had his heart for eternity no matter what came next.

Fans of the Guild Hunter series will not be disappointed with this latest installment, and I dare say may find Viper their favorite hero in the entire series (sorry Dimitri 🙂 ).  To those that haven’t read any books in the series yet, I have only one thing to say… What Are You Waiting For?!

five-stars

Divider

Audiobook – Goddess with a Blade – Lauren Dane – 4.5 stars

July 17, 2017 Audiobook, Listened to in 2017, Steph 1

Audiobook – Goddess with a Blade – Lauren Dane – 4.5 starsGoddess With a Blade by Lauren Dane
Published by Carina Press on June 6th 2011
Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Urban, Romance, Paranormal, General
Pages: 265
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Rowan Summerwaite is no ordinary woman. Physical vessel to the Celtic Goddess Brigid and raised by the leader of the Vampire Nation, she's a supercharged hunter with the power to slay any vampire who violates the age-old treaty.

A recent string of murders has her at odds with Las Vegas's new Scion, the arrogant and powerful Clive Stewart. The killings have the mark of Vampire all over them, and Rowan warns Clive to keep his people in line—or she'll mete out her own brand of justice.

Though her dealings with Clive are adversarial to say the least, Rowan is intensely aware of her attraction to him. But she can't let it distract her from her duty—to find and battle the killer before more women die.

73,000 words

Ok I know I am late to the party on this series but I ADORED the banter between our leads as they fight their attraction to one another and the strong dislike they also have regarding their roles in society.  There is something refreshing about characters who are open and honest about who they are with no apologies for their actions if they are what is needed.  They both apologize for items that are out of line but they do not back down as they do what they were meant to do.

Rowan is the vessel for an ancient Celtic goddess and was raised in the service of the First.  The First is an ancient vampire who considers Rowan to be his daughter even though she now is tasked with killing those vampires who kill humans or break the treaty that keeps the various races in balance.  She’s tough and is not looking for anything other than to make sure that the new North American Scion understands what she’s supposed to do and stays out of her way.  She meets Clive and immediately dislikes him not only for being a vampire but for being an insufferable, stick-up-his-ass jerk who thinks he is all mighty and powerful.  She works to figure out who is this latest rogue vampire with help from her crew but keeps having to deal with Clive and the attraction that she feels for someone she shouldn’t want.  I loved watching her jump in to things without regard for her own safety but seeing Clive try to get thru to her how much she means to those around her was enjoyable.

Clive is such a damn asshole… yes… a damn snobby, stick-in-the-mud and stick-up-his-ass asshole.  Yet, I found myself enjoying him as we got to see more of who he is.  He’s not fond of meeting this Hunter as she killed his predecessor (yes it was definitely deserved) but he’s taken aback as he finds himself drawn to her.  He’s very protective of his people and very fierce when it comes to protecting the Vampire Nation even as he knows there are things Rowan should be let in on in order to more efficiently and effectively do her job.  I loved seeing his fierceness as he fights to get her to not go off on her own trying to find the killer in their midst but ultimately failing as she will do her job no matter the cost.  Clive is someone you learn to love as the series progresses as he may be a fuddy duddy in some respects but damn if the man cannot get dirty with the best of them.  There is a reason why he is in the position he is in and it isn’t just because he is a good businessman.  He’s ruthless and deadly but when it comes to Rowan he is such a damn romantic man.

The good news is by waiting so long to start the series all the books are out so you can read them back to back but I do warn you … you will scream when you get to the last one and I hope that Lauren Dane is able to get back to this world soon as I adore the characters and want to see more of the story that is still out there.

four-half-stars

Divider

Fierce Obsessions – Suzanne Wright 3 stars

June 14, 2017 NetGalley 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Fierce Obsessions – Suzanne Wright 3 starsFierce obsessions Published by Montlake on 6/13/17
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

When raven shifter Riley Porter was given sanctuary by the Phoenix Pack, she let them believe she had left her flock. Reluctant to divulge the secrets of her past, she was still embraced as family. Only Tao Lukas, the protective and passionate Head Enforcer of the pack, was resistant to the enigmatic shifter. Until Riley started to arouse in him something other than suspicion.

Tao doesn’t trust lone shifters, especially ones so guarded—and tempting. But the sexual tension between them is making them both come undone, and vulnerable to more than desire. All Tao wants is for Riley to stay with him and to trust him with the truth of her past.

As Riley’s mysteries come to light, so does a danger that threatens not only her life but the safety of the entire pack. For Tao, keeping Riley safe means keeping her close—forever—as his mate.

In case The Phoenix Pack series is new to you, I am going to give you a little background.  Raven shifter Riley Porter left her flock and has been living on own when she ends up at a homeless shelter for shifters.  It is there that Riley meets two orphan shifter children, Savannah who is a viper and Dexter who is a cheetah and becomes their guardian.  When the safety of the homeless shelter is threatened, Riley and the children end up staying with the members of The Phoenix Pack.

Tao Lukas is the Head Enforcer of The Phoenix Pack and body-guard to the alpha’s.  Tao’s focus is always on the protection of his back and ever since Riley arrived he’s been a thorn in her side, accusing her of being trouble and bringing danger to his pack.  To say he isn’t her biggest fan is an understatement.

Now, onto Fierce Obsessions:

When Riley wakes up with a raging hangover after a night of partying with the pack, she finds herself in bed with Tao Lukas.  As if the headache and nausea wasn’t enough, now she has to figure out how to deal with an awkward morning after.  Sure, she’s always been attracted to Tao but she wasn’t going to chase after a man who doesn’t like her no matter what their chemistry was like.  Certain that Tao will want to forget what happened as much as she does, Riley is caught off guard when Tao tells her he has no intention of forgetting what happened.  Not only that, but he has every intention that it happen over and over again.

Tao Lukas wanted Riley the first time that he saw her, but Tao doesn’t do change or trust people easily so he didn’t just accept her joining her back at face value.  Once he realized that Riley wasn’t there to do any harm to his pack, he also realized he had to be sneaky if he was going to have her in his bed.  Tao’s pretty guarded, but Riley is even more so so he has had to wait until she wouldn’t see him coming.  After a night of tequila shots, Tao has finally found himself in her bed and he’ll take whatever approach he needs her to keep her there for the near future.

When Riley goes back to her flock to celebrate her uncle’s anniversary, Tao insists on coming along.  With the relationship between them so new, there’s no way he’s letting her get away from him that easily especially since Riley has never indicated she plans to stay with the pack.  Once events unfold that make it clear there Riley’s emotional health isn’t the only thing that he needs to be worry about Tao wants nothing more than to get her back on pack lands where he knows he can keep her safe.  Riley, stubborn as ever isn’t going anywhere until she gets to the bottom of who is targeting her and her friends and family in the flock.

I enjoyed watching Riley and Tao circle around the reality of the fact that they were in a relationship from the moment they got together.  Each was in denial for their own reasons even when their friends and family could see clear as day that they were meant to be together.  I especially adored the relationships they both had with the Savannah, Dexter and Kye and the fact that the children were given as much emphasis in the relationship building as what happened between Riley and Tao.  Given the personalities of both of them I think it was the only way to make the relationship believable as it built due to how important children were to each of them in different ways.

As always, I enjoyed the most recent glimpse into The Phoenix Pack and I look forward to seeing them again in future installments (fingers crossed).

 

three-stars

Divider

Silver Silence – Nalini Singh – 5 stars

June 13, 2017 Boookluvr Reads, NetGalley 2

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Silver Silence – Nalini Singh – 5 starsSilver Silence by Nalini Singh
Published by Berkley Publishing Group on 6/13/2017
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 464
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh introduces a bold new chapter in her extraordinary paranormal romance saga with the Psy-Changeling Trinity series. Wild passion will encounter the darkest of betrayal...

Control. Precision. Family. These are the principles that drive Silver Mercant. At a time when the fledgling Trinity Accord seeks to unite a divided world, with Silver playing a crucial role as director of a worldwide emergency response network, wildness and chaos are the last things she needs in her life. But that’s exactly what Valentin Nikolaev, alpha of the StoneWater Bears, brings with him.

Valentin has never met a more fascinating woman. Though Silver is ruled by Silence—her mind clear of all emotion—Valentin senses a whisper of fire around her. That’s what keeps him climbing apartment buildings to be near her. But when a shadow assassin almost succeeds in poisoning Silver, the stakes become deadly serious…and Silver finds herself in the heart of a powerful bear clan.

Her would-be assassin has no idea what their poison has unleashed...

Silver Mercant is the cool as ice assistant to Kaleb Krycheck and the director of EmNet.    Silver can handle any crisis without breaking a sweat, but can she handle a sneaky bear?

Valentin Nikolaev is alpha of StoneWater clan and he and his bear have both take notice of Silver Mercant.  Her brilliant mind and take no crap attitude are exactly what both of them need.  Now they just have to figure out how to convince her to give them a shot.

After an attempt on her life, Silver finds herself moved into Denhome, the home of the StoneWater clan and a certain exasperating bear.  Living in a community full of rowdy bears who have no understanding of personal space or boundaries seems like it would be torture for someone as buttoned up as Silver, but she quickly finds that the bonds of clan aren’t so different from those of her own family.  Silver finds herself charmed by the affection, humor and loyalty of the bears and her icy exterior starts to thaw.

Valentin has got Silver exactly where he wants her and now he just has to figure out how to keep her there.  He knows that bear sneaky isn’t going to be enough to sneak up on this woman, he’s going to have to be cat sneaky.

Watching the relationship between Silver and Valentin develop was swoon worthy.  The two of them had far more in common than what we initially see, but it is clear that they are meant to be together.  Silver’s strength and attitude make her the perfect match for a man who has so much responsibility on his shoulders and hurts from his past that he is still trying to fix.    Valentin loves everything about Silver, even her cool attempts to push him away.

When the consequences of Silver giving up silence became clear, my heart broke for both of them.  I very rarely cry when reading books but in this case there was no other option.  Just when they finally come together and both acknowledge who the other is to them, they realize they have to risk it all to keep her alive.  Watching them fight their way back together made the momentary heart break worth it in the end.

 

A few of my favorite moments from the story:

  • Silver gives Valentin’s mom an ultimatum to get over her issues or get out.  Watching the future relationship between these two is going to be interesting.
  • All of the pet names Silver and Valentin had for each other.  The affection they had was laced in to every single one.
  • The glimpses of the Mercant family where we realize none of them are as silent as we expected.  I hope we get to see more of Arwen and Pavel in the future.  I’m also curious if E and S are going to end up together.
  • Valentin and Dima’s visit to Silver’s office – she never stood a chance.
  • The waffle date – Valentin was still being cat sneaky.
  • Ena having tea and a chat with a certain someone.  I loved how composed and in control she was.
five-stars

Divider

Shadow Reaper – Christine Feehan – 5 stars – Paperback Giveaway!

May 30, 2017 NetGalley 6

I received this book for free from . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Shadow Reaper – Christine Feehan – 5 stars – Paperback Giveaway!Shadow Reaper by Christine Feehan
Published by Penguin on May 30th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, General, Contemporary, Suspense
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

#1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan returns to her scorching-hot series starring a Chicago crime family that has built its empire in the shadows...

Billionaire playboy Ricco Ferraro knows no other life. Being a shadow rider is in his blood—but so is a haunting desperation stemming from the secrets of his dark past. His recklessness puts not only his life at risk, but also the future of his entire family. To save them all, he must find a woman who can meet his every desire with a heat all her own...

Just when Ricco has given up hope, he meets her—a mysterious woman whose shadow connects with his. She’s someone looking for a safe haven from the danger that has stalked her over the last several months. In Ricco’s embrace, she finds one. But the darkness in which they so often find sanctuary can also consume them...

Welcome Rockie to the blog with her first review… Yeah I might’ve chosen this one for her on purpose but… look below for a treat…

I had the ability read an ARC for Shadow Reaper! I really love this series! Shadow Reaper is the continuation of Shadow Rider and Ricco’s story! I fell in love with Ricco and his family in the first story.

Shadow Reaper is a fast paced story, Christine Feehan is a master at what she does. This story flows through. There are several times during the story to fall deeper in love with Ricco! The art of shibari is interesting and to see it through Ricco’s eyes when he ties up Mariko. To see how he feels about Mariko throughout the book is amazing. Ricco was in a downward spiral that almost killed him.
Enter Mariko who was sent to kill him, because she is going to lose her brother if she doesn’t. Ricco’s past is about to make a jump into his present because someone is trying to kill him and his family. Ricco knew Mariko was sent to kill him, but he knew she was the love of his life and he didn’t know how to keep her without shibari and knew that they could do shibari together and live out their lives together.
If you haven’t picked up Shadow Rider and want to read Shadow Reaper go ahead, you don’t have to read the first book to read this. You should go ahead and pick up these books and read them! Christine Feehan is simply amazing.

 

Now I quite enjoyed this one as well so I agree that the darkness Ricco is in at the start was disturbing but as we read this story we get the reasons behind it… it will make you fall in love with him as he comes out of the darkness.  Now… to win a copy of the book in paperback… Welcome Rockie to the blog by saying hi and if you have any suggestions for her reading pleasure.  Just post a reply here on the blog by 11:59 pm Central on June 6th to have a chance to win…

five-stars

Divider

Silence Fallen – Patricia Briggs – 5 stars

April 28, 2017 Uncategorized 1

Silence Fallen – Patricia Briggs – 5 starsSilence Fallen Published by Ace on 03/07/17
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 379
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

In the #1 New York Times bestselling Mercy Thompson novels, the coyote shapeshifter has found her voice in the werewolf pack. But when Mercy’s bond with the pack—and her mate—is broken, she’ll learn what it truly means to be alone...

Attacked and abducted in her home territory, Mercy finds herself in the clutches of the most powerful vampire in the world, taken as a weapon to use against alpha werewolf Adam and the ruler of the Tri-Cities vampires. In coyote form, Mercy escapes—only to find herself without money, without clothing, and alone in the heart of Europe...

Unable to contact Adam and the rest of the pack, Mercy has allies to find and enemies to fight, and she needs to figure out which is which. Ancient powers stir, and Mercy must be her agile best to avoid causing a war between vampires and werewolves, and between werewolves and werewolves. And in the heart of the ancient city of Prague, old ghosts rise...

The Mercy Thompson series was the first Urban Fantasy series that I ever read and I instantly fell in love with both the series and the genre.   I loved that Mercy was such a strong heroine with just the right amount of sass (the thought of her car facing Adam’s house still cracks me up).  As sometimes happens with a series though, the series started heading in a direction that I didn’t enjoy as much.  The books felt less thought out, the situations a bit contrived and characters who I loved previously I suddenly wanted to hit over the head (I’m looking at you Adam).  For these reasons combined with the price of the book,  I wasn’t in a hurry to pick this one up but I did eventually break down and buy it.  Thankfully Silence Fallen ended up exactly what I loved about the early books in the series.

Silence Fallen was a thriller from the very first chapter.  Mercy wakes up and finds herself in a locked in freezer with two vampires.   One of them is no other than The Lord of the Night, who decides to kidnap Mercy after Wulfe tell’s him that she was the most powerful person in the Tri-Cities.  As difficult as Mercy’s past struggles have been with vampires, she knows that Bonarata is in a league of his own and there is no way that he’s going to let her live.  In true Mercy fashion, the minute that opportunity presents itself, she escapes.  Unfortunately this doesn’t improve her circumstances much as Mercy realizes she is half way across the world without even a stitch of clothing, let alone money or the means to reach her pack.

Adam know’s that something has happened to Mercy when he feels her pain, but when their mate bond is silent he has no way of knowing where she is or how to help her.  When Marsilla reaches out to Adam after receiving an email from Bonarata, he is forced into a partnership with people he doesn’t necessarily trust to try to bring Mercy home safely.   Adam sets off to Europe with Honey, Marsilla, Stefan, Elizaveta, Larry the Goblin King and two supernatural pilots in the hopes that he can depend on those with him enough to save Mercy.  As if that wasn’t enough, Adam must deal with Bonarata diplomatically in order to keep his family and friends safe when all he really wants to do is tear him limb from limb from limb.

I was surprised to enjoy the perspective and timeline shifts from chapter to chapter in this book because I expected the fact it wasn’t linear to be distracting and confusing but the chapter introductions prevented that from being the case.

My favorite scenes from this book:

  • The escape scene as a whole.  I loved the thought process that Mercy was going through in her mind and that she didn’t hesitate to act as soon as she had the chance
  • A certain someone getting hit by a bus, seriously that was epic!
  • The scenes with Jitka.  What can I say, I love more strong female wolves who have found their place high up in the hierarchy.
  • The fact we got to see that Mercy is still struggling with events from her past was important.  As strong as she is, those feelings don’t just magically go away and it’s important to represent that.
  • The Matt Smith twist… I didn’t think there was anything odd happening but it made so much sense once the twist was revealed.
  • The unlikely partnership of both the Tri-Cities group gives me hope that we will get to see more unlikely partnerships in the future.  Something tells me The Lord of the Night isn’t gone and based on his convoluted plots, Adam and Mercy will need all the help they can get.

 

five-stars

Divider

The Unyielding – Shelly Laurenston – 5 stars

March 28, 2017 Kensington, Read in 2017, Sent 1

I received this book for free from . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Unyielding – Shelly Laurenston – 5 starsThe Unyielding by Shelly Laurenston
Published by Kensington on March 28th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, General, Fantasy, Action & Adventure
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars
five-flames

Stieg Engstrom, Angriest Viking Ever, has got big problems. The human Viking Clans of earth are in danger of being obliterated—along with the rest of the world—and the only one who may be able to save them is a super pain-in-the-ass Crow. Most people annoy Stieg, but this is the one woman he really can’t stand…

Erin Amsel loves being a Crow! Why wouldn’t she when the other Viking Clans are so hilariously arrogant and humorless? She’s not about to let all that come to an end! She just didn’t expect to be shoulder to shoulder in battle with Stieg. Then again, he’s so easy to torment—and also kind of cute.

With the future of the world riding on them, Stieg knows he’ll have to put aside his desperate need to kiss the smirk right off Erin’s face. Wait. What? He didn’t mean that—did he? No! They have one goal: To conquer the idiots. Because nothing bugs Stieg more than when idiots win. If only he can keep himself from suddenly acting like one…

Are you ready for more Crow craziness?  Are you sure?  Are you really, really sure?

Well, buckle up for some more fun with the ladies and men who are trying to keep the world safe from some really insane deities.

Erin is up to something…  ok..  so she’s always up to something but this time she’s REALLY up to something.  She’s caught by someone that she honestly can’t stand at a moment when she really did need help (soooooooooooooooo not liking admitting that) but who she gets is someone that she can’t easily manipulate or ignore.  I loved getting to know more about her and understanding where the personality traits that drive everyone else insane came from.  She’s not willing to admit what Stieg comes to mean to her but he knows and accepts her for who she is.  I love her smart mouth but also found that behind this is someone who cares deeply for those around her and is willing to do what it takes to keep people safe.  There are moments when you just want to strangle her but the moments are broken up by laughter as she even knows that she’s doing it on purpose.

Stieg was so much fun to watch.  He’s driven but the way he tries to tell her not to do something in the beginning made me put down the book for a bit to laugh.  He’s not what he seems either which is why their pairing makes so much sense.  His relationships with others including shifters made me smile but it was the damn goat that made me almost lose it.  You’ll love meeting her but also love the way that he struggles to come to terms with what Erin starts to mean to him.  I will admit there is a part of me that wanted a more overt claiming but honestly these two are perfect for one another.  The way that the relationship just is… not forced… just natural made me smile.

Now… when is the next one?  I really wanna see how this new threat plays out cause…  DAMN MAN.

Also, Shelly…  if you ever decide to make more totes…  yeah… I NEED ONE… also… Vida…  thanks again!!!  I won’t see you this year at RT but thank you for letting me continue to share the love of these stories.

five-stars

Divider

Need a new PNR Series/Author – Nikki Winter Book Giveaway!

March 8, 2017 Contest, Need New Glom Author, PNR 4

Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased

Hi, my name is Bobbie and I’m a PNR addict.  I’ve been reading PNR for a long time so it sometimes feels like I’ve read everything written in that genre *shoves TBR pile underneath a blanket*,  so when I find a new author or series that I really enjoy I want to shout it from the rooftops!

In February of last year I read an article written by Ericka Brooks from The Book Pushers and one of the books she discussed was Beastly Passions (The Verochka Pride Book 2) by Nikki Winter.  I hadn’t read anything by the author before and I was intrigued by the description of the book so off I went to check out Nikki’s website to find out the name of the first book in the Verochka Pride series and see what other series she had.

I ended up reading every book available in both the Verchka Pride and Wilde Side series over the next week.   Both series featured strong female characters, hot men who adore their women and laugh out loud humor.  The combination has made both of these series an addition to my comfort reads and any future paranormal by Nikki Winter an auto buy for me.

If you enjoy Shelly Laurenston, G. A. Aiken or Darynda Jones should absolutely give either of these series a try!

To get people started I will be giving away 3 digital copies from Amazon of any book by Nikki Winter.  To enter just leave a comment below telling me your favorite PNR series.  Contest ends on 3/14/2017 at 11:59 pm US Central.  

Happy Reading!

 

 

Divider

A Promise of Fire – Amanda Bouchet – 4.5 stars

August 1, 2016 Read in 2016, Snagged at Con, Sourcebooks 1

I received this book for free from the publisher . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Promise of Fire – Amanda Bouchet – 4.5 starsA Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet
on August 1st 2016
Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Epic, Romance, Paranormal
Pages: 448
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Catalia "Cat" Fisa is a powerful clairvoyant known as the Kingmaker. This smart-mouthed soothsayer has no interest in her powers and would much rather fly under the radar, far from the clutches of her homicidal mother. But when an ambitious warlord captures her, she may not have a choice…

Griffin is intent on bringing peace to his newly conquered realm in the magic-deprived south. When he discovers Cat is the Kingmaker, he abducts her. But Cat will do everything in her power to avoid her dangerous destiny and battle her captor at every turn. Although up for the battle, Griffin would prefer for Cat to help his people willingly, and he's ready to do whatever it takes to coax her…even if that means falling in love with her.

There is only 1 problem when you get an ARC in May for a title that doesn’t release until August…

YOU WANT THE NEXT STORY NOW NOW NOW!!!!

Many of you know that I started reading romance only a few short years ago (*cough* 5ish *cough*) but until then my reading was almost always Sci-Fi/Fantasy or mysteries….  This story made me happy because it weaves some romance in to an interesting High Fantasy world which made my internal younger self so happy.

We have a world ruled by people who wield magic except for in the forgotten kingdom that just experienced something noone thought could ever happen….  They have a warlord without magic who managed to overthrow the tyrants and put his sister in charge of the realm.  This is something that is amazing to the people but as we get in to the story we just really don’t understand how unusual this is and how much of a change this could mean for the people in this entire world.  This is a world of the Gods where dragons exist and power is corrupting.

I found the idea of someone who was more than what she appeared to be fascinating but mainly I was intrigued by trying to figure out exactly who she really is.  Cat is part of a huge puzzle that I just want to solve but enjoy finding out the bits and pieces that the author teases us with as the story unfolds.  She’s powerful, extremely sarcastic and very slow to trust people around her but the thing that drew me to her was the fact that you know she’s so severely hurt that all she really wants is to be loved, cared for and have something she never got growing up…. unconditional acceptance.  She made me laugh at times with her speak/act first then stumble as she realizes she’s not completely in her element around these people.  I also appreciated the sheer honesty (other than her feelings for Griffin) with everyone around her.

Griffin was absolutely mesmerizing to me as you could see that he wanted her from the get-go and not just for her unique power.  He’s an ass at times but as you get to know him it makes sense why he is acting that way but at the same time you want to strangle him as he tries to keep her safe by stifling her.  I enjoyed seeing him struggle with his alternating need to hurt her for her stubbornness and kiss the fight out of her because of his attraction.  He’s also hard to read in some respects as you aren’t certain if he really sees her or her power and what she can give him.  I liked that when he was wrong he admitted it but I also appreciated how he honestly was trying to do what was best.  He’s going to be fun to watch in the future stories and I cannot wait to see what happens as he finds out more about his Cat.

The other people in the story also fascinated me as well as the weaving in of the Gods such as Poseidon and Zeus but seeing things in a different way in this new world.  I enjoyed learning about the kingdoms but mainly am going to enjoy seeing how the world resets itself in this time of change.  I also look forward to seeing more of the Betas and seeing them find their partners or even just getting to know more about them and Griffin’s family.

Now…

When do I get to read book 2?????  Huh…  huh… huh…

four-half-stars

Divider

Shadow Rider – Christine Feehan – 4 stars

June 28, 2016 Read in 2016, Snagged at Con 2

I received this book for free from the publisher . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Shadow Rider – Christine Feehan – 4 starsShadow Rider by Christine Feehan
Published by Penguin Publishing Group on June 28th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Suspense, Paranormal
Pages: 480
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

The #1 New York Times bestselling “queen of paranormal romance”* is back with a sexy new series starring a Chicago crime family that hides a dark, mystical secret...

Whether it’s fast cars or fast women, Stefano Ferraro gets what he wants. When he’s not fodder for the paparazzi, he commands Ferraro family businesses—both legitimate and illegitimate.

While their criminal activity is simply a rumor yet to be proven, no one knows the real truth. The Ferraros are a family of shadow riders capable of manipulating light and dark, an ability Stefano thought ran in his family alone—until now…

With little left to her name, Francesca Cappello has come to Chicago in hopes of a new life. She wasn’t expecting to attract the attention of a man with primal hunger in his eyes, driven to claim her as his to protect and to please. And if he discovers her secret, it could ruin her...

So at RT in Las Vegas this year I met a fun person, Amy, who was jonesing for this book…  I went to the Feehan event because I had others who I know love her stories but after seeing the trailer and being around people who were so excited..  I knew I wanted to read this.  Imagine my surprise when it ended up being one of the books that Erin and the team at Berkley were nice enough to include in the bags they gave bloggers.  Amy also got lucky enough that Jo (Kindle Jo) had her copy and didn’t need it so…  AMY SCORED ONE!  I have to say that still ranks as my favorite moment of the convention as the look on her face was priceless.

I went in to this with a slight bit of knowledge about the Shadow Riders but still wasn’t sure if I’d enjoy this or not but I have to say I need book 2 NOW because this story drew me in and the fact that I want to know more about the rest of the family.  There is something seriously messed up with the way they were raised but there is such a strong sense of family that you can’t help being curious about who will be their matches.  The good thing for people who get addicted is that there are branches of the family so my guess is that if this goes well there will be a lot of stories to tell.

Francesca was a strong character who was put in a bad spot and truly only wants to be safe.  She doesn’t want to be beholden to anyone but I also adore that even when she gets the windfall from our hero she is stubborn enough to not want to use any of it.  I liked her strength and the fact that she does want to be her own person even as she is offered the world.  She’s also such a generous soul who is so drawn to our hero even when he pulls his caveman stunts but calls him on it then understands it as she gets to know the real him.  I liked how she argued but she wasn’t stupid and knew when to back down.  She doesn’t run stupidly in to trouble which made me happy.

Stefano… dude he was such an ass at the beginning.  He is used to getting things his way and truly struggles with the fact that something he never thought would happen not only has happened but is happening to HIM.  He’s not as huge of an ass as I thought initially because once you get to know him you’ll understand why he is the way he is.  Does he have stalker tendencies?  Yes.  Would you be frightened if someone in real life behaved the way he does with her?  Oh HELL YES.  Did I still love his overbearing self at the end of the story?  Yep Yep Yep…  GIMME MORE…  He’s sexy as hell and instantly devoted to his Francesca as soon as he senses her.  There is something about such a dominant man being brought to his knees by his finding the love of his life that just does it for me.  He’s not a good man by traditional standards but is a good man in so many respects.  You’ll understand when you find out the family business…

I can’t wait for more stories from this series and look forward to reading all of them as soon as possible.

four-stars

Divider