Author: Shelly Laurenston

Divider

The Unyielding – Shelly Laurenston – 5 stars

March 28, 2017 Kensington, Read in 2017, Sent 1

I received this book for free from . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Unyielding – Shelly Laurenston – 5 starsThe Unyielding by Shelly Laurenston
Published by Kensington on March 28th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, General, Fantasy, Action & Adventure
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars
five-flames

Stieg Engstrom, Angriest Viking Ever, has got big problems. The human Viking Clans of earth are in danger of being obliterated—along with the rest of the world—and the only one who may be able to save them is a super pain-in-the-ass Crow. Most people annoy Stieg, but this is the one woman he really can’t stand…

Erin Amsel loves being a Crow! Why wouldn’t she when the other Viking Clans are so hilariously arrogant and humorless? She’s not about to let all that come to an end! She just didn’t expect to be shoulder to shoulder in battle with Stieg. Then again, he’s so easy to torment—and also kind of cute.

With the future of the world riding on them, Stieg knows he’ll have to put aside his desperate need to kiss the smirk right off Erin’s face. Wait. What? He didn’t mean that—did he? No! They have one goal: To conquer the idiots. Because nothing bugs Stieg more than when idiots win. If only he can keep himself from suddenly acting like one…

Are you ready for more Crow craziness?  Are you sure?  Are you really, really sure?

Well, buckle up for some more fun with the ladies and men who are trying to keep the world safe from some really insane deities.

Erin is up to something…  ok..  so she’s always up to something but this time she’s REALLY up to something.  She’s caught by someone that she honestly can’t stand at a moment when she really did need help (soooooooooooooooo not liking admitting that) but who she gets is someone that she can’t easily manipulate or ignore.  I loved getting to know more about her and understanding where the personality traits that drive everyone else insane came from.  She’s not willing to admit what Stieg comes to mean to her but he knows and accepts her for who she is.  I love her smart mouth but also found that behind this is someone who cares deeply for those around her and is willing to do what it takes to keep people safe.  There are moments when you just want to strangle her but the moments are broken up by laughter as she even knows that she’s doing it on purpose.

Stieg was so much fun to watch.  He’s driven but the way he tries to tell her not to do something in the beginning made me put down the book for a bit to laugh.  He’s not what he seems either which is why their pairing makes so much sense.  His relationships with others including shifters made me smile but it was the damn goat that made me almost lose it.  You’ll love meeting her but also love the way that he struggles to come to terms with what Erin starts to mean to him.  I will admit there is a part of me that wanted a more overt claiming but honestly these two are perfect for one another.  The way that the relationship just is… not forced… just natural made me smile.

Now… when is the next one?  I really wanna see how this new threat plays out cause…  DAMN MAN.

Also, Shelly…  if you ever decide to make more totes…  yeah… I NEED ONE… also… Vida…  thanks again!!!  I won’t see you this year at RT but thank you for letting me continue to share the love of these stories.

five-stars

Divider

The Undoing – Shelly Laurenston – 5 Stars

March 29, 2016 Kensington, Read in 2016, Sent 1

I received this book for free from the publisher . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Undoing – Shelly Laurenston – 5 StarsThe Undoing by Shelly Laurenston
Published by Kensington on 2016-03-29
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology, Fantasy, Fiction, General, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 400
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

A risk worth taking…

No one would ever accuse Jace Berisha of having an easy life—considering her husband…you know…killed her. But that was then! Now she fights for mighty Viking gods with the spectacular and vicious Crows.

But things are turning very bad, very quickly because a vengeful, ancient goddess has come into the world with just one thing on her mind—ending it. And the only way they can hope to stop her is if the Crows join forces with their one-time enemies, the Protectors. A Viking Clan created to do nothing but kill every Crow they see.

Thankfully, Protector Ski Eriksen is a peace loving kind of guy. Because the woman he is desperately trying to get close to is the beautiful and not-very-chatty Jace. Battling Nordic clans? Unkillable goddesses? Jace’s mean-spirited dog? None of these things would ever get in the way of a true Viking!

Ok Vida…  I cannot stress this enough..  THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!  You will get hugs and maybe if both our schedules can work out at RT a drink for sending me this ARC.

Now to the book….

Those who know me know that Shelly Laurenston is a drop everything author for me even with the craziness of my job and school.  When this one arrived in  my mailbox I might’ve squealed a bit then jumped right in.  It was so worth having to stay up later to work on homework just because of our lovely Crows and the poor men who fall in love with them.

Jace was someone that most people would have a hard time knowing but I think she and I would fit in just fine together.  I love to just curl up and read while avoiding the world.  The fact that my local grocery store now has delivery just makes it so much easier to get off work on Friday and not leave again until work on Monday.  My cats have gotten used to this fact and I think enjoy it as much as I do.  Jace needs to figure out something to get her away from the other well-meaning Crows so takes advantage of an offer to work with the Protectors.  What she finds is people who get her and truly accept who she is even with her quirks.  She also ends up finding an amazing man who doesn’t think she’s damaged or bizarre but really gets HER.  I loved seeing her open up and become the woman she was meant to be even as the world is in crisis.

Ski… *seriously happy sigh*… this is a man who just understands her once he puts all the pieces together.  He has spent most of his life dealing with the characters that are the Protectors and now he’s found a woman who truly can fit in his world while keeping him on his toes.  He needs someone that is capable of being independent in many ways but still needs him.  He’s also such a fun character to get to know as he manages to balance his own interests with the immense responsibilities that are on his shoulders.  I also couldn’t help but love….

His CAT….  yeah we have a book with animals that are just as funny as the people who own them with their own quirks and awesome mannerisms.  Ski’s cat and Jace’s puppy will keep you giggling at various moments plus..

BRODIE HAWAII!!!!!

Oh and we get CLIPBOARDS… People get to finally start showing why they are critical for the battles to come and I loved how this story continues to build as we see more of the inhabitants of this world….

Also…  The Sisters made me have to sit the book down and laugh for a few minutes…

Yeah ok I am babbling here but this is why Shelly Laurenston is an automatic GIMMEE and I am so happy to have crossed paths with Vida in Kansas City.  I am glad we met and she keeps feeding me with titles that make my book-reading soul happy.

five-stars

Divider

The Unleashing – Shelly Laurenston – 4 stars

March 31, 2015 Kensington, Read in 2015 0

I received this book for free from the publisher . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Unleashing – Shelly Laurenston – 4 starsThe Unleashing by Shelly Laurenston
Published by Kensington on 2015-03-31
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 400
Source: the publisher
The Unleashing (Call Of Crows)<img src="http://ir-na.amazon-adsystem.com/e/ir?t=booaholano0c-20&l=as2&o=1&a=1617735051" target="_blank">Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Winging It

Kera Watson never expected to face death behind a Los Angeles coffee shop. Not after surviving two tours lugging an M16 around the Middle East. If it wasn't for her hot Viking customer showing up too late to help, nobody would even see her die.

In uncountable years of service to the Allfather Odin, Ludvig "Vig" Rundstrom has never seen anyone kick ass with quite as much style as Kera. He knows one way to save her life--but she might not like it. Signing up with the Crows will get Kera a new set of battle buddies: cackling, gossiping, squabbling, party-hearty women. With wings. So not the Marines.

But Vig can't give up on someone as special as Kera. With a storm of oh-crap magic speeding straight for L.A., survival will depend on combining their strengths: Kera's discipline, Vig's loyalty... and the Crows' sheer love of battle. Boy, are they in trouble.

Okay I admit I fan girl over Shelly Laurenston…  I really truly do.  I even might fan girl over her wonderful, amazing, sweet, did I say amazing, publicist Vida who is always great about giving me ARCs of SL (BTW- there are never any strings to what I have to think or post on my reviews).  I might’ve cried a bit when the announcement came out about the hiatus on The Pride series but I recovered a bit when I saw the announcement that The CROWS and RAVENS were being brought back to life in a new location and to create a new series.   I loved the idea when it was originally presented and now that I can at least have this to get me by…  well…  color me happy.

Now to keep this from giving away spoilers…

Things you’ll love and laugh at:

  • Brodie Hawaii – Kera’s dog gets some very ardent admirers and friends in this story which will lead to some quite humourous moments as Kera tries to keep the other Crows from taking over her dog.  I also love what we get to see later in the book as it led to some of my favorite moments where I almost choked on what I was drinking.  She’s such a fun character and you’ll love how this once abused dog finds her revenge.
  • Kera’s initial impression of Vig when he frequented her shop.  Seriously this was the funniest blow to an ego that I have read in a very long time, if not ever.
  • CLIPBOARDS
  • The hypochondriac Crow
  • The constant commentary from other Crows about Kera’s looks.  Yes, this could be insulting but they are based in L.A. where comments like the ones they make are normal for those obsessed with being in the biz.
  • Kera’s trip to Valhalla – Honestly I loved seeing this and admit that my reaction to the people she meets there would probably be the same.  I mean…  seriously…
  • Vig’s reputation – I loved Vig and enjoyed how others saw him versus who he really is.  He’s something else and his inability to control things going on in his house was funny to read.
  • Erin – She’ll make you laugh as she struggles with how to handle Kera let alone how to be something she thinks she isn’t.

I appreciated this start to a new series and look forward to many more to come.  The baddie in this will be something to behold as things evolve so get ready for the ride.

 

Oh and Vida…  fair warning…  there will be a few of us stalking you at RT just cause you are so awesome about feeding our Laurenston fix…  😉

four-stars

Divider

Bite Me – Shelly Laurenston – 5 stars

March 25, 2014 Kensington, Read in 2014, Sent 1

I received this book for free from the publisher . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Bite Me – Shelly Laurenston – 5 starsBite Me by Shelly Laurenston
Published by Kensington Books on 2014-03-25
Genres: Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 400
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Livy Kowalski has no time for idiots. When you shapeshift into a honey badger, getting through life’s irritants is a finely honed skill. Until she gets stuck housing her nutso cousin and dealing with her dad’s untimely and unexplained demise.

That’s where Vic Barinov comes in—or his house does. Vic can’t step outside without coming back to find Livy devouring his honey stash and getting the TV remote sticky. It gets his animal instincts all riled up. But he’ll have to woo her at high speed: all hell is breaking loose, and Livy is leading the charge…

How much do I love this series?  Well enough that when I thought I had lost Vida’s (Publicist Extrordanaire) business card that I scored at RT in Kansas City I wanted to bawl.  Luckily I found it and she’s got a great amount of patience for when I SQUEE about anything Laurenston.  As much as I love this series and am sad to see it paused until sometime in the future (perhaps) I can understand why Shelly might need a break.  I want more from this group of people she’s been wonderful enough to share with us and I hope a chance to step away will bring her back to them in the future.

This installment focuses on Livy and Vic but there are so many cameos by past characters that you get a great chance to visit with people we all love.  Livy’s family is INSANE but you can’t help but appreciate how they band together when needed in order to avenge their own.  We get to see Ronnie Lee and Bren’s child in this and love the glimpse in to the madness that will come as they navigate parenthood.  We also get to see KYLE!!!  The boy made me laugh so hard so many times that I’m glad I have a no drink policy while reading Laurenston books.  He’s priceless and I hope we get to see more of him in the future.  Also you’ll love Vic’s partner.. NOT HIS PARTNER but ya know his partner… and his lovable ways.  The man made me giggle with his ability to get under Vic’s skin but in a way that makes him lovable.

The love story in this one was very sweet and does take a while to get to the steamy parts but for these two it works.  Livy hates feeling trapped and Vic, well Vic, is just willing to amble along and patiently wait for her to decide what she wants.  He’s very accepting of his feelings for her and seeing how he let’s her be who she is with only slight nudges to compromise as needed to get the end result she needs to feel whole.  He’s just very supportive of her and really does get her more than her own family does.  His gestures to her mean the world to her and I found myself sighing many times at the meaning behind them.  Livy is smart enough to recognize what she has with him even as she denies it but her denials come across as more fighting the inevitable than mean-spirited or cruel.  They both recognize what they have and while they might fight it a bit there is nothing better than when Vic’s wild side comes out.  I love love love his CAT!!!

I have to add that I probably laughed hardest at the interactions of Bo and Vic during the story as I’m sure anyone who reads this will agree.  They are too damn funny and seeing how Lach handles it is just perfect.

Overall this is a wonderful installment in the series that I hope you will go out and grab.  If you haven’t read this series…  GO BUY THEM ALL NOW!!!! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT AT ALL!!!

Special thanks to Vida for sending me a copy of this early and I’m amazed you didn’t hear the SQUEE!! when it came in.  I know you also made many other reviewers happy when you sent them their copies as well.  I so owe you at RT this year!!

five-stars

Divider