Genre: Fiction

Divider

The Bear’s Fated Mate – Vivian Arend – 5 paws up

November 18, 2019 Uncategorized 2

I received this book for free from the Author . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Bear’s Fated Mate – Vivian Arend – 5 paws upThe Bear's Fated Mate by Vivian Arend
Published by Arend Publishing Inc. on November 19, 2019
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, Shifters, General, Fantasy
Pages: 172
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Goodreads
five-stars
four-flames

He’s going to pick someone perfectly wrong for him—because fate isn’t in charge of his world!

A stand alone title in a brand-new shifter trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Vivian Arend.

As head of security for the family company, polar bear shifter Alex Borealis has intel warning something big is about to happen. His prime suspect? Tantalizing, infuriating Lara Lazuli, youngest daughter of Borealis Gems’ main competitor. But when mating fever hits, he decides she’s the perfect one to turn to. They’ve got chemistry hot enough to melt the polar ice caps, but he doesn’t trust her enough for a permanent connection to form.

Being with Alex is one step shy of torture for Lara. As a wolf shifter, she scented the truth the instant she met him months ago—he’s her mate. But she’s not about to trap anyone into being with her, especially not a man who thinks she’s up to no good. Add in her own suspicions of wrong-doing in her pack and Lara’s caught between heaven and hell.

But tangled sheets lead to real communication, and a bond of friendship forms that neither expected. When Lara asks for help, Alex finds himself living in the pack house, scaring off random Alpha wolves and fighting at her side.

Because the mating fever knows a thing or two about fate and forever.

Keywords: Canadian Author, paranormal, polar bear shifter, werewolf, enemies to lovers, fated mates, match makers

For readers who enjoy Carrie Ann Ryan, Lauren Dane, Eve Langlais, Jennifer Ashley, and Cynthia Eden.

Yes… I said paws! I have to be quite open and honest but my dear baby boy, Macaroni, makes a bit of an appearance in here and he’d like to have his voice heard.

He’s a great big boy who gets to have a bit of fun making sure people know he’s there but the key to this story (sorry baby boy) is the relationship that builds between Alex and Lara.

We get to see a man who thinks he has everything under control start to lose control but in the best way possible. He thinks he’s going to get one up on his grandfather and get an itch scratched but as per usual Grandpa knows all. I loved seeing him do what he could to get what he wanted even when he didn’t know what it was he wanted. His bear knew but the human was not so willing to see the truth.

Lara knows what Alex is to her but seeing her willing to take what she thought she could get from him was sad. I liked that she was still willing to do so but it did hurt as you were not certain Alex would wake up. I also appreciated the side story about her family and seeing how so many people saw what she was and who he was to her even as they both tried to not acknowledge it.

The story has a lot of heart and some nice heat to it but as you get to find out all the parts that happened to keep everyone moving the way Grandpa wanted was sweet and worth every second of this read.

Now… Sir Mac the Magnificent demands that you read his book.. *dammit Viv he’s going to be a complete PITA to be around now*

Next thing you know he’s going to demand an entourage and security for his 16 year old self but hey… we love the brat boy.

five-stars

Divider

Fix Her Up – Tessa Bailey 5 stars

June 11, 2019 Avon, Boookluvr Reads, Edelweiss, Uncategorized 1

Fix Her Up – Tessa Bailey 5 starsFix Her Up by Tessa Bailey
Published by HarperCollins on June 11, 2019
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Romantic Comedy, Women
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads

A brand new romantic comedy from New York Times bestseller Tessa Bailey!

Georgette Castle’s family runs the best home renovation business in town, but she picked balloons instead of blueprints and they haven’t taken her seriously since. Frankly, she’s over it. Georgie loves planning children’s birthday parties and making people laugh, just not at her own expense. She’s determined to fix herself up into a Woman of the World... whatever that means.

Phase one: new framework for her business (a website from this decade, perhaps?)

Phase two: a gut-reno on her wardrobe (fyi, leggings are pants.)

Phase three: updates to her exterior (do people still wax?)

Phase four: put herself on the market (and stop crushing on Travis Ford!)

Living her best life means facing the truth: Georgie hasn’t been on a date since, well, ever. Nobody’s asking the town clown out for a night of hot sex, that’s for sure. Maybe if people think she’s having a steamy love affair, they’ll acknowledge she’s not just the “little sister” who paints faces for a living. And who better to help demolish that image than the resident sports star and tabloid favorite.

Travis Ford was major league baseball’s hottest rookie when an injury ended his career. Now he’s flipping houses to keep busy and trying to forget his glory days. But he can’t even cross the street without someone recapping his greatest hits. Or making a joke about his… bat. And then there's Georgie, his best friend’s sister, who is not a kid anymore. When she proposes a wild scheme—that they pretend to date, to shock her family and help him land a new job—he agrees. What’s the harm? It’s not like it’s real. But the girl Travis used to tease is now a funny, full-of-life woman and there’s nothing fake about how much he wants her...

When Travis Ford returns to Port Jefferson after his baseball career ends, he feels like a failure.  It feels like his life is turning out exactly like his alcoholic old man told him it would, and that feeling is tough to swallow.  He never wanted to come back to his home town let alone under these circumstances.  He’s perfectly content to wallow in her apartment drinking and licking his wounds away but his best friend’s little sister has other ideas.


Georgie Castle has been in love with Travis for as long as she can remember.  Even knowing he doesn’t take her any more seriously than the rest of her family, Georgie is determined to remind Travis that just because his baseball career is over that doesn’t mean his life is.  As long as she remembers to keep her feelings to herself while she is helping him, everything will be fine.

Fix Her Up was my first Tessa Bailey book but it will certainly not be my last.  This book was everything I love about contemporary romance when it’s done right.  A charming community with some delightful characters, a family who regardless of their flaws is protective of each other and delightful romance.  Throw in the best friends little sister trope and some hot sex and I’m all in.

Georgie Castle, the heroine of this book, was a delightfully quirky woman who has learned to make the best of the role she has played in her family.   I loved that while she was inexperienced in relationships she was never presented as naïve.  She was a force to be reckoned with from the moment she landed on the page.

Travis Ford was the perfect counterpoint to the bubbly Georgie.  Overly serious, protective, a dirty talker and above all determined not to get involved with his best friend’s sister no matter how much he wanted to.  I swear I could hear his growly voice every time he said something filthy to Georgie.  Watching him fall for her while being completely oblivious that it was happening made my day. 

While I run off to check out Tessa Bailey’s backlog, I will be anxiously awaiting when Dominic and Rosie’s book. 

Divider

Wrath of the Goddess – Lauren Dane 4 stars

June 10, 2019 Boookluvr Reads, Carina Press, NetGalley, Uncategorized 1

Wrath of the Goddess – Lauren Dane 4 starsWrath of the Goddess by Lauren Dane
Published by Carina Press on June 10, 2019
Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Urban, Romance, Paranormal, Vampires, General
Pages: 315
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley.com
Goodreads

Rowan Summerwaite is back—and more than a little pissed off—in Wrath of the Goddess, the fifth installment in New York Times bestselling author Lauren Dane’s Goddess with a Blade series.

You can’t keep a vengeful woman down for long.

Rowan Summerwaite, elite hunter and human vessel to the goddess Brigid, has returned home to Las Vegas—and she’s mad as hell. It seems someone thought they could eliminate Rowan and everyone she holds dear.

That someone was dead wrong.

With tensions between paranormal factions at an all-time high, Rowan and her crew, along with her sexy Vampire Scion husband, Clive Stewart, have their work cut out for them. The Vampire Nation has at least one traitor in their midst, leaving them extremely vulnerable…but if it’s a war they want, Rowan’s prepared to bring the pain like never before.

Rowan knows her duty is to those she’s sworn to protect, but it seems the harder she fights, the more barriers she hits…and the more friends she loses.

With even her closest alliances in question, Rowan will have to accept that sometimes the path toward the greater good means making heartrending sacrifices along the way…

One-click with confidence. This title is part of the Carina Press Romance Promise: all the romance you’re looking for with an HEA/HFN. It’s a promise!

And see how Rowan’s fight began in Goddess with a Blade, Blade to the Keep, Blade on the Hunt and At Blade’s Edge, available now!

This book is approximately 82,000 words

I was late to the table reading the Goddess With A Blade series since I didn’t pick it up until 2018. But once I did, it was love at first sight. And while the entire series is amazing, there is one reason that I fell in love with this series and that reason is Rowan Fucking Summerwaite. Rowan is the best kind of heroine in my opinion. She is prickly, sarcastic and a bad-ass that takes no shit from anyone. Bottom line in, she’s my version of heroine catnip.

Wrath of the Goddess has been my favorite installment in the series to date. Not only did I get all the elements of Rowan that I love but there was so much more than that. Rowan has had no shortage of trauma and touch situations in her life, but in this books the situations she encounters target her in a way that makes her realize how vulnerable she has been come in ways she never planned for. No matter how hard Rowan has tried to be a one woman show and how hard she fought emotional entanglements she has found herself surrounded by friends and found family. While these people to keep her safe they are also a source of vulnerability that she didn’t ever want someone to use against her.

I loved that Rowan didn’t fall back on the approach she has taken in the past by trying to deal with things on her own. Even though she was scared that more people she cared about would end up hurt, she relied on her friends and family to help her clean up the mess once and for all. I loved growth that showed in her character especially because it didn’t dilute the elements of her personality that made her who she was.

Wrath of a Goddess was an exhilarating ride with a satisfying conclusion and as always I can’t wait for the next installment.

Divider

The Bride Test – Helen Hoang 4 stars

May 18, 2019 Berkley Trade, Boookluvr Reads, Edelweiss, Uncategorized 1

The Bride Test – Helen Hoang 4 starsThe Bride Test by Helen Hoang
Published by Penguin on May 7, 2019
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Women, Multicultural & Interracial
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads

From the critically acclaimed author of The Kiss Quotient comes a romantic novel about love that crosses international borders and all boundaries of the heart...

Khai Diep has no feelings. Well, he feels irritation when people move his things or contentment when ledgers balance down to the penny, but not big, important emotions—like grief. And love. He thinks he's defective. His family knows better—that his autism means he just processes emotions differently. When he steadfastly avoids relationships, his mother takes matters into her own hands and returns to Vietnam to find him the perfect bride.

As a mixed-race girl living in the slums of Ho Chi Minh City, Esme Tran has always felt out of place. When the opportunity arises to come to America and meet a potential husband, she can't turn it down, thinking this could be the break her family needs. Seducing Khai, however, doesn't go as planned. Esme's lessons in love seem to be working...but only on herself. She's hopelessly smitten with a man who's convinced he can never return her affection.

With Esme's time in the United States dwindling, Khai is forced to understand he's been wrong all along. And there's more than one way to love.

I adored Khai and Esme individually, but the two of them together melted my heart. They were both so vulnerable and scared to do something to hurt those that they loved and yet each approached their vulnerability in their own way.

Esme was always looking for a way over, around or through the obstacles in front of her. I couldn’t help but admire her strength and perseverance will simultaneously being proud of her willingness to leave herself open to be hurt after everything she had experienced in her life. Even when everything happening was out of her control and life kept snatching her dreams away from her she kept pushing through.

Sweet sweet Kai. My heart broke for him so many times in this book. Realizing that the fact he processed emotions differently make him feel like he didn’t have feelings was devastating. Knowing that he had unconsciously pulled back from every relationship in his life both to protect himself and the people he cared about made me want to wrap him in giant hug. I am not an expert on autism so I can’t say whether the portrayal was accurate. I can however say it felt like it was handled well as the reader. I appreciated that Khai was presented as having all the same emotional and physical desires as all of the other romance heroes we read do. Khai was everything anyone could want out of a hero.

The only thing I struggled with was how long Esme kept Jade a secret. It bothered me just like the secret baby trope did because it felt wrong. Don’t get me wrong, I completely understood why she felt like she had to make that decision but I wished she had been honest sooner.

Fans of the Kiss Quotient will certainly enjoy the Bride Test. I felt it was a much stronger storyline and the characters were more developed. For those that haven’t read Kiss Quotient, the Bride Test could be read as a standalone book easily.

Divider

The Unhoneymooners – Christina Lauren 3 stars

May 13, 2019 Boookluvr Reads, NetGalley, Uncategorized 1

The Unhoneymooners – Christina Lauren 3 starsThe Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren
Published by Simon and Schuster on May 14, 2019
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Romantic Comedy, Women, General
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley.com
Goodreads

For two sworn enemies, anything can happen during the Hawaiian trip of a lifetime—maybe even love—in this romantic comedy from the New York Times bestselling authors of Roomies.

Olive Torres is used to being the unlucky twin: from inexplicable mishaps to a recent layoff, her life seems to be almost comically jinxed. By contrast, her sister Ami is an eternal champion . . . she even managed to finance her entire wedding by winning a slew of contests. Unfortunately for Olive, the only thing worse than constant bad luck is having to spend the wedding day with the best man (and her nemesis), Ethan Thomas.

Olive braces herself for wedding hell, determined to put on a brave face, but when the entire wedding party gets food poisoning, the only people who aren’t affected are Olive and Ethan. Suddenly there’s a free honeymoon up for grabs, and Olive will be damned if Ethan gets to enjoy paradise solo.

Agreeing to a temporary truce, the pair head for Maui. After all, ten days of bliss is worth having to assume the role of loving newlyweds, right? But the weird thing is . . . Olive doesn’t mind playing pretend. In fact, the more she pretends to be the luckiest woman alive, the more it feels like she might be.

With Christina Lauren’s “uniquely hilarious and touching voice” (Entertainment Weekly), The Unhoneymooners is a romance for anyone who has ever felt unlucky in love.

Deciding on a rating for The Unhoneymooners was tough. I really enjoyed the first 75% of the book. It was a trope I love (forced proximity), the main characters were endearing and it was lighthearted fun. That’s pretty much everything I could ask for from a romantic comedy.

If you don’t want spoilers you will want to skip what’s left of this review. What happened in the last 25% of this book you may ask? Major gaslighting by the people closest to Olive, the heroine in this book. You see, Olive found out that her new brother-in-law has been cheating on her sister for years from his brother who is the hero in this book. He pressured her not to say anything to her sister and Olive intended to honor that request after convincing herself she might not know everything about their relationship. Olive didn’t one want to embarrass her sister or strain the relationships of those she cared the most about so regardless of all of her misgivings she was going to keep her mouth shut.

Here is where my entire opinion of this book changes. We keep getting glimpses into how Dane (the brother-in-law) has been making comments to everyone about how negative Olive is. He has convinced her twin sister and Ethan that she is always looking for problems even where there are none. I am sure you can see where this is going, but it’s worse than you imagine. Dane is so confidence that nobody will believe Olive that he not only pretends there is no issue, but he propositions Olive. At this point Olive realizes that she has to say something to her Ami (her sister). She tells both Ethan and Ami everything and NEITHER OF THEM BELIEVE HER. I wanted to launch my kindle at the wall.

In the end of course, both Ethan and Ami discover that Dane was in fact a scumbag and apologize profusely but you know what? I DON’T CARE! When I look back on the last couple of years and all of the stories of gaslighting that were in the news I just don’t want it in my romance unless it involves a character that you don’t expect me to see as redeemed. Obviously other readers could feel completely differently, but for me reality is hard enough right now. I don’t want to deal with all of it in the same place I am going to find a guaranteed HEA.

The bottom line is, I wish The Unhoneymooners was a choose your own adventure book where I could pick an alternate ending. If the resolution had been handled differently I think I would have loved it.

Divider

American Witch – Thea Harrison 3 1/2 stars

May 5, 2019 Boookluvr Reads, NetGalley, Uncategorized 1

American Witch – Thea Harrison 3 1/2 starsAmerican Witch by Thea Harrison
Published by Teddy Harrison LLC on April 29, 2019
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, General, Suspense, Fantasy
Pages: 334
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley.com
Goodreads

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Thea Harrison comes the first in a new spellbinding trilogy…

Power can change a person…

For months Molly Sullivan endures the inexplicable: electrical surges, car breakdowns, visions. She even wonders if she might be the cause… and wonders if she might be crazy. Then she discovers her husband has cheated on her. Again. Now Molly realizes she is a newly awakening witch and a woman pushed over the edge.

Revenge can shape a person…

Josiah Mason is a Powerful witch and the leader of a secret coven with a shared goal: to destroy an ancient enemy who has ruined many lives. Josiah lost years to this man, and his sole focus is revenge. He’s prepared for every contingency—except encountering a beautiful new witch who understands nothing of the immense Power building within her or the attraction she wields over him.

Danger can bring them together…

When divorcing her husband, Molly uncovers a dangerous secret he’s willing to kill to protect. She turns to Josiah for help, and they discover a connection between Molly’s husband and Josiah’s enemy.

As they work together, a spark ignites between them that threatens to become an inferno. But Molly is done compromising herself for any man, and Josiah’s mission is his top priority. And the enemy is cunning, cruel, and drawing ever closer.

As the danger escalates, so does the tension between them. Is a lasting relationship possible? Will either of them live long enough to try?

Can you imagine what it would be like to suddenly come into power as a witch at 40 years old, especially if you didn’t know you were a witch? That’s exactly what happens to Molly Sullivan in American Witch. As if that wasn’t traumatic enough, this discovery comes right on the heals of finding out that her husband has been cheating on her. I don’t know about you, but if I were in her shoes I would likely to torch the bastard with my new powers under those circumstances.

I adored Molly. After coming to terms with everything she was determined to reinvent herself . She developed a spine of steel and took no shit from anyone even though in many instances there was a power imbalance.

I was wary when Molly started dreaming about a woman telling her to come visit because I thought for sure it would be a trap of some sort. But the relationship between Sarah and Molly was the highlight of the book. Sarah was such a kind and nurturing and was exactly the loving presence that Molly needed and frankly deserved in her life. After being raised by a wretched excuse for a mother and marrying a scumbag of a husband she needed a genuine friendship to allow her to heal and find her true self.

There were a couple things I didn’t care for in this book. The first was Josiah. Sure he did a lot of things to help Molly and fell in love with her but he spent a lot of time being an asshole. Even after he acknowledged his feelings for Molly, anytime he got irritated he became an irrational jerk. I’m all about a surly hero but in my opinion he took it too far.

The second thing I didn’t like was the surprise event in the book (I don’t want to spoil it for those that haven’t read it yet). I couldn’t quite tell if I was supposed to see that as a fated moment based on the fact they were meant to be together or whether it was supposed to be a series of random events that resulted in that outcome. If it wasn’t some fated experience it just felt too contrived because I saw it coming a mile away. I get why it was a plot point because I think it was the only thing that was going to convince Josiah to evaluate who he had become, I just found the way it too place a little too convenient.

All in all I think this was a good introduction to a new series by Thea Harrison and I look forward to reading future installments of this series and I hope eventually we will get to see Molly and Josiah interact with characters of the Wyr and Nightkind. Can you imagine Molly and Carling teaming up at some point?

Divider

Unbroken Cowboy, Maisey Yates 4 stars

April 23, 2019 Boookluvr Reads, Uncategorized 0

Unbroken Cowboy, Maisey Yates 4 starsUnbroken Cowboy by Maisey Yates
Published by HQN Books on May 1, 2019
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Western, Contemporary
Pages: 384
Source: NetGalley.com
Goodreads

Don’t miss the next Gold Valley Western romance novel, Unbroken Cowboy, from New York Times bestselling author Maisey Yates, available April 30 from HQN Books.

Unbroken Cowboy really threw me for a loop in the best way.  You see, after meeting Beatrix in multiple Gold Valley books I had a very clear picture of who she was.  I didn’t view her as an adult like I should have given her friends, rather more as a very naive teenager.  It wasn’t even about her age as much as her naive and childlike demeanor that made me see her that way.  Because of that I wasn’t sure how the author was going to pull off a pairing with Dane who has clearly been a playboy rodeo cowboy.  I shouldn’t have doubted her, she pulled it off beautifully.

Beatrix who has always seemed extremely simple and loving has been hiding a spine of steel from everyone, even those closest to her.  After all, living this way has allowed her to hide her vulnerable heart from any further heartbreak after she experienced a devastating loss as a teenager.  The image of the naive and fragile girl that she presented to even her closes friends have led them to believe that she is someone who needs to be protected, even from herself.   So when Bea finally sets her sights on heating up her relationship with Dane, her friends are certain that heartbreak lies ahead.

Dane’s life is no longer what he wants it to be.  After a bull-riding accident almost kills him, he has been laid up for months being babied by everyone he comes in contact with.   To say he’s a bit of an ass as a result would be an understatement.  Dane has spent so much of his life chasing being a rodeo star that he no longer knows who he is, all he knows is that he is now stuck in a life he didn’t want.

When Dane inadvertently gets a glimpse of Bea’s body combined with the real her, he realizes how wrong everyone including himself has been about Bea.  She’s determined and rather than battling those around her to make them see her points, she flows around any obstacles she encounters like water. Forceful and fluid the reality is that Bea always ends up accomplishing what she sets her mind to.  Dane quickly realizes that this new life with Bea is almost exactly what he has always needed, if only he can get her to accept one minor tweak with him returning to work in the rodeo circuit as an agent.

Can Bea trust that she will be enough for Dane in the long run when he entire childhood showed her that marriages are anything but permanent?  Or will she walk away breaking not just her own heart, but Dane’s as well in order to stay safe?  Pick up your copy of Unbroken Cowboy to find out.

Divider

Release Day Excerpt: Adonis Line by Dakota Gray

March 11, 2019 Excerpt, Uncategorized 0

Release Day Excerpt: Adonis Line by Dakota GrayAdonis Line by Dakota Gray
Published by Dakota Gray on March 11, 2019
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, African American, Erotica
Pages: 170
Source: the Author

I’m a saint. On paper.

I have a stable job as a personal trainer. My side hustle involves taking people out on hikes and pushing them to their limits. I love my friends and family equally.

Every now and again, I need the itch between my shoulder blades branded with scratch marks.

I’m haunted by that phantom ache when Nina Williams walks into my life to hire me for a hiking contest. Killer, dimpled smile, potty mouth, sharp mind and a confidence that makes me want to beg.

She doesn’t want to want me. Yet, with a past as complicated and dark as mine, we’re destined to cross every line she puts in place.

If I were truly a good guy, I would have wished her luck and turned her away.

But how can I? That nameless thing inside me that feeds on sex, adventure and the promise of redemption just got invited to play.

Dakota Gray, one of our favorite erotic romance authors has a new book releasing today and was kind of enough to share an excerpt with us.

______________________________________________________________________________

She bites her lip. “You’re interesting.”

I tread closer to her. “What does that mean?”

“It means I expected a jock. You’re not. Entirely.”

I laugh at the caveat. “Entirely?”

“You definitely think with your muscles sometimes.” She slips lower into the water. “Like right now.”

“What?”

She rolls her eyes. “You think I don’t notice how you’re moving closer to me, on the sly?”

Since I’m caught, I stop being sly. I get close enough her breasts bobs against my chest. “But what’s the thing surprising you?”

She drops one hand to my chest. “Your ambition. You made a name for yourself. People didn’t tell me to go to London-Berg gym. They said Tarek is the man you need. After knowing you for a few days, seeing how you work, I’m impressed.”

“You don’t sound like you want to be.”

She smiles at me. “Because you’re blocking my sunlight.”

And that’s when my like for her joins my lust of her. “Do you want me to move?”

The smile slips and she sighs. “I should.”

I rest my hands on the concrete behind her. “Should is a bad word. It stops you from doing all the fun things.”

Her chest rises faster. “I really want to tell myself sex with you once will be enough. It won’t be.”

“How about we just have fun for two weeks?”

“And then?”

“This is a road trip. You’ll be tired of me in a few days, anyway. After fourteen days, if you ever see me again, it’ll be too soon.”

“This is your pitch? This is how you’re going to talk me into sleeping with you?”

I cup her nape and wait for her to pull back or lean closer.  She tilts her head and moves closer. “No,” I finally answer her.

I catch her bottom lip between my teeth and pull back slowly. Her lips plump and turn much more tempting. And I wait.

“Better pitch,” she murmurs.

“Thought so.”

______________________________________________________________________________

*FANS SELF* Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of Adonis Line today.

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2SIIWSs 

iBooks: http://smarturl.it/Adonis_iBks 

Nook: http://smarturl.it/Adonis_Nook 

Google : http://smarturl.it/Adonis_GP

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/adonis-line

And if you’re new to the Perv series, book one in the series (PERV) is currently free. Happy reading!

Divider

Polaris Rising, Jessie Mihalik 5 stars

February 5, 2019 Boookluvr Reads 1

Polaris Rising, Jessie Mihalik 5 starsPolaris Rising by Jessie Mihalik
Published by HarperCollins on February 5, 2019
Genres: Fiction, Science Fiction, Space Opera, Action & Adventure, Romance
Pages: 448
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads

A space princess on the run and a notorious outlaw soldier become unlikely allies in this imaginative, sexy space opera adventure—the first in an exciting science fiction trilogy.

In the far distant future, the universe is officially ruled by the Royal Consortium, but the High Councillors, the heads of the three High Houses, wield the true power. As the fifth of six children, Ada von Hasenberg has no authority; her only value to her High House is as a pawn in a political marriage. When her father arranges for her to wed a noble from House Rockhurst, a man she neither wants nor loves, Ada seizes control of her own destiny. The spirited princess flees before the betrothal ceremony and disappears among the stars.

Ada eluded her father’s forces for two years, but now her luck has run out. To ensure she cannot escape again, the fiery princess is thrown into a prison cell with Marcus Loch. Known as the Devil of Fornax Zero, Loch is rumored to have killed his entire chain of command during the Fornax Rebellion, and the Consortium wants his head.

When the ship returning them to Earth is attacked by a battle cruiser from rival House Rockhurst, Ada realizes that if her jilted fiancé captures her, she’ll become a political prisoner and a liability to her House. Her only hope is to strike a deal with the dangerous fugitive: a fortune if he helps her escape.

But when you make a deal with an irresistibly attractive Devil, you may lose more than you bargained for . . .

Sometimes as a reviewer you know that you are going to have a hell of a time writing a review even as you are reading the book itself.  In my case there are various reasons that I may feel that way.  There is the dreaded ok books that I just feel meh about, the books I don’t finish because they were either so boring or so problematic that I don’t know what to say without sounding like a bitch, and then there are the books that are so awesome that I don’t even know what to say.  Polaris Rising was one of those awesome books.  Don’t get me wrong, that isn’t a complaint!  I loved every moment as a reader, but since I don’t think that it counts as a review to throw a book at random people on the street counts as a review I’ll give it a shot.

First a couple of confessions.  1) I typically struggle with the first book in a series.  So often the world building overshadows the story itself and since I am not emotionally invested in the characters yet there is nothing that sucks me in and keeps me there.  2) Until very recently I hadn’t read any SFR.  I don’t recall making a conscious decision not to read it necessarily, I just never sought it out I guess.  So when there were a couple of sci-fi romances recently that were getting some positive buzz on twitter, Polaris Rising being one of them, I decided to dip my toe into the genre.  *Steph – *snerk* she just needed to find the right gateway drug and this one definitely qualifies!  I’m posting a review as well so…  yeah…*

Polaris Rising is everything that the first book in a series should be.  While there was a lot of world building, the characters had thoughtful and compelling backstories that made me want to know more. Protagonists and antagonists alike have me over here clamoring for their book so that I can find out more about them.  And in a world where your public persona means everything, nothing is ever as straightforward as it seems.

If you imagine Game of Thrones in space, you would get an idea of the role that family plays in this world as well.  Power, politics and loyalty aren’t always compatible and Polaris Rising does a beautiful job demonstrating both sides of the knife that comes with those dynamics with both blood and found families.

The love story between Ada and Loch was delightful.  There’s nothing better than a big burly man who makes most people run away screaming getting all soft and possessive over a woman.  I think if I heard him drawl darling in real life I’d likely melt.

Perhaps the best endorsement I can give this book is that I would happily pick it up on read it again even though I just finished it.  While I know I haven’t done this book justice in my review, please consider this me throwing the book at you and begging you to read it.  You won’t be disappointed!

Divider

99 Percent Mine – Sally Thorne 4 stars

January 9, 2019 Boookluvr Reads, Uncategorized 1

99 Percent Mine – Sally Thorne 4 stars99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne
Published by HarperCollins on January 29, 2019
Genres: Fiction, Women, Romance, Contemporary, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads

Readers and critics alike raved over USA Today bestselling author Sally Thorne’s smash hit debut, The Hating Game, which has sold in over 20 countries. Now she’s back with an unforgettable romantic comedy about a woman who finally has a shot at her long time crush—if she dares.

Crush (n.): a strong and often short-lived infatuation, particularly for someone beyond your reach…

Darcy Barrett has undertaken a global survey of men. She’s travelled the world, and can categorically say that no one measures up to Tom Valeska, whose only flaw is that Darcy’s twin brother Jamie saw him first and claimed him forever as his best friend. Despite Darcy’s best efforts, Tom’s off limits and loyal to her brother, 99%. That’s the problem with finding her dream man at age eight and peaking in her photography career at age twenty—ever since, she’s had to learn to settle for good enough.

When Darcy and Jamie inherit a tumble-down cottage from their grandmother, they’re left with strict instructions to bring it back to its former glory and sell the property. Darcy plans to be in an aisle seat halfway across the ocean as soon as the renovations start, but before she can cut and run, she finds a familiar face on her porch: house-flipper extraordinaire Tom’s arrived, he’s bearing power tools, and he’s single for the first time in almost a decade.

Suddenly Darcy’s considering sticking around to make sure her twin doesn’t ruin the cottage’s inherent magic with his penchant for grey and chrome. She’s definitely not staying because of her new business partner’s tight t-shirts, or that perfect face that's inspiring her to pick up her camera again. Soon sparks are flying—and it’s not the faulty wiring. It turns out one percent of Tom’s heart might not be enough for Darcy anymore. This time around, she’s switching things up. She’s going to make Tom Valeska 99 percent hers.

This next hilarious romance includes a special PS section with two Happily Ever Afters—one for this novel featuring Darcy and Tom and the other, an epilogue featuring fan favorites Lucy Hutton and Josh Templeman from The Hating Game!

How many books have you read that had small elements that drove you crazy and pulled you out of the story?  Have you ever ended up loving a book despite the things that were jumping on your last nerve while you were reading?   Up until I read 99 Percent Mine I hadn’t and I honestly didn’t believe it was possible.

Let’s start with what drove me crazy.  I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of 99 Percent Mine from Edelweiss which means some of this may be different between the ARC and the final copy.  As such, I will be specifically addressing the ARC copy that I read.

  1. There was some serious repetitive use of phrasing in this book.  so help me if I had to hear the heroine repeat her thoughts about being in a bubble one more time I was going to strangle her.
  2. This was a contemporary romance yet the Darcy continually has thoughts of Tom being a wolf.  Once or twice I wouldn’t have noticed but it was enough that my brain was wrapped around it.  Was this book suddenly going to morph into a PNR? It just felt out of place.
  3. Some general wording and transitioning was awkward and confusing.  Multiple times I found myself reading over a couple paragraphs three times trying to figure out what was happening.

So as you can see, there were plenty of irritants for me, but you know what… I also couldn’t put the book down.  I enjoyed the story so much that those things were secondary.  I loved Tom, he was just so swoon worthy.  A true gentle giant who never understood his own worth and is so determined to make everyone else happy.  He and Darcy had chemistry though the roof and you couldn’t help but understand why they were in love with each other for their entire lives.  You can’t help but root for them from the minute Tom arrives on the scene.  This of course means that you want to punch Darcy’s twin brother Jamie in the face throughout most of the book.  The author perfectly captured the dynamic that exists between siblings in this book.  I felt every moment of exasperation clear as day.

I was pleasantly surprised that this wasn’t as much of a slow burn romance as Thorne’s last book.  I was impatient for the characters to have sex as it was and would have lost my mind if it took forever.

I hope this is the start of a series and that we get to see Jamie and his secret crush find their way next.

Divider