Posts Categorized: eBook

Divider

Haven – Rebekah Weatherspoon – 3 stars

May 17, 2017 NetGalley 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Haven – Rebekah Weatherspoon – 3 starsHaven on April 25, 2017
Pages: 228
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

The first in a new series from award-winning author Rebekah Weatherspoon...

A week-long getaway...
City girl Claudia Cade's carefree life is plunged into chaos when a camping trip with her brother in the national forests of Northern California turns into a deadly dash for her survival.

A solitary world turned upside down...
Nature photographer Shepard Olsen has resigned himself to a quiet existence, with only his dog by his side, until a woman in need of his protection shows up on his doorstep and throws his universe into disarray.

Two lives linked by tragedy...
Claudia is desperate to heal from her traumatic loss, but can’t stop thinking about her run-in with evil….or the grizzled mountain man whose quick thinking and good aim saved her life. When she shows up on Shep's doorstep again, she finds she isn't the only one who can't move on.

… saved by bliss.
The two begin an intense, passionate relationship of Dominance and submission, pleasure and pain, but with dark memories haunting them and decisions about the future rapidly approaching, Claudia can’t help but wonder...how long can they be each other's haven?

*** WARNING: This book contains a sexual relationship between a fashionista and a cranky mountain man who are dealing with physical and emotional trauma. And a very big, cuddly dog.***

I admittedly am running late on finishing this title but I am glad that I finally had a chance to finish it.  The challenge is I didn’t love it as much as I had hoped.  I struggled a bit with the idea of their connection and while it didn’t completely pull me out of the story…  there was enough there to make me question things which led to this lower rating.  I will want to read more by Rebekah as this is my first from her but I didn’t completely love this one.

I did absolutely ADORE our gruff, to the point hero.  Shepard had me thinking all sorts of naughty thoughts and I’d gladly submit to a Dom with his kind of treatment.  He’s got his own demons but he didn’t hide them.  He’s open in so many ways but he likes his privacy and being where he is.  I wish I could say that I was that centered but he found his home even after the mess with his parents.  I also wanted to slap his ex because no one deserves that kind of treatment.  If you can’t handle something from your partner, OWN THE FUCK UP TO IT… don’t blab their business everywhere like the issue is with them.  I know there are exceptions but for the issue in this case.  Yeah, not down with her behavior.

So… if I liked the hero so damn much why did I have an issue with the book?  Well, it has to do with the heroine… I liked her but… didn’t love her.  I got what she was dealing with, I really did.  I did…  I promise I did but she does something that I’m not as fond of.  She survived an attack that killed her brother, she has a ton of therapy that she needs but isn’t embracing (therapist didn’t mesh) and a host of other things but then she goes back to where everything happened and gets involved with Shepard who saved her.  Yeah, that’s messed up in a lot of respects..  but the thing that bothered me was she wasn’t honest with herself or him.  I get it… I do but that sort of hit me badly.  Yeah, probably because I adored Shep and wanted him to be treated the way he deserves but that’s just the way it hit me.  Now… you need to read the book to see what happens but I was actually quite happy with the ending.

I think that while I did have issues there is enough there that makes me want to keep reading more from Ms. Weatherspoon and that’s a great thing!  I love finding new authors to read and follow!

three-stars

Divider

Slow Burn Cowboy – Maisey Yates – 3.5 stars

May 12, 2017 Harlequin, NetGalley 2

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Slow Burn Cowboy – Maisey Yates – 3.5 starsSlow Burn Cowboy by Maisey Yates
Published by HQN Books on May 1st 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Western, Contemporary, General
Pages: 384
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

In Copper Ridge, Oregon, a cowboy's best friend might turn out to be the woman of his dreams…

If Finn Donnelly makes a plan, he sticks to it. After his brothers left Copper Ridge, Finn stayed behind, determined to keep their ranch going by himself. And when he realized his feelings for Lane Jensen were more than platonic, he shoved that inconvenient desire away. It was easy…until it wasn't. Suddenly his brothers are coming home to claim their share of the property. And Lane is no longer just in his fantasies. She's in his arms, and their friendship is on the line…

He's been her buddy, her handyman, her rock. But until that one breathtaking kiss, Lane somehow overlooked the most important thing about Finn Donnelly—he's all man. They're right together, no matter how much his volatile past has bruised him. Finn wants to hold Lane's body, but he doesn't want to hold her heart. But Lane is falling fast and now she's got a plan of her own…to show Finn there's nothing hotter than friendship turned to slow-burning love.

Also includes a bonus Copper Ridge novel, Take Me, Cowboy!

Finn Donnelly likes control, so when his entire life is turned upside down he begins to unravel.   Finn has spent the last 20 years working on the Laughing Irish Ranch with his grandfather, so when his grandfather passes away he can’t for the life of him understand why his grandfather didn’t leave the ranch only to him.  Instead the ranch was left in equal shares to Finn and his three brothers.  Finn is at a loss as to why his grandfather did this to him since his brothers haven’t ever been involved in the ranch.  Still, Finn has a plan.  He’s certain his brothers don’t really want to work on the ranch, so he will just buy out their portion and send them on their way.  Well we all know what they say about best-laid plans.

When Finn finds out things aren’t going to go quite the way he planned, he also discovers that his willpower to keep his hands off his best friend Lane Jensen isn’t quite what it used to be.   He’s spent years wanting Lane but kept his desire in check by reminding himself that she was too young for him and it wasn’t worth risking the most important relationship in his life by changing the rules.   Finn’s not cut out for relationships and certainly not marriage material but maybe he and Lane can both get what they need out of their friendship if they add a physical element to it.

 

Lane Jensen came to Copper Ridge at 16 to live with her brother Mark and put her painful past behind her.  She’s built a life she’s happy with and believes she’s moved on until she comes face to face with her past when her ex-boyfriend is suddenly all over the television.  Now every time she turns around she feels like she’s facing reminders of her past and is suddenly questioning the life she’s built.  As if that wasn’t enough, now Finn is trying to change everything about their relationship.  Doesn’t he realize that he’s the most important person in her life?  She isn’t about to let him risk their friendship when she needs him the most.  The problem is that now that she see’s Finn for the hot cowboy that he is, she can’t seem to stop fantasizing about him.

I enjoyed watching both Finn and Lane work through the demons of their past and being forced to reevaluate what they wanted from their futures.  I could relate to struggling with having to evaluate what you were worth or capable of after a less than ideal childhood.  I think this story worked so well because given the issues that both Finn and Lane had, the only way they were going to work through them rather than running away was with each other because nobody else mattered enough that they would stick around when things got uncomfortable.

I am really looking forward to learning more about Finn’s brothers Cain, Alex and Liam.  But then, who doesn’t love a whole new group of sexy cowboys.  I have a feeling the other Donnelly men are going to have some very diverse and emotional backstories.

 

three-half-stars

Divider

Silence Fallen – Patricia Briggs – 5 stars

April 28, 2017 Uncategorized 1

Silence Fallen – Patricia Briggs – 5 starsSilence Fallen Published by Ace on 03/07/17
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 379
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

In the #1 New York Times bestselling Mercy Thompson novels, the coyote shapeshifter has found her voice in the werewolf pack. But when Mercy’s bond with the pack—and her mate—is broken, she’ll learn what it truly means to be alone...

Attacked and abducted in her home territory, Mercy finds herself in the clutches of the most powerful vampire in the world, taken as a weapon to use against alpha werewolf Adam and the ruler of the Tri-Cities vampires. In coyote form, Mercy escapes—only to find herself without money, without clothing, and alone in the heart of Europe...

Unable to contact Adam and the rest of the pack, Mercy has allies to find and enemies to fight, and she needs to figure out which is which. Ancient powers stir, and Mercy must be her agile best to avoid causing a war between vampires and werewolves, and between werewolves and werewolves. And in the heart of the ancient city of Prague, old ghosts rise...

The Mercy Thompson series was the first Urban Fantasy series that I ever read and I instantly fell in love with both the series and the genre.   I loved that Mercy was such a strong heroine with just the right amount of sass (the thought of her car facing Adam’s house still cracks me up).  As sometimes happens with a series though, the series started heading in a direction that I didn’t enjoy as much.  The books felt less thought out, the situations a bit contrived and characters who I loved previously I suddenly wanted to hit over the head (I’m looking at you Adam).  For these reasons combined with the price of the book,  I wasn’t in a hurry to pick this one up but I did eventually break down and buy it.  Thankfully Silence Fallen ended up exactly what I loved about the early books in the series.

Silence Fallen was a thriller from the very first chapter.  Mercy wakes up and finds herself in a locked in freezer with two vampires.   One of them is no other than The Lord of the Night, who decides to kidnap Mercy after Wulfe tell’s him that she was the most powerful person in the Tri-Cities.  As difficult as Mercy’s past struggles have been with vampires, she knows that Bonarata is in a league of his own and there is no way that he’s going to let her live.  In true Mercy fashion, the minute that opportunity presents itself, she escapes.  Unfortunately this doesn’t improve her circumstances much as Mercy realizes she is half way across the world without even a stitch of clothing, let alone money or the means to reach her pack.

Adam know’s that something has happened to Mercy when he feels her pain, but when their mate bond is silent he has no way of knowing where she is or how to help her.  When Marsilla reaches out to Adam after receiving an email from Bonarata, he is forced into a partnership with people he doesn’t necessarily trust to try to bring Mercy home safely.   Adam sets off to Europe with Honey, Marsilla, Stefan, Elizaveta, Larry the Goblin King and two supernatural pilots in the hopes that he can depend on those with him enough to save Mercy.  As if that wasn’t enough, Adam must deal with Bonarata diplomatically in order to keep his family and friends safe when all he really wants to do is tear him limb from limb from limb.

I was surprised to enjoy the perspective and timeline shifts from chapter to chapter in this book because I expected the fact it wasn’t linear to be distracting and confusing but the chapter introductions prevented that from being the case.

My favorite scenes from this book:

  • The escape scene as a whole.  I loved the thought process that Mercy was going through in her mind and that she didn’t hesitate to act as soon as she had the chance
  • A certain someone getting hit by a bus, seriously that was epic!
  • The scenes with Jitka.  What can I say, I love more strong female wolves who have found their place high up in the hierarchy.
  • The fact we got to see that Mercy is still struggling with events from her past was important.  As strong as she is, those feelings don’t just magically go away and it’s important to represent that.
  • The Matt Smith twist… I didn’t think there was anything odd happening but it made so much sense once the twist was revealed.
  • The unlikely partnership of both the Tri-Cities group gives me hope that we will get to see more unlikely partnerships in the future.  Something tells me The Lord of the Night isn’t gone and based on his convoluted plots, Adam and Mercy will need all the help they can get.

 

five-stars

Divider

Need a new PNR Series/Author – Nikki Winter Book Giveaway!

March 8, 2017 Contest, Need New Glom Author, PNR 4

Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased

Hi, my name is Bobbie and I’m a PNR addict.  I’ve been reading PNR for a long time so it sometimes feels like I’ve read everything written in that genre *shoves TBR pile underneath a blanket*,  so when I find a new author or series that I really enjoy I want to shout it from the rooftops!

In February of last year I read an article written by Ericka Brooks from The Book Pushers and one of the books she discussed was Beastly Passions (The Verochka Pride Book 2) by Nikki Winter.  I hadn’t read anything by the author before and I was intrigued by the description of the book so off I went to check out Nikki’s website to find out the name of the first book in the Verochka Pride series and see what other series she had.

I ended up reading every book available in both the Verchka Pride and Wilde Side series over the next week.   Both series featured strong female characters, hot men who adore their women and laugh out loud humor.  The combination has made both of these series an addition to my comfort reads and any future paranormal by Nikki Winter an auto buy for me.

If you enjoy Shelly Laurenston, G. A. Aiken or Darynda Jones should absolutely give either of these series a try!

To get people started I will be giving away 3 digital copies from Amazon of any book by Nikki Winter.  To enter just leave a comment below telling me your favorite PNR series.  Contest ends on 3/14/2017 at 11:59 pm US Central.  

Happy Reading!

 

 

Divider

Year of the Scorpio: Parts 1 & 2 – Stacy Gail – 4 stars

March 3, 2017 Read in 2017 1

Year of the Scorpio: Parts 1 & 2 – Stacy Gail – 4 starsYear of the Scorpio: Part 1 by Stacy Gail
on October 16, 2016
Pages: 311
Format: eBook
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars
five-flames

***TRIGGER WARNING: This is a DARK mafia romance. In addition to several scenes with strong sexual content, there are also scenes involving violence, death, gun play, mention of sexual abuse, and adult language. Due to the nature of this book, it is intended for 18+ audiences only***

They call me Dash.

Sixteen years ago my brother and I were kidnapped. The Scorpeones believed our father, boss of the Vitaliev Bratva, could be pressured into relinquishing his hold on Chicago’s underworld.

They were dead wrong.

Ultimately the Scorpeones made the youngest of their family pay for their sins. I tried not to care. Marco Polo Scorpeone, the hostage whose life was forfeit if his family moved on the Vitalievs, was the enemy. Why should I care if he was tortured worse than a prisoner of war?

Except I did care.

For sixteen years I’ve cared, more than I can say.

They call me Scorpio.

There was no light in my world. Then I saw Dash smile.

No voice could pierce my darkness. Then I heard Dash speak.

I’ve killed to survive. Killed to please my handler. Hell, I’ve killed to please myself. Killing is what I do.

I know I’m not good enough for Dash, but it doesn’t matter. What matters is that she’s mine, from now until the end of time. But that time might be nearer than I think, because someone deadlier than me is closing in…

109,000 words

Author’s Note: This is the first half of a two-part story arc. YEAR OF THE SCORPIO: PART ONE ends on a cliffhanger, which will be concluded in YEAR OF THE SCORPIO: PART TWO. You have been warned.

Year of the Scorpio: Parts 1 & 2 – Stacy Gail – 4 starsYear of the Scorpio: Part Two by Stacy Gail
on February 11, 2017
Pages: 322
Format: eBook
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars
five-flames

***TRIGGER WARNING: This is a MAFIA romance. In addition to several scenes with strong sexual content, there are also scenes involving violence, death, gun play, mention of sexual abuse, and adult language. Due to the nature of this book, it is intended for 18+ audiences only***

My name is Dash.

The Vitaliev Bratva had always been a part of my life, but I was never a part of it. My father built it from the ground up, and while he never hid what the family business was, he never wanted my life to be tainted by it.

But my father forgot one thing.

I’m also a Vitaliev.

Everything I hold dear has been targeted since my father’s death—my business, my friends, and the peaceful world I’ve built for myself. But it wasn’t until the love of my life, Polo Scorpeone, was struck down by a sniper’s bullet that I realized being a Vitaliev isn’t a curse. It’s a strength.

I will face my hidden enemy with the Vitaliev fire of old, and I’ll do it with the most powerful lethal weapon Chicago’s underworld has ever known by my side.

Come to find out, the legendary Scorpio is hard to kill.

108,000 words

Author’s Note: This is the second half of a two-part story arc. YEAR OF THE SCORPIO: PART TWO takes place immediately after the end of YEAR OF THE SCORPIO: PART ONE. If you haven’t read YEAR OF THE SCORPIO: PART ONE, you’re literally getting only half the story. You have been warned.

So… what happens when you work a job that isn’t a 40 hour a week, leave work at work… and you go to school… and you’d sort of like to have a life… well you get a very starved for time book lover who waits until after both books are out to finally get to read a story she was teased with while it was a work in progress. Yes, this was cruelty by both the author (yeah I see you Stacy) and a fellow blogger (yep E I know you are right there with Stacy) but I adore them both so I took it. I am happy to say that the story does not disappoint and in some respects I was smarter (HA!) than both my tormentors as I didn’t have to wait between titles to get the rest of the story.

Dash and Polo are both amazing characters who fight so hard to be something other than what was expected of them. They both lived through unimaginable horror as children and those scars will not go away completely but together they are a force to be reckoned with. In book one we get to understand Dash with a side-view of Polo but what we get to know of her makes him shine even more.  She’s strong and is very protective of those around her.  She is so used to keeping her walls up that normally people can’t get close to her.  She has her inner circle and watching her struggle to come to terms with what happens in the first story kept me turning pages.  I enjoyed seeing her realize what Polo wanted then reach for what she needed from him even as things blow up around them.  She made me laugh a bit as she was so damn confused by the “is he saying or hinting at what I think he’s hinting at?” and her interactions with her bodyguard/bestest buddy were heartwarming.  I liked her and especially liked her as we get to know her in book two.  Her strength is incredible.

Polo… yeah… he’s ummmmmm intense… yep yep yep… that’s the word… INTENSE.  He’s so devoted to Dash that it hurts but everything he does has one goal – KEEP DASH SAFE.  He makes mistakes but his heart is truly in the right place because she is his entire world.  He’s very focused so seeing him get distracted by her is fun but he will not make the same  mistake twice.  I enjoyed him immensely and would happily read more about his past, his future, and I mean anything that comes out with him in it.  You’ll get to understand him so much more in book two and watch some of the past get resolved as the story evolves.

I also have to say the chance to see Sass and Rude again made me so damn happy!  I love getting to see more of characters in later stories and this was a chance to understand more of what has happened since we last saw those guys.

Also..  Stacy… ummmm… you or Shannon owe us a “yep yep yep” sex scene although in Shannon’s case it would be a “yep yep yep” OF DOOM sex scene….

*snicker*

 

four-stars

Divider