Author: Maisey Yates

Divider

Christmastime Cowboy – Maisey Yates – 4 stars

October 24, 2017 Boookluvr Reads, NetGalley, Read in 2017 1

Christmastime Cowboy – Maisey Yates – 4 starsChristmastime Cowboy by Maisey Yates
on October 24th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Western, Holiday
Pages: 384
Goodreads

It's Christmas in Copper Ridge, and love is waiting to be unwrapped... 

Falling for a bad boy once is forgivable. Twice would just be foolish. When Sabrina Leighton first offered her teenage innocence to gorgeous, tattooed Liam Donnelly, he humiliated her, then left town. The hurt still lingers. But so does that crazy spark. And if they have to work together to set up her family winery's new tasting room by Christmas, why not work him out of her system with a sizzling affair? 

Thirteen years ago, Liam's boss at the winery offered him a bribe--leave his teenage daughter alone and get a full ride at college. Convinced he wasn't good enough for Sabrina, Liam took it. Now he's back, as wealthy as sin and with a heart as cold as the Oregon snow. Or so he keeps telling himself. Because the girl he vowed to stay away from has become the only woman he needs, and this Christmas could be just the beginning of a lifetime together...

I know so many romance readers that adore stories that take place during the holiday season, but I have to admit I have never been one of them.  I haven’t ever been able to pinpoint why these books don’t resonate for me like they seem to for so many other people, I just accept that I am odd and generally skip over them.  So when I saw that the latest installment in Maisey Yates’s Copper Ridge series was titled Christmastime Cowboy, I was a little bummed.  I had been waiting on Liam and Sabrina’s story since we saw Sabrina take off out of the bar after seeing Liam in Slow Born Cowboy so there was no way I was going to skip this installment but the fact it was a Christmas themed story meant I probably wasn’t going to enjoy it as much as I normally would have.

Since the Donnelly brothers landed on the scene it has been clear that Sabrina and Liam shared a history and I have been dying to know what it was.  I assumed it would be something big like him taking her virginity and then taking off out-of-town or maybe if they had been in a relationship cheating on her given that even after 13 years even the sight of Liam seemed to send Sabrina into a tailspin.  So when the situation was revealed in Christmastime Cowboy, I’ll admit it felt a little flat.  It just didn’t feel momentous enough that at 30 years old Sabrina would still be so affected by the situation.  Don’t get me wrong, I understand that she would have been hurting at 17 years old and that seeing Liam would still sting a bit, but to be so affected that she couldn’t ever tolerate being in the same room as him seemed a bit extreme.

Seeing the glimpses into Liam’s past helps you understand who Liam is today and why he took the bribe that Jamison Leighton offered him at 20 to leave town.  My heart broke for him when I realized that even after everything he had accomplished he was still that little boy who didn’t feel like he was enough.  Even after everything he had accomplished and the time he had spent reuniting with his brothers he was still keeping everyone around him out believing he didn’t have anything to offer.

If I could have reached into the book to strangle Sabrina’s parents for all of the unnecessary hurt they had caused her for their own mistakes, I would have done it.  They were so immature and so busy focusing on their situation that they had no compassion for a mistake that a 17-year-old girl made when they were making much bigger mistakes as adults.  When Sabrina met with her father to finally put the past to bed, I wasn’t quite ready to let my grudge against him go even having a better understanding of his motivations where she was concerned.

The scene between Liam and Sabrina when she gave him her goodbye speech made my chest ache.  Knowing Liam loved her but didn’t believe that he had anything to offer anyone unless is was money or something else outside of himself when all she wanted was him broke my heart.

Sabrina’s wit made for some very entertaining interactions between her and Liam.  My favorites were when she told Liam he was protecting her from his “big bad penis” and when she said she only stuck her tongue in his mouth because it seemed polite.

I am happy to report that the holiday setting didn’t detract from the storyline at all in this instance.  As a matter of fact, it seemed to be the perfect backdrop.

 

Divider

Slow Burn Cowboy – Maisey Yates – 3.5 stars

May 12, 2017 Harlequin, NetGalley 2

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Slow Burn Cowboy – Maisey Yates – 3.5 starsSlow Burn Cowboy by Maisey Yates
Published by HQN Books on May 1st 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Western, Contemporary, General
Pages: 384
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

In Copper Ridge, Oregon, a cowboy's best friend might turn out to be the woman of his dreams…

If Finn Donnelly makes a plan, he sticks to it. After his brothers left Copper Ridge, Finn stayed behind, determined to keep their ranch going by himself. And when he realized his feelings for Lane Jensen were more than platonic, he shoved that inconvenient desire away. It was easy…until it wasn't. Suddenly his brothers are coming home to claim their share of the property. And Lane is no longer just in his fantasies. She's in his arms, and their friendship is on the line…

He's been her buddy, her handyman, her rock. But until that one breathtaking kiss, Lane somehow overlooked the most important thing about Finn Donnelly—he's all man. They're right together, no matter how much his volatile past has bruised him. Finn wants to hold Lane's body, but he doesn't want to hold her heart. But Lane is falling fast and now she's got a plan of her own…to show Finn there's nothing hotter than friendship turned to slow-burning love.

Also includes a bonus Copper Ridge novel, Take Me, Cowboy!

Finn Donnelly likes control, so when his entire life is turned upside down he begins to unravel.   Finn has spent the last 20 years working on the Laughing Irish Ranch with his grandfather, so when his grandfather passes away he can’t for the life of him understand why his grandfather didn’t leave the ranch only to him.  Instead the ranch was left in equal shares to Finn and his three brothers.  Finn is at a loss as to why his grandfather did this to him since his brothers haven’t ever been involved in the ranch.  Still, Finn has a plan.  He’s certain his brothers don’t really want to work on the ranch, so he will just buy out their portion and send them on their way.  Well we all know what they say about best-laid plans.

When Finn finds out things aren’t going to go quite the way he planned, he also discovers that his willpower to keep his hands off his best friend Lane Jensen isn’t quite what it used to be.   He’s spent years wanting Lane but kept his desire in check by reminding himself that she was too young for him and it wasn’t worth risking the most important relationship in his life by changing the rules.   Finn’s not cut out for relationships and certainly not marriage material but maybe he and Lane can both get what they need out of their friendship if they add a physical element to it.

 

Lane Jensen came to Copper Ridge at 16 to live with her brother Mark and put her painful past behind her.  She’s built a life she’s happy with and believes she’s moved on until she comes face to face with her past when her ex-boyfriend is suddenly all over the television.  Now every time she turns around she feels like she’s facing reminders of her past and is suddenly questioning the life she’s built.  As if that wasn’t enough, now Finn is trying to change everything about their relationship.  Doesn’t he realize that he’s the most important person in her life?  She isn’t about to let him risk their friendship when she needs him the most.  The problem is that now that she see’s Finn for the hot cowboy that he is, she can’t seem to stop fantasizing about him.

I enjoyed watching both Finn and Lane work through the demons of their past and being forced to reevaluate what they wanted from their futures.  I could relate to struggling with having to evaluate what you were worth or capable of after a less than ideal childhood.  I think this story worked so well because given the issues that both Finn and Lane had, the only way they were going to work through them rather than running away was with each other because nobody else mattered enough that they would stick around when things got uncomfortable.

I am really looking forward to learning more about Finn’s brothers Cain, Alex and Liam.  But then, who doesn’t love a whole new group of sexy cowboys.  I have a feeling the other Donnelly men are going to have some very diverse and emotional backstories.

 

three-half-stars

Divider

Shoulda Been A Cowboy – Maisey Yates – 3 stars

April 25, 2015 Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2015, Readathon 2015 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Shoulda Been A Cowboy – Maisey Yates – 3 starsShoulda Been a Cowboy by Maisey Yates
Published by HQN Books on 2015-03-01
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, General, Romance
Pages: 111
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

In this sexy, sweet prequel novella to her new series, USA TODAY bestselling author Maisey Yates welcomes readers to the charming small town of Copper Ridge, Oregon, where it's never too late for second chances.There's not much about his teenage years that Jake Caldwell can be proud of. Except maybe for keeping his hands off cute, kindhearted Cassie Ventimiglia. She was the only one who saw him as more than a tattooed rebel who couldn't wait to leave the ranching life behind. Now he's back in Copper Ridge to sell his father's property—and staying right above Cassie's coffee shop. And out of nowhere, the girl he's never forgotten is offering a whole lot more than fresh-baked muffins…Jake's dark, smoldering appeal hasn't changed one bit. But Cassie has. Following everyone else's rules didn't quite work out. Time to ask for what she's always wanted…and what Jake's more than happy to give: a wild, hot romance that could make a one-time bad boy realize he's back for good.Don't miss Part Time Cowboy, the first in the Copper Ridge series, from HQN Books!www.MaiseyYates.com

Nice quick read from Maisey Yates with a not really a bad guy falling for a not really a good girl.  Well…  they both have their moments but ultimately they are true human beings with wants and needs that don’t fall fully in either camp.

Cassie has always been the good girl.  She has always followed the path of least resistance only ever trying to be something that would be worth all the sacrifices her mother made.  She only ever tried for something (sort of) once and that ended up with the boy she felt everything for leaving after she even expressed an interest.  She’s now divorced, living in a rented apartment and starting her own coffee shop.  She still is in a rut trying to be the good, dependable Cassie everyone expects but the arrival of her high-school crush causes her to do something unexpected.  She tries for what she wants and needs rather than be the person they all expect.  I adored seeing her take this chance and felt for her as she struggles with not knowing what it will bring.

Jake isn’t the bad guy people made him out to be.  Did he steal? Yes… Did he do other things that weren’t good? Yes… but when you see what was actually driving him you understood it.  He has been drawn to Cassie from shortly after they met but knew he wasn’t good for her.  He left because of something else and now is in town only to clean up his father’s holdings so he can head back to Seattle to take hold of what he thinks he needs.  As he spends time in Copper Ridge he struggles with not only his feelings for Cassie but his past and what drove him to where he is now.  I enjoyed his struggle and was happy when we finally get to see the man behind the mask.  He’s a good guy who just needed someone to truly see him.

Overall a nice start to a series and I will have to read more….

three-stars

Divider

Unbroken – Maisey Yates – 5 stars

August 1, 2014 Intermix, Read in 2014, Sent 0

I received this book for free from the Author . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Unbroken – Maisey Yates – 5 starsUnbroken by Maisey Yates
Published by Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated on 2014-08-05
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 320
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

In the latest Silver Creek romance from USA Today bestselling author Maisey Yates, former rodeo star Cade Mitchell may never ride again, but there are still a few things he can do—like care for the woman he loves.   Amber Johnson has always thought of her best friend Cade as an older brother. A really hot older brother. But growing up in foster care, she learned to rely only on herself. As much as she likes stealing glances at Cade’s chiseled jaw and painted-on jeans, she resents the way he swoops in like a superhero to fix things for her.   When former rodeo rival Jim Davis starts harassing Amber to sell her grandfather’s failing ranch, Cade swoops in once again. To send Jim on his way, Cade pretends to be Amber’s boyfriend, moving in to help fix the place up. With her grandfather behind the idea, Amber and Cade have to keep the charade going—whether she likes it or not.   But as their make-believe romance starts to heat up, maybe Cade and Amber will learn to admit that they both could use a little saving…

I received this copy from Maisey while at the RT Convention in New Orleans.  I hadn’t read any of this series yet even though I had all of them and I am kicking myself for that.  I have since read every single one in a fast glom of the series and I can say ….  GIVE ME MORE!!  I loved this town and this family with all of its secrets.

Cade is still struggling to figure out who he is without rodeo.  He’s tired of feeling like nothing he does is worthwhile and feeling like a second wheel around his family ranch.  Cole is so set on what he wants to do with the place that even though Cade is a partner nothing will get done unless it is Cole’s way.  As someone starts making a move on his best friend Amber’s ranch he decides to step in to help in any way he can.  In this case it means pretending to be more than just friends but as the two of them start to live in the same house maybe just maybe they could burn off this sudden chemistry.  He’s such a complex character in the other stories but seeing him struggle with the mystery of who caused the incident that ended his rodeo career, his family dynamics, what he really wants from Amber and what he wants for his future was painful as hell.  I loved him when he finally said what he had needed to say to Cole for years but loved it more when he finally admitted what Amber meant to him.  They were so perfect together and seeing him truly embrace his best friend as his partner was amazing.

Amber was a perfect match for Cade.  She doesn’t put up with his crap and calls him on his behavior if he steps across boundaries.  I felt for her as she struggled to feel like she belonged even as she yearned for it with all of her heart.  She’s so guarded and prickly but with her past you can understand why it was so hard for her to realize what had been in front of her all these years.  I’m not just talking about her relationship with Cade but her relationship with her grandfather and the whole town.  She really wasn’t as alone as she thought she was but mainly she finally was able to admit that she truly did belong and wasn’t going to be sent away.  I think I loved how much she really tried to do the right thing for everyone even though it was misguided and seeing her finally admit her own weakness when it came to Cade was a wonderful moment.

I really hope to see more from this town and family because you know Cade/Cole/Lark/Nicole have potentially many more siblings out there so we have more fodder for stories in the future.. 😉

I think you will also like seeing Cade get some closure on who sabotaged him and I hope to see more of that character in order to see him get closure as well.  I’m not fond of him but …..

five-stars

Divider

Avenge Me – Maisey Yates – 4 stars

June 27, 2014 Harlequin, NetGalley, Read in 2014 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Avenge Me – Maisey Yates – 4 starsAvenge Me by Maisey Yates
Published by Harlequin on 2014-06-01
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 272
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

TEN YEARS AGO ONE DEVASTATING NIGHT CHANGED EVERYTHING FOR AUSTIN, HUNTER AND ALEX. NOW THEY MUST EACH PLAY THEIR PART IN THE REVENGE AGAINST THE ONE MAN WHO RUINED IT ALL. Austin Treffen was born into a world of privilege, but behind its gilded doors lies a corruption so sordid New York's elite would never believe it—especially as his infamous philanthropic father is at its core! With everything he believed in shattered, how can Austin take down his father—risking his family name and those he loves—without any proof? Until one earth-shattering night with Katy Michaels unlocks not only their deepest, most passionate desires but also the key to bringing Jason Treffen's reign to an end. But with an intense sexual attraction that combines a heady mix of exquisite pleasure and sublime pain, will they satiate their thirst for revenge and each other…or lose themselves forever in the darkness?

Austin is back to playing prodigal son to the press and his father but in reality he is doing this for only one reason.  He wants to find the evidence he needs to destroy his father for once and for all.  He’s got a lot of work to do in order to accomplish this because his father has made a name for himself as a man who defends women against abuse while secretly using his power and influence to sexually abuse, harass and manipulate women that are vulnerable.  Austin also struggles with his own dark desires to control women but as we learn his desires are not twisted or sick but just ones of being sexually dominant.  He doesn’t want to control every move or destroy women but instead drive them both to a satisfying conclusion.  When he is drawn to a woman at his first big party with his father in 10 years he acts out a fantasy encounter that has him wanting more from her even as he doesn’t know her.  As he finds out who she is and what her agenda is he realizes that he has found someone that can give him the information he needs to bring his father down but he also finds that this is a woman he can’t live without but he has to finally realize that he isn’t his father.  Seeing his struggle to separate his need for dominance in the bedroom from his father’s sick behavior was hard but he needed to finally understand that consensual domination is not twisted or sick but healthy.

Katy has been missing a big part of her life since her sister killed herself.  As she found out what drove her sister to jump she is driven by a need to bring down the man behind it.  She doesn’t count on feeling something for the man’s son nor did she count on the one time she let herself have something for her own pleasure that it would be with the son of her target.  She’s understandably upset at the way Austin takes over her life once she loses her job and apartment but is more upset at how he makes he want things that she thinks she can’t ever have.  She’s always taken care of her little brother and had to fight for every little scrap of stuff she’s gotten so ending up being a jobless, homeless individual that is at the mercy of a man like Austin isn’t easy for her.  She’s surprised when she starts to fall for the man behind the facade of wealth and privilege but struggles to get him to see who he really is.  I liked her strength and willingness to fight for what she believed in even though she didn’t always feel like she deserved anything.  She’s a strong character in many respects so I appreciated that.

Overall this was a sexy story with a lot of drama as things start to come to light which will continue to play out over the next couple of books.  I enjoyed this one and the series as a whole so special thanks to NetGalley.com and Harlequin for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.

four-stars

Divider

Take Me – Maisey Yates – 3 stars

June 24, 2014 Harlequin, Purchased, Read in 2014 0

Take Me – Maisey Yates – 3 starsTake Me by Maisey Yates
Published by Mills & Boon Series on 2014-06-01
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 50
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

In this Fifth Avenue prequel by USA Today Bestselling author Maisey Yates, enter the exclusive world of New York's scandalous elite...where everything is about to change.Take Me Where it all began...As the son of a high-powered attorney Travis Beringer has never wanted for anything...except the elusive Sydney Davis. But everything changes in an instant with the shocking death of her roommate, Sarah Michaels, and suddenly Sydney is in his arms, desperately seeking oblivion. Encased within a sensual web of desire, Travis and Sydney delight in every erotic touch they've fought for so long. But what will happen when the dust has settled and the harsh light of day ushers in a reality neither is prepared to face?

As a quick start to the Fifth Avenue trilogy this serves as a way to see what happened all those years ago and who the man is that put Austin, Hunter and Alex on the path to taking down a man who committed so many wrongs.

We get a quick story about how a young woman’s death brings about a love that will last the tests of time for her friend and the man who has loved her without telling her for years.  We get a hot interlude with Travis and Sydney but we also see how shaken up two people are by the death of someone they both thought of as a friend who had slowly withdrawn from them as she was caught in her own personal hell on Earth.

Travis and Sydney both needed an outlet for the numbing grief they both felt but this quick tumble actually unlocked both of them from the walls they had built around themselves in order to not get hurt by love.  Sydney thinks she isn’t good enough because of her background but so desperately longs for Travis that you can feel it as they connect physically.  Travis has always wanted Sydney but never thought it was the right time to pursue her plus knows that her drive is such that maybe she won’t be willing to see they both can win.  He isn’t out to change her but to love her.  Both of them manage to work the beginnings of this out in this quick read but as you know with a very short quick read we don’t get the full story or much in the way of feels before the story is over.

If you go in to this one thinking of it as being a long prologue then I think you’ll be ok with the pacing and length.  Make sure you have Avenge Me on deck so you can dive right in to the main stories as three very driven man find a way to make a very evil man pay.

three-stars

Divider

Untouched – Maisey Yates – 4 stars

June 24, 2014 Intermix, NetGalley, Read in 2014 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Untouched – Maisey Yates – 4 starsUntouched by Maisey Yates
Published by Penguin on 2014-01-21
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, General, Romance
Pages: 313
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

In the Silver Creek romance Unexpected, Cole Mitchell found love in the last place he ever thought to look. Now, in USA Today bestselling author Maisey Yates’ newest novel, Cole’s little sister Lark is determined to have her turn... Having never left the family ranch, Lark Mitchell needs a little adventure—or at least a romance that isn’t confined to the internet. Her older brothers Cole and Cade have always been too good at protecting her innocence, but even they can’t stop her from taking a second job—where her boss just so happens to be the kind of bad boy she craves. Too bad he’s also the one guy in Silver Creek she should never touch... When Quinn Parker introduces himself, Lark tries to quit on the spot. Everyone knows Quinn was behind the accident that ended Cade’s rodeo career. But when he holds her to her contract, she can’t help wanting to get even closer. As she begins to see the man behind the gossip, she sees that not all of the things people say about him are true...even if there’s plenty about this bad boy she has yet to discover.

Oh the fun that was had in some respects with this book but the angst…  the sheer angst…

Lark just wants to spread her wings a bit without her well-meaning but over-bearing brothers putting their noses in every bit of her business.  She decides to pursue a job that isn’t family related and ends up working for the man that they believe almost killed her brother Cade.  As she struggles to keep her family out of her job in order to avoid Cade paying her way out of the mess, she also has to struggle with her attraction to the one man she should never get tangled with.  I loved seeing her loyalty to her family but I also appreciated the way that she was willing to actually listen to her intuition when it came to Quinn’s involvement with her brother’s attack.  She was a very sympathetic character in that all she wanted was to be taken seriously by people and to be loved but allowed to be free.  She just needed someone to push her out of her comfort zone in order to actually truly start living life to the fullest.  I enjoyed her quirks and the way that she pushed Quinn to also start believing he deserved to be happy even though his past made him think the worst of himself.  She’s a fun character who put up with a lot more than she should have when it came to both Quinn and her family but I did understand it.

Quinn….  now this man is an asshole but I appreciated that he doesn’t apologize for that.  He knows he is and owns up to this ummmm character flaw.  While he will piss you off with his treatment of Lark you also can see that he even knows it is wrong.  He struggles with wanting to do the right thing by her and believing that he isn’t capable of doing the right thing for anyone.  His actions after their first time say a lot even if he won’t admit it.  He’s such an interesting character in that his past has definitely shaped his present to the point where he isn’t sure of who/what he is any more.  I was pissed at him for a good portion of the book but I think that looking at how he was raised I was able to forgive him much faster than I might any other character in these stories.  He really is a good guy under the asshole exterior and when he falls… he falls so hard.

It was fun watching Lark tie Quinn up in knots but I really liked how she came in to her own decisions that might’ve hurt her family but were right for her even as they seemed so wrong to outsiders.  She’s got a great head on her shoulders and once she learned to trust in that everything else played out as it should.

Special thanks to NetGalley.com and Intermix for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.  I truly enjoyed it!

four-stars

Divider

Unexpected – Maisey Yates – 4 stars

June 22, 2014 Intermix, NetGalley, Read in 2014 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Unexpected – Maisey Yates – 4 starsUnexpected by Maisey Yates
Published by Penguin on 2013-08-20
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, General, Romance
Pages: 344
Source: NetGalley.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

After spending another family wedding fielding questions about her non-existent love life, Kelsey Noble decides she’s tired of waiting around for things she could go out and get herself. What Kelsey wants is a baby, and she doesn’t see any point waiting for a husband she’s not even sure she wants. But a mix-up at the fertility clinic lands her with a hassle she didn’t count on. A big, muscular hassle in a Stetson and cowboy boots. Cole Mitchell is shocked to discover that a grand gesture from years past has come back to haunt him. Now, thanks to a clerical error, a woman he’s never met is having his baby—and there’s no way he’s going to walk away and forget he has a child. Trying to make nice with the unexpected father of her baby lands Kelsey in Silver Creek, Oregon, dealing with the kind of small town life she left behind years ago. Even worse is dealing with the burning attraction she feels for Cole. She knows adding sex to the mix is a very bad idea, but she’s not sure how long she can resist falling for the last man she ever expected... Includes a preview of Maisey Yates’ novella, Unbuttoned. Praise for UNBUTTONED: “I loved Unbuttoned by Maisey Yates in a big way....I love a feisty heroine and a charismatic hero, especially when they clash. The scenes where they duked it out verbally, all the while undressing each other mentally, were so delicious....Lots of fun.”—Smart Bitches, Trashy Books “A sexy, compelling read.... it’s a great start to what looks to be a promising new small-town contemporary series and has introduced me to a new-to-me author who writes enjoyable characters with great emotional depth, witty dialogue, and steamy love scenes.”—Ramblings From This Chick “Maisey Yates is a very talented author and has created the perfect small-town romance about two people that found love once they learned to take a leap of faith.... I can’t wait to see what is in store for the residents of Silver Creek.”—Books-N-Kisses

Nothing like being late on reading something but….  I really enjoyed reading this story of a woman who is so used to being the odd duck in her family that she is amazed to find a family that accepts her as she is.  It also is a good story for anyone who doesn’t conform to the mold their parents try to put them in and to go for what makes you happy.

Kelsey is stuck at yet another wedding and dealing with relatives that keep asking her when she’s going to get married.  She’s been burned by the man she thought she would marry so is in no hurry to have another relationship even as she wishes for children.  She decides to do something bold and get artificially inseminated so she can have the child she yearns for without the hassle of a relationship.  When the sperm donor shows up at her door with information that the sperm she was impregnated with should not have been in the main donor pool she’s shocked and terrified about what this means.  She agrees to go and spend time with him on his ranch in order to figure things out but winds up with more than she imagined.  I loved her strength and enjoyed seeing her really learn what she needs in her life.  She’s smart but so vulnerable to being hurt by this sexy cowboy that you will root for her to get what she deserves.  I liked that she pushed him to really open up and admit what he wanted/felt.  There was something interesting about seeing a woman who claimed to not need the traditional family realize that she really wanted that connection.

Cole was a bit harder at times.  I understood why he was so adamant about not being willing to be in love with Kelsey but I really wanted to slap him.  He’s so sexy when he finally gives in to their chemistry and also when he is caring for her as she struggles with morning sickness.  He’s unfortunately a bit of a jerk as he deals with what his father left him to clean up and what his ex-wife did to him over their way-to-long marriage.  He’s very loyal to those he loves and seeing him struggle to admit what she actually means to him was at times frustrating but ultimately it was a struggle that left him in a wonderful place.

I hope that you will give this series a chance as I have completely enjoyed each installment and am ready to read more from this wonderful little town…

Special thanks to NetGalley.com and Intermix for giving me the chance to read this in exchange for my honest review.  I’m sorry it took me so long to finally get to it but I really enjoyed the heart of this wonderful town/family.

four-stars

Divider

Unbuttoned – Maisey Yates – 3.5 stars

June 22, 2014 Berkley Trade, NetGalley, Read in 2014 1

Unbuttoned – Maisey Yates – 3.5 starsUnbuttoned by Maisey Yates
Published by Penguin on 2013-06-18
Genres: Fiction, General, Romance
Pages: 104
Format: eBook
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Carly Denton has learned to keep her buttons and emotions firmly fastened. Her parents’ constant drama, and an unrequited crush on her brother’s best friend, taught her to keep her passion beneath the surface. But she can no longer avoid the one man with the ability to bring that passion to a boil... Lucas remembers Carly as a freckle-faced tomboy—not a frosty woman who treats him like a burr under her saddle. But when they must work together on a charity project, Lucas is shocked to find their bickering melt into some serious mutual attraction. He’s determined to show Carly that he’s the man for her, if only she’d learn to let loose. Lucas is the last man on earth Carly should give in to. The freedom she finds in his arms has her feeling happier than ever, but is it enough to make her realize that the greatest risk isn’t losing your heart, but losing the chance at happiness? Includes a preview of Maisey Yates’ novel, Unexpected. Praise for UNBUTTONED: “I loved Unbuttoned by Maisey Yates in a big way....I love a feisty heroine and a charismatic hero, especially when they clash. The scenes where they duked it out verbally, all the while undressing each other mentally, were so delicious....Lots of fun.”—Smart Bitches, Trashy Books “A sexy, compelling read.... it’s a great start to what looks to be a promising new small-town contemporary series and has introduced me to a new-to-me author who writes enjoyable characters with great emotional depth, witty dialogue, and steamy love scenes.”—Ramblings From This Chick “Maisey Yates is a very talented author and has created the perfect small-town romance about two people that found love once they learned to take a leap of faith.... I can’t wait to see what is in store for the residents of Silver Creek.”—Books-N-Kisses

As a start to a series this was a fun novella.  Carly is soooooo buttoned up and uptight because of her parents’ relationship dramas being played out all over town.  When she has to deal with the one man she has secretly harbored a crush on for years her uptight ways are going to be challenged.  She’s so prickly to our hero most of the book but when she decides to break her rules to have a quick fling with him we see a woman who really needs to live life.  She’s scared of how much he makes her feel but also wakes up to realize that she really isn’t happy as she is but will she reach for the unknown???

Lucas… all I can say is he’s amazing!!!  I loved how dirty he could be when he decided what he wanted was her.  He’s not happy with having to work with the woman Carly has become but when they finally have a taste of one another he just can’t help pushing her buttons.  He really is surprised that she is what he wants forever but is more willing to open up and admit his intentions.  I loved his intensity and how he made her really live life while still being able to hold her head up high in town.  He really was a man that was worth facing her fears for and I’m glad to have read their  story.

If you are looking for a quick read with an amazing hero that can play dirty with the best of them to win his heroine…  well…  check this one out!

three-half-stars

Divider

Rekindled – Maisey Yates – 4 stars

June 18, 2014 Berkley Trade, NetGalley, Read in 2014 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley.com . This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Rekindled – Maisey Yates – 4 starsRekindled by Maisey Yates
Published by Penguin on 2014-06-17
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 78
Source: NetGalley.com
Goodreads
four-stars

In USA Today bestselling author Maisey Yates’s latest Silver Creek Romance, a rich girl gets the privilege of starting over—and finding true love. Lucy Ryan got everything she thought she wanted, going from high school queen to Manhattan trophy wife. But none of it was worth staying in a loveless marriage. So now she’s back in Silver Creek—with no money and no place to stay, applying for a job cleaning someone else’s house. And her potential employer is the last person she ever expected to see again. Mac Denton can’t believe the mean girl who once tormented him in high school is now his housekeeper. He looks forward to making her squirm for a few days before she runs back to her rich husband. But Lucy has changed, and he is surprised to find himself attracted to the beautiful, courageous woman she has become. Lucy is finally ready to go after what she really wants from life. And what she wants more than anything is Mac. But is Mac ready to truly forget the past and embrace the future? Praise for the Silver Creek Romances by Maisey Yates “I love a feisty heroine and a charismatic hero, especially when they clash. The scenes where they duked it out verbally, all the while undressing each other mentally, were so delicious....Lots of fun.”—Smart Bitches, Trashy Books “A sexy, compelling read....enjoyable characters with great emotional depth, witty dialogue, and steamy love scenes.”—Ramblings From This Chick “A lot of fun to read.... I look forward to reading the next installment. She provided humor, tension, smexy-times, twisted family dynamics, and a re-enjoyment of life.”—The Book Pushers Maisey Yates is a USA Today bestselling author who divides her time between dark, passionate category romances set just about everywhere on earth and light, sexy contemporary romances set practically in her backyard. She has written many romances for Harlequin, including The Couple Who Fooled the World, as well as the Silver Creek Romances (Unbuttoned, Unexpected, and Untouched) for InterMix. She lives in rural Oregon with her three children and her husband, whose chiseled jaw and arresting features continue to make her swoon.

This was a really quick story with characters that showed how things can be if you let go of the past.

Lucy was the spoiled rich kid who used to look down her nose and be mean to those that weren’t of her social class.  As a result when she comes back to Silver Creek after an abusive marriage she expects to be the butt of many jokes and revenge.  Her parents have let their displeasure with her leaving her wealthy husband rule their decision to not help her get her feet back beneath her so she is forced to seek a job as a housekeeper for the son of their former maid.  She’s been beaten down by the words her ex used to undermine her so when she finds someone that champions her and wants to do harm to him she melts a bit.  I liked how she acknowledged that she was wrong in her treatment of others all those years ago but I really loved that when she finally woke up to who she really was inside that she demanded to be treated the way she truly deserved.  She wants to be treated and seen as an equal partner and deserves nothing less.

Mac was swoony even as he had his head in his ass.  I loved how even though she treated him like garbage when they were younger he didn’t treat her that way.  I appreciated how much he was willing to tolerate her attempts at cooking and encourage her to spread her wings.  He really was supportive of her finding out who she really was and seeing his acceptance made her so much stronger.  I didn’t like how he was unwilling to open his eyes to what they were building but I understood why he struggled.  He really is a great guy under the stupidity and seeing him fall for her was wonderful.  He’s no slouch when it comes to sexy times and I found myself a bit jealous of Lucy getting such a sweet man who knows how to steam things up.

Overall a sweet story with a good message that some of us need to hear.  Special thanks to NetGalley.com and Penguin Publishing for the chance to read this. I’m working my way thru the rest of the series now so I can read the upcoming one that Maisey was kind enough to give me at RT.

four-stars

Divider