Author: Tiffany Reisz

Divider

The Night Mark – Tiffany Reisz – 4 stars

March 27, 2017 Mira, NetGalley, Read in 2017 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Night Mark – Tiffany Reisz – 4 starsThe Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz
Published by Mira Books on March 28th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Historical, Literary, Romance, 20th Century
Pages: 400
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

From the bestselling author of The Bourbon Thief comes a sweeping tale of loss and courage, where one woman discovers that her destiny is written in sand, not carved in stone.

Faye Barlow is drowning. After the death of her beloved husband, Will, she cannot escape her grief and most days can barely get out of bed. But when she's offered a job photographing South Carolina's storied coast, she accepts. Photography, after all, is the only passion she has left.

In the quaint beach town, Faye falls in love again when she sees the crumbling yet beautiful Bride Island lighthouse and becomes obsessed with the legend surrounding The Lady of the Light—the keeper's daughter who died in a mysterious drowning in 1921. Like a moth to a flame, Faye is drawn to the lighthouse for reasons she can't explain. While visiting it one night, she is struck by a rogue wave and a force impossible to resist drags Faye into the past—and into a love story that is not her own.

Fate is changeable. Broken hearts can mend. But can she love two men separated by a lifetime?

I find myself a bit torn with this book.  I quite enjoyed it but I am struggling with explaining why it resonated with me.  This is definitely a different style of writing by an author who I have enjoyed getting to read and meet but it still resonates as a Tiffany Reisz story even without the sexual content.

We get to see a woman who hasn’t been herself in years.  She’s at a huge crossroads where life is not really something she cares to embrace but at the same time she does have a very strong spirit that pulls her forward no matter how much another part of her wants to let go.  I felt for her as we are introduced to her at a moment where she finally lets some things go.  I found myself intrigued by the idea of having someone that meant so much to you in such a short time.  I also felt for the fact that the man she married out of grief? obligation? comfort?  had to suffer as well.  Neither of them deserved what happened but I will say that the reader can rest assured as the story is told and resolved for them.

The time travel aspect was something I wasn’t certain that I’d enjoy but I found myself comfortably following the story line as we moved from now to then and back again.  There was a sense of continuity in both timelines that wouldn’t exist had we not done the jumps.  I also loved the priest who made me laugh with his humor and candor.  I think the underlying theme is one of hope in the face of adversity and that having the love of your life stolen from you way too soon does not mean life is over.  I think that this story highlights that love can happen again if one is very lucky and open to the chance.

I’m rambling and I know I am but this underscores why I am struggling with explaining this book.  I can just say that I quite enjoyed it and hope that others will give this a chance.  I hope you are drawn in to the story and want to know how it all works out.

four-stars

Divider

The Bourbon Thief – Tiffany Reisz – 4 stars

June 29, 2016 NetGalley, Read in 2016 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Bourbon Thief – Tiffany Reisz – 4 starsThe Bourbon Thief by Tiffany Reisz
Published by Mira on June 28, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary Women, Family Life, Literary, General, Romance, Historical
Pages: 400
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

From the internationally celebrated author of the Original Sinners series comes a brand-new tale of betrayal, revenge and a family scandal that bore a 150-year-old mystery

When Cooper McQueen wakes up from a night with a beautiful stranger, it's to discover he's been robbed. The only item stolen—a million-dollar bottle of bourbon. The thief, a mysterious woman named Paris, claims the bottle is rightfully hers. After all, the label itself says it's property of the Maddox family who owned and operated Red Thread Bourbon distillery since the last days of the Civil War until the company went out of business for reasons no one knows… No one except Paris.

In the small hours of a Louisville morning, Paris unspools the lurid tale of Tamara Maddox, heiress to the distillery that became an empire. But the family tree is rooted in tainted soil and has borne rotten fruit. Theirs is a legacy of wealth and power, but also of lies, secrets and sins of omission. The Maddoxes have bourbon in their blood—and blood in their bourbon. Why Paris wants the bottle of Red Thread remains a secret until the truth of her identity is at last revealed, and the century-old vengeance Tamara vowed against her family can finally be completed.

I struggle with how to explain this one without giving away secrets but here we go any way…

There are two time periods (actually sort of 3… hmmmm….) that are presented in this book but you won’t be thrown back and forth like crazy between the periods so if your afraid of it because of that…  worry no more.

Present day is a man meets a woman at the bar, they play a bit in bed, she tries to steal from him and then he gets told a story.  The present day piece is not the main story you want to hear even though I’d almost like to know more about Cooper as he might have his own story to tell but I digress.  Paris is the woman who has attempted to steal a very valuable bottle of bourbon from him and while he’s pissed she makes a deal with him that he can’t refuse.  She’ll tell him a story and at the end of it he’ll be compelled to give her the bottle as it is rightfully hers.  This is the real story you are wanting to read and it isn’t the most beautiful or happy story.

We get to see the dark underbelly of a Kentucky bourbon dynasty where anything will go in order to keep the family line intact.  We have murder, incest, rape and all sort of other secrets that come to light as Paris reveals the story of the last of the great Maddox family.

Tamara is the golden Maddox princess but her life isn’t all sunshine and love.  Is she spoiled?  Yes….  but not all is right in the Maddox household.  There are so many secrets that start to unravel on her birthday and they come to light slowly over the course of a few years and the reader is taken along for the ride.  We get glimpses of the founding of the distillery and the madness that started it all.  We also see that this latest behavior by the scion of the Maddox line is not the only time where darkness has entered it but that the line has had issues all along.

I enjoyed this story but I will warn you that this isn’t for everyone.  There are things that come to light as Paris reveals the history which might make (honestly should make) one uncomfortable but I found myself drawn to the characters and wanted to know more.  I’d like to see more of Paris in the future as she intrigued me but this doesn’t read like a start of a series so perhaps that will never happen.  If you don’t mind darker tones to a story then I’d say go grab this one but if even the idea of rape or incest makes you extremely uncomfortable then you might not like this.  I will note that I did like what happened to the person who attempted the rape so… there’s that…  Once again Tiffany has given us a story that isn’t pretty in tone but keeps you interested in knowing more about the characters and wanting to know how it all plays out.

four-stars

Divider

The Queen – Tiffany Reisz – 5 stars

November 2, 2015 Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2015 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Queen – Tiffany Reisz – 5 starsThe Queen by Tiffany Reisz
Published by Mira on 2015-11-01
Genres: BDSM, Contemporary, Erotica, Fiction, General, Romance
Pages: 448
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Once upon a time, Nora and Søren made a fateful deal—if he gave her everything, she would give him forever. 

The time has finally come to keep their promises. 

Out of money and out of options after her yearlong exile, Eleanor Schreiber agrees to join forces with Kingsley Edge, the king of kink. After her first taste of power as a Dominant, Eleanor buries her old submissive self and transforms into Mistress Nora, the Red Queen. With the help of a mysterious young man with a job even more illicit than her own, Nora squares off against a cunning rival in her quest to become the most respected, the most feared Dominatrix in the Underground.

While new lovers and the sweet taste of freedom intoxicate Nora, she is tempted time and time again by Søren, her only love and the one man who refuses to bow to her. But when Søren accepts a new church assignment in a dangerous country, she must make an agonizing choice—will the queen keep her throne and let her lover go, or trade in her crown for Søren's collar?

With a shattering final confession, the last link in the chain is forged in The Original Sinners saga. It's the closing chapter in a story of salvation, sacrifice and the multitude of scars we collect in the name of ecstasy—and love.

Ok I am going to do a rare thing and use gifs to help a bit with summing up my thoughts going in to this book…

This was me as I processed the end of the Original Sinners series…

Which was closely followed by:

You see like many others I DID NOT want to let these characters go but Tiffany gives us a great story that ends in a way that made me very happy even as I was sobbing because it was over.

I can’t say much without possibly spoiling some of it but we get:

  • Confessional Sex – not a spoiler because Tiffany promised us this and YEP she delivered.
  • Kingsley being his usual self with all the personality in the world and such a deep love for our beloved priest even when he was at odds with him.
  • A sense of the gamesmanship between the trio and how that impacts those around them.
  • A better idea of the dynamics between Nora and Søren as they struggled to understand what they were to one another.
  • Did I mention confessional sex???  Cause…  if not…  CONFESSIONAL SEX….  yes I went there… *fans self*
  • An amazing scene that made me all sentimental and was such a great way to address certain items.  (Can I be any more vague? *cue evil laugh*)

All in all this was a story of a woman finally coming in to her own, a man who is driven to do things because of his need to punish that which he loves the most, a man who loves but won’t open his eyes and mind to what his love really needs or who they are, and a glimpse at the incredible people they have become after so many years near and with one another.

I hate that we are done with the series but Tiffany hasn’t completely closed the door to additional stories with these characters but instead has closed the door, for now, to longer glimpses at their lives.  We may still see them popping up in other places but for now I must accept that Søren is taking a small break from us to continue being with those he loves the most and  I can always go back and read those stories again.

I must say thank you so much to Tiffany and all the people who worked so hard on this series.  You’ve made me more comfortable with experimenting with things that seem outside my comfort zone which means I have expanded my horizons in reading and life.  I cannot thank you enough for opening these doors for me.

five-stars

Divider

The Virgin – Tiffany Reisz – 5 stars

March 30, 2015 Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2015 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Virgin – Tiffany Reisz – 5 starsThe Virgin by Tiffany Reisz
Published by Harlequin Enterprises, Limited on March 31, 2015
Pages: 416
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The controversial story before the story continues in the critically acclaimed and award-winning series The Original Sinners.

For years, Kingsley Edge warned Eleanor the day would come when she, the mistress of a well-respected Catholic priest, would have to run and hide. She always imagined if that day came she'd be running away with Søren. But instead, she's running from him.

Knowing Søren and Kingsley will their use their influence to bring her back, Eleanor alone, penniless and scared takes refuge at the one place the men in her life cannot follow: the abbey where her mother has taken orders. Behind the cloistered gates of the convent, Eleanor hides from the man she loves and hates in equal measure

She cannot, however, hide from her true nature. When Eleanor befriends a young virginal nun, she faces a startling sexual awakening. But Eleanor can't stay forever, and the lure of her real life beckons beyond the locked gates. But to follow her fate means to leave Kyrie behind, a sacrifice Eleanor refuses to make

The lure of the forbidden. The temptation to sin. The price of passion has never been higher, and Eleanor will have to pay it if she ever wants to go home again.

What do you get when you have a woman who isn’t so good at holding her tongue and a convent?  What happens when the thing you never expected happen …. happens?  What do you do when all that you know is up in the air and things look their worst?

These questions all get answered in this book and we get to go on a journey where a King meets his Queen and a young woman finally realizes who she is along with who she isn’t.

We also get to see Juliette’s reaction to Kingsley in a kilt and to see the start of the wedding that we all have been cheering for.  By the way I can’t say I would blame Juliette in the least not to mention the sight of Kingsley and Søren in kilts might make me a bit … ummmm…  yeah…  If you didn’t know who Tiffany had in mind for the two men above let me clue you in… For Søren – Nikolaj Coster-Waldau  and for Kingsley – Gaspard Ulliel

*Gives you a few minutes to cool down*

Again I am going to be careful to not give spoilers as I adore this series and the twists/turns are what make me happiest as I read these.  We get to see Nora start to evolve in to the woman we know in The Siren and the path she is on is one that all of us go thru in our lives.  I mean we all have those moments where we just don’t know what to do…  We don’t know who we really are nor do we have any idea of what to do with the rest of our lives until if we are lucky we have one of those moments where everything becomes clear.  Granted most of ours don’t involve discovering you are a switch in love with one of the most clearly dominant men known….  Also most of ours don’t involve running to a convent where you discover love and also what you are meant to be in the next part of your life.

I adored watching Elle become more and more her own person but mainly watch her mature in the time she has in hiding.  She’s starting to wise up and realize that things aren’t always so determined but that she not only has talent but is also her own person outside of the relationship that has defined her since she first met her priest.  She’s also good at realizing the best thing for her is outside the walls but the best thing for someone else is not the same…  This made me sad but also quite happy as it was the right decision and truly made for the right reason.

Now…  my favorite part of this was….  Kingsley meeting his Juliette…  I loved seeing our jaded and oh so weary King meet the woman who we know holds a big part of his heart and is his match in every single way.  Her story made me sad but it also sheds light on why they work so well together plus seeing King floored is something precious.  He’s very much a man who still hasn’t decided what he wants to be but in meeting her…. well…  we get to see the man we all adore as he steps up to be what he has always been meant to be.  I loved his journey and how this plays out as Nora is also having her own awakening.

The way the two stories weave together is amazing and it kept me enthralled from beginning to end.  The slight breaks as we get to see a bit of present day helps keep you from being overwhelmed but seeing two key figures finally get on the path that will ultimately bring them complete happiness was wondrous and beautiful even as it was angsty and painful.

As much as this pains me to say… only one more book to go….  I can’t wait for The Queen as much as I curse it as it will be the last book for a while (I’m holding out hope for more) from Tiffany with these characters as the primary focus.

 

five-stars

Divider

The King – Tiffany Reisz – 5 stars

January 22, 2015 Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2015 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The King – Tiffany Reisz – 5 starsThe King by Tiffany Reisz
Published by Harlequin Enterprises, Limited on 2014-11-25
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 448
Source: NetGalley.com
The King: The Original Sinners Book 6<img src="http://ir-na.amazon-adsystem.com/e/ir?t=booaholano0c-20&l=as2&o=1&a=B00L0XO1VK" target="_blank">Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Cunning. Sex. Pure nerve. Only this potent threesome can raise him to his rightful place as ruler of Manhattan's kink kingdom.

 

Bouncing from bed to bed on the Upper East Side—handsomely paid in both bills and blackmail fodder—Kingsley Edge is brilliant, beautiful and utterly debauched. No carnal act or chemical compound can relieve his self-destructive apathy—only Søren, the one person he loves without limit or regret. A man he can never have, but in whose hands Kingsley is reborn to attain even greater heights of sin. He plans to open the ultimate BDSM club­: a dungeon playground for New York's A-list that'll change the scene forever.

 

The club becomes Kingsley's obsession—and he's enlisted some tough-as-nails help. His new assistant Sam is smart, secretive and totally immune to seduction (by men, at least). She and Kingsley make a wicked team. Still, their combined—and considerable—expertise in domination can't subdue the man who would kill their dream. The enigmatic Reverend Fuller won't rest until King's dream is destroyed. It's one man's sacred mission against another's….

I was a little late reading this due to a bit of a reading slump that took up most of my October, November and December…  I’m going to apologize to those who might have been interested in knowing my feelings on this one back when it first released but hey…  things happen..

Now..  I keep trying to forget that we only have 2 more stories after this one about our beloved Nora, Søren and Kingsley *whimpers* and this one helps remind me why I love this series, Tiffany’s writing and the world of the Original Sinners.  Like the others in the White Years we see glimpses of the current day interspersed with memories of the past and how they made the personalities in to those we fell in love with in the Red Years.  This one focuses on Kingsley and his complex relationship with Søren.  We get to see how the Eight Circle came in to being and finally get to see Sam.

Kingsley is at a crossroads in his life where all he does is indulge in self-destructive behavior doing nothing but being a playboy and running a not so clean club.  While he has some of the New York elite in his pocket he isn’t the power broker we see in the Red Years.  He’s still a bit lost after nearly being killed and missing something major from his life.  He likes to play but he hasn’t found something to truly make him feel alive until a figure from his past starts to make an appearance in his life once again….  Søren…  the man he loves and in some ways hates…  It hurt to see the vibrant King we know and love in the Red Years as such a shadow in the beginning of this.  I loved getting a glimpse of his pain in most ways but it wasn’t easy to read at times because of the pain.

I enjoyed seeing Søren and getting a glimpse of what was going on while the story told in The Saint was unfolding.  King was enjoyable as he realized how much his former lover would have to deal with if he ever opened his eyes to the other side of his precious Eleanor.  I also loved hearing about the readings that both Søren and Kingsley had from their Domme teacher as we know they ended up being fulfilled in a way that made me extremely happy.  I also enjoyed the story of Sam and how she plays a critical role in what becomes The Eighth Circle.  She was a character I want to see more of and I hope that Tiffany will give us a bit more of her in a short story or extra.

I have two favorite moments –

  • How the name of the club came to be – let’s just say there’s some fun that was had by King …  *snicker* and a certain other person.
  • Kingsley holding baby Fionn.  Seriously it was a beautiful moment and the love Grace shows for everyone is inspiring.

Once again this story has moments of hot sex but this story is more about how things came in to being and about the heart behind our trio.  I love these stories because of the story and the sexual aspect is secondary.

five-stars

Divider

The Saint – Tiffany Reisz – 5 Stars – Tour Contest!

June 25, 2014 Contest, Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2014, Tours 1

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Saint – Tiffany Reisz – 5 Stars – Tour Contest!The Saint by Tiffany Reisz
Published by Harlequin on 2014-07-01
Genres: Erotica, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 400
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Before she became Manhattan's  most famous dominatrix, Nora Sutherlin was merely a girl called Eleanor… Rebellious, green-eyed Eleanor never met a rule she didn't want to break. She's sick of her mother's zealotry and the confines of Catholic school, and declares she'll never go to church again. But her first glimpse of beautiful, magnetic Father Marcus Stearns—Søren to her and only her—and his lust-worthy Italian motorcycle is an epiphany. Eleanor is consumed—yet even she knows being in love with a priest can't be right. But when one desperate mistake nearly costs Eleanor everything, it is Søren who steps in to save her. When she vows to repay him with complete obedience, a whole world opens before her as he reveals to her his deepest secrets that will change everything.  Danger can be managed—pain, welcomed.  Everything is about to begin.

I tend to start all my Tiffany Reisz reviews with this disclaimer…

Please please please do not read this book unless you have an open mind and can truly embrace the idea of a Catholic priest as a sexual being.  This is not a series for everyone so I will not be offended if you choose to skip this one because you can’t get past Søren being a priest.  Also this book does have an underage female lead for a good portion of it and that I know can trigger issues with many people.

Ok now that I have warned people I have to say “I FREAKIN ADORED THIS BOOK!!!”  Tiffany once again made me cry and scared the hell out of me while at the same time giving me moments that made me laugh my ass off plus moments that were sexy as hell.  She’s great at taking my emotions thru the wringer but I wouldn’t trade one tortured moment of it!

Like usual my reviews of this series tend to be on the shorter side because while I want to gush and tell you everything that made me love the book I don’t want to spoil your own enjoyment of it.  We start this story in a dark place with Nora struggling to find her bearings after some extreme pain.  She ends up being comforted by a younger man who will prove to be someone you will fall in love with.  He’s amazing in so many ways and the fact that he is willing to submit to Nora in every way she needs is just icing on the cake.  I loved getting to see the story of how Eleanor and Søren came to be the people we met in The Siren by virtue of the stories Nora tells this sexy man.  Seeing his reactions to the story made it even more real in many ways and I appreciated the way this unfolded.

Some of my favorite moments:

1. The desk and Eleanor… yes that scene where she… and ….  (I’m a tease and I know it)

2. When she first meets Kingsley

3. Søren drunk

4. The bed scene… the one where S does… and damn was that HOT as hell.

5. Kingsley…  well hell I love seeing Kingsley so ya know this isn’t a surprise

6. Nora and her young man… What can I say I loved this even as something else had to give because of it but :-X

 

Ok I think I am going to end this review on that because I really want you to get to have the same fun I did while reading it.  The surprises and emotions that will come as you read this with no spoilers is sooooooo worth it.

Special thanks to NetGalley.com and Harlequin for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.  Also make sure to enter the tour wide contest below….
a Rafflecopter giveaway

five-stars

Divider

Misbehaving – Tiffany Reisz – 5 stars

February 12, 2014 Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2014 0

Misbehaving – Tiffany Reisz – 5 starsMisbehaving by Tiffany Reisz
Published by Harlequin on 2014-02-11
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 88
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Wanted: Adventurous, open-minded man willing to try…anything…As a popular sex blogger, Beatriz gets paid to have orgasms. So being on deadline the week of her sister's wedding isn't as rough as it sounds. There's just one hitch: Bea's assignment is to write a review of a sex position manual, but she doesn't have a plus-one to play with.The good news: Ben, the one who got away back in college, is also attending stag—and he's as temptingly gorgeous as ever.The bad news: Ben turned down Bea's offer of graduation-night sex five years ago.The best news: He's not planning on making the same mistake twice….

Once again Tiffany reminds me of why I love her writing…  This one will make you laugh a bit but mainly it will serve to show you how good she is at writing hot pairings.  In this one we get a bit of a play on Shakespeare’s “Much Ado about Nothing” and a chance to have a chuckle at the inclusion of our favorite bad boy in the form of a gift.

Bea is getting ready to go to her sister’s wedding and is advised she needs to come up with material for her boss ASAP.  She advises sure she’ll write a review or something up of one of the many books she has lying around and heads out for the week.  When she realizes she’s grabbed a book on different sexual positions the fun begins as she doesn’t have a date so no one to try them all out with.  While that is a bit of an issue she figures she’ll find someone there to play with and all will be fine….  well…  until she runs in to the one man who turned her offer down flat while they were in college.  The man she wanted more than anything else…  the man who still haunts her even as she’s moved on.

Ben was incredibly attracted to Bea but due to circumstances that he didn’t share with her made the decision to turn his fantasy down.  He’s always regretted that decision but never had the chance to make things right between them before life got in the way.  Now that he has her in his sights again and the circumstances have changed he can’t help but jump at the chance to get her where he’s always wanted her.  In bed…  his bed..  as much as is possible…

Both of them have time to make up for and there is not a huge amount of time that elapses between them running in to one another again and them steaming up the bedroom but the story we get in between those times will make you laugh…  scream and in general keep you entertained.  I liked how both of them opened up to one another and other than a big misunderstanding (it will make you laugh when it is cleared up) there is little tension between the pair.  This is a couple who are meant to be together and time did not change that fact but instead gave them both a chance to be everything they were supposed to be.

Enjoy!!!

Special thanks to NetGalley.com and Harlequin for letting me get my hands on this in exchange for review.

Divider