Author: Vivian Arend

Divider

Let It Ride – Vivian Arend – 5 stars

May 26, 2015 Read in 2015, Sent 0

I received this book for free from the Author . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Let It Ride – Vivian Arend – 5 starsLet It Ride by Vivian Arend
Published by NLA Digital LLC on 2015-05-19
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance, Western
Pages: 187
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

He’s her rock in the midst of the storm

When Maggie Ward’s world is torn apart by sudden tragedy, the only thing that makes her days bearable is Clay Thompson’s unwavering presence. He’s protective, caring, and everything she could ask for in a friend. But when she finds herself longing for more than friendship, it will take a little seduction to convince the stubborn mechanic she’s ready to start living again.

She’s his heart, whether he knows it or not

Clay Thompson’s got the taking-care-of-others business down pat, only he’s never faced this particular challenge before—the one woman he’s always wanted is unexpectedly his to care for. Suddenly it's not just responsibility driving him, but a wild desire to make Maggie truly his. But following his heart might mean sacrificing the family he’s held together for years.

Tissue Warning on this one!!!

I have to say you will need them at the beginning and again as things come to a head but…  this story is so worth the pain.  There is something about the pair and how they truly do find a match in one another which honestly is true to what some people experience in their lives.  While the beginning was a bit brutal the love that they share made up for the pain.

Maggie has had everything collapse around her but the one thing she counts on is her friendship with Clay.  She’s strong and definitely hurting but I loved her dedication to living life and not hiding from everything that has happened.  You’ll love her willingness to admit when she needs help but also love that she doesn’t always need it.  She is strong and she’ll need to be in order to prove to everyone that she’s the best match for a strong man.  While not everyone will approve of their relationship I think that it was perfect and quite honestly where she needed to be.  Her willingness to open her heart back up to a man who meant so much to her and her past was wonderful to see but also to see that she truly saw him as his own person made me happiest.  She isn’t trying to replace what she had but is reaching for life again where she’s happy and whole.

Clay was amazing.  He’s so strong and caring that you’ll adore him as he struggles with doing what he thinks is right and taking what he wants.  Once he makes his mind up well….  actually hmmmmmm Maggie made it damn hard for him to stay “honorable” which is what he needed in order to be hers.  He’s also very family driven and what happens in this story made me mad for him and had my heart break a bit.  This moment doesn’t diminish the story in any way but makes it very clear what he wants and needs.  I enjoyed seeing his care and concern for Maggie with regards to sentiment in town but honestly she’s strong enough and to see her call him on his ways made me smile.  I also enjoyed that the one thing that could’ve kept them apart is what made them strong enough to reach for what was in front of them.

You get two strong people who have been brought to their knees by tragedy but where they end up is a beautiful place with a bit of trouble along the way…  I loved this story and can’t wait for more….

five-stars

Divider

Rocky Mountain Romance – Vivian Arend – 4.5 stars

January 15, 2015 Read in 2015, Sent 1

I received this book for free from the Author . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Rocky Mountain Romance – Vivian Arend – 4.5 starsRocky Mountain Romance by Vivian Arend
on 2014-10-21
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica, Fiction, Romance, Western
Source: the Author
Rocky Mountain Romance (Six Pack Ranch Book 7)<img src="http://ir-na.amazon-adsystem.com/e/ir?t=booaholano0c-20&l=as2&o=1&a=B00MS7HIQ2" target="_blank">Buy on Amazon
four-half-stars

~~**From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Vivian Arend.**~~

Second chances are the sweetest—and the hottest.

It took a spectacularly embarrassing break-up to knock Steve Moonshine Coleman off his lazy butt. In the ten months since that night, he’s changed his ways. Now that Melody’s back in town, it’s time for this sweet-talking cowboy to convince her to get back in the saddle with him.

A return to her veterinary position in Rocky Mountain House was always in the cards for Melody Langley. Getting back together with Steve? Never part of the plan. He had lots of potential but zero ambition, and there’s no way she’ll accept anything less than a man who can keep up with her, in and out of bed.

But the new-and-improved cowboy is impossible to resist, so Melody issues a challenge. Three months to prove he’s reformed. Three months of Steve orchestrating one sexual indulgence after another—‪wicked distractions from the old boys’ club Melody faces at work and Steve's growing responsibilities‬.

He’s got one shot to prove with more than words what’s in his heart and soul.

Warning: Fifty percent less angst, twice as much filthy-talking, dirty-daring cowboy. Get ready for a whole lot of make-your-knees-weak wooing from a man intent on proving he’s got what it takes, and the woman ready to push him way past his limits.

I hate that it took me so long to read this book but when I did…  as usual..  I loved it.  Vivian has a way with making you love her cowboys and appreciate the strength that her heroines have.  Both of the characters have vulnerabilities and the way you get to know them as the story progresses makes you cheer louder when they finally get everything together.

Melody is back where she considers home and doing what she loves best, taking care of animals, but she also is back where she had her heart broken.  Well maybe not broken but hurt by someone that meant more to her than he knew or seemed to feel about her.  She’s determined to not let him mean anything to her now so why is she driving in to town via roads that are on his family’s land?  She gets to see him much sooner than she expected and is trying to convince herself that he doesn’t make her want to do all sorts of things with him (which I heartily agree with) but she’s surprised by his more mature behavior.  I liked that she was cautious with him but that she also let him in even as other things were getting crazy.  She’s strong but open to letting things fall where they may and doesn’t tend to let the little things throw her.  I also appreciated that she wasn’t willing to be a doormat but also didn’t immediately fly off the handle at situations she was placed in.  She takes her time and evaluates the situation then tries to take the path that will support change but not offend and allow everyone to save face.  She also is willing to admit to her own shortcomings when push comes to shove and that was appreciated.

Steve admits he was a bit of a child when he and Melody imploded.  He didn’t take things too seriously but now he’s changed and realized that he may have lost the one woman who was/is his world.  He’s not too proud to admit that he made mistakes but he wants a chance to prove he’s not the same boy that she knew.  He’s grown up and is all man now but he’s a man who wants a partner.  He doesn’t want it to be all about him but all about them and what they can build.  He is extremely happy when Melody returns and starts his campaign to get her to give them another chance as soon as he sees her.  What we get to see is a hero that will do all in his power to prove to his heroine that he is it for her.  I loved his family and their “assistance” but mainly that he was willing to listen to those around him to really figure out what Melody needed and wanted from him.  He listens to her but at times it does take a third party to open his eyes to what it could look like to her.  I liked how willing he was to admit to his mistakes and try to fix them by opening his mind up to other opinions but mainly that he listened to her when he was making plans for them.

I hope you will give this series a shot as it has been such a wonderful set of stories centered around a family that truly knows what it means to work, love and enjoy life.

four-half-stars

Divider

Moon Shine – Vivian Arend – 4.5 stars

May 29, 2014 Read in 2014, Sent 1

I received this book for free from the Author . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Moon Shine – Vivian Arend – 4.5 starsMoon Shine by Vivian Arend
Published by Samhain Publishing on 2014-05-27
Genres: Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 276
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

When the past hurts, it bites. Takhini Wolves, Book 4Meet Evan Stone. Laid-back, in-control Alpha of the Takhini Wolves. Life’s not perfect, but he’s got a good handle on his world. At least, he did—until the night he ends up in jail, soaking wet and wondering what the hell just happened. The “what” is Amy Ryba, a vengeful female who’s decided it’s long past time to make Evan pay for his sins. Amy has spent years tracking him down, and the last nine months working in secret to destroy him. She’s ready for anything—except discovering the shifter she hates is her mate. Suddenly, Evan’s not so very in control, of himself or his pack. And unless Amy can learn to forgive and forget, she’ll have to do the unthinkable: reject her mate. With two packs watching, one thing is certain. Their personal issues won’t stay personal for long. If Amy and Evan can’t find a way to work together, there won’t be a happily-ever-after for them...or any of the wolves of Whitehorse. Warning: Contains angsty wolves. Lots of angsty wolves causing explosions of all sorts, playing bad pranks, hacking computers, and having angry sex against a wall or two. Not all at the same time, though, because that would be silly.

This review is very hard for me to write as I don’t want to give away everything but at the same time that is the only way I can get across how much I loved this story.

I’m going to try to summarize why this was an awesome read and not give away too much but I will ask that everyone reading this story –  KEEP AN OPEN MIND ABOUT AMY!!!  I know many are disappointed in the fact that Evan is not ending up with Caroline but believe me if you truly keep an open mind about Amy you will understand why she is the only one that could make our precious Evan happy and whole.  She really does match him so well even when you have moments of doubt while reading this please step back and think about both of their actions over the series…  even when we didn’t know who she was…

My niggle with this story and the only thing that bothered me was Evan isn’t his normal man-child self during it but this is what made it real to me and to the characters…  He needed to be pushed out of his comfort zone in order to become the man he is by the end of the book.  I wish we had a bit more time to see the two of them settled so maybe Vivian will give that to us later…  *HINT HINT*  He’s off-kilter most of this story as his long-term plans for his pack and the other in town become more complicated than he ever imagined.  He also has to deal with a series of catastrophes without his trusty Caroline to handle them and this throws him even more off his normal game than even knowing his mate is out there somewhere.  When he meets Amy and discovers she is his mate he has to scramble to figure out what he needs to do in order to be who she needs him to be.  I loved the honor that is innate in him and wanted to shake him at times as his stubborn ways would not see what she was trying to tell him.  As he loses control of his pack and self you feel the pain but if you keep yourself open to what is going on around him you can see why this had to be so painful for him and her.  He takes what she is willing to give him but he is in pain with the need for her driving him to make major changes in his life.  The outcome of this pain is so beyond wonderful and the Evan that emerges from it is more amazing than the one that went in to it which made me very happy!

Amy is extremely complicated and as much as I know many will be wanting her blood because of the pain she puts Evan thru I also know that she was hurting just as badly.  She has reasons behind her actions and those aren’t perfect but are understandable.  You’ll love her heart and soul as she works so hard to take care of those in her pack while at the same time coming to terms with Evan.  She’s just as shocked by finding him to be her mate and watching her heart struggle with this news was just as painful.  She makes very valid points to him about life in general and just wants him to be open to her ideas.  She aches for love and acceptance which makes her willing to potentially do the unthinkable thing of rejecting her mate.  Vivian does a great job showing her struggles which helped me soften towards this complicated woman with her own wily ways that are in many respects Evan times 1000…  LOL  Add to this her own past that intersects our beloved Evan’s and we get a very complex, strong woman who is his match in ways that Caroline couldn’t be.  This is a great story of two very complicated people finding out what they need is the last person they ever expected it with.

I hated seeing the struggles these two had and the repercussions for their packs but in the end it is what was needed to give two amazing people their HEA.  I am sad to see this series come to an end but know that Evan and Amy are in a strong place to allow their people to grow, be happy and live wonderful lives!

Special thanks to Vivian Arend for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.  Now…  when do we get more BEARS????  Oh… and DRAGONS!!!!!

four-half-stars

Divider

Baby, Be Mine – Vivian Arend – 5 stars

February 24, 2014 Read in 2014, Sent 0

I received this book for free from the Author . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Baby, Be Mine – Vivian Arend – 5 starsBaby, Be Mine by Vivian Arend
Published by Samhain Publishing on 2014-02-25
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 177
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

What the mind forgets, the heart remembers. A Thompson & Sons StorySince the moment Katy Thompson transformed from annoying tagalong to desirable woman, Gage Jenick has awaited his chance. When she kicks her boyfriend to the curb, he doesn’t hold back—in spite of the next-day work assignment that will take him completely off the grid for two long months. After a head injury sustained on a storm-swept road, Katy can’t remember her own email password, much less how the little pink “positive” on the pregnancy stick got there. Barring an influx of midi-chlorians, she’s at a loss to explain what happened, or when...or with whom. Suddenly Gage is back in her life as if he has a right to be there. While she vividly remembers the crush she had on him, she’s no one’s charity case. But another thing she’d forgotten was just how stubborn Gage can be—especially when her domineering ex tries to stake a claim...Warning. An unforgettable night that gets forgotten. A crazy redneck ex, and a hero who’s ready to take on the world, and his past, for his heroine.

Once again Vivian gets me to *sigh* and adore her writing.  This one was just a wonderful story of love, understanding and trust that will make you happy sniffle while reading it.

Gage finally has his moment to get what he’s wanted for years.  Katy is finally single and he can now make the move he’s been wanting to make since the first time he realized she was more than just his friend’s little sister.  Of course the thing that really sucks is he is leaving the next day to head to the oil fields for 6 months but he has to take his chance now and hope that she feels the same way about him.  They have their moment and the next morning he leaves to work but doesn’t know what happens at home as that same day he’s offered a chance to take a 2 month remote job which means he can get home much earlier to live the life he never thought with the woman who has always mattered.

Katy has spent the past two months recuperating from an accident that left her with no memory of the night she shared with Gage but a pregnancy that she didn’t expect and because of the accident doesn’t know who the father is.  When Gage comes back in to her life she has no clue that they made plans to be together and isn’t seeing his interest in her as anything other than one of pity.  She puts Gage in his place and is determined to do it on her own and in her own fashion but her psycho ex is also trying to say that the child is his.  She’s strong but feels like such a failure that because of the accident she can’t remember anything nor can she complete tasks that to most people would be easy.

The relationship between Gage and Katy has some of the most steamy times but also there is so much pain and longing as they try to work on making something real while things conspire against them.  You see how much Gage wants to control everything and make it all easy for his love but really does temper his need for her by letting her set the pace.  He tries to barrel through everything in the beginning but really does learn from his mistakes and owns them.  He just wants her nothing more and seeing this strong man be so willing to put himself out there for her was just…  *sigh*  Katy also owns up to her mistakes and understands that he is working so hard to be what she needs but also let her be strong on her own two feet.  She’s there for Gage as things spiral out of their control and seeing her faith in him when he needs it most was sniffle-worthy.

This is a quick read and one that has me ready not only for more of this pair but to see what we have in store with the rest of the Thompsons.  Thanks to Vivian Arend for giving me the chance to read this early!!  Keep em coming cause you know I’ll read anything you throw my way….  and yes I adore her but she has no say in what I think of her writing nor did she have a say in this review.  🙂

five-stars

Divider