de La Vega Cats – Lauren Dane

April 24, 2012 Uncategorized 0

I will just say now that I love this series!!!!  I have not yet read the Cascadia Wolves series and while that would have been nice it wasn’t needed to get in to these books.

Book 1 (Trinity) starts with Galen (Jaguar shifter) and Renee (witch) who have been a couple for a while and according to jaguar custom are married/imprinted,  Renee is feeling a little out of sorts like something is around the corner waiting for her when she runs in to Jack (wolf shifter).  It turns out she is also the mate for Jack.  I wasn’t sure how to feel about this as I don’t normally feel comfortable with a committed relationship suddenly adding a third partner this one worked.  I loved the give and take between the two obviously Alpha males and the way they banded together to protect and cherish their witch.  Renee has a lot of issues to work thru caused by her upbringing and to see her come in to her own was fun to see.

Book 2  (Revelation) focuses on Max (Galen’s brother and Alpha in waiting) and Kendra (Renee’s sister and witch).  Kendra has moved to town as a result of situations that happened in book 1 and is starting to form great ties with her long-lost sister.  She is also taking lessons from another witch in defense and expanding her natural gifts.  She and Max build a great relationship out of mutual love and respect with a healthy dose of lust.  I liked seeing Max open up and really step in and start to lead the jamboree.  I also liked seeing the support that both of them received from his parents and most of the jamboree.  The story line with Carlos was heartbreaking as you love Max and his dad Cesar.  What they had to do to protect the rest of the jamboree as well as the witches was horrible but necessary.  Scenes with Kendra and Max were hot, loving and just plain yummy.

Book 3 (Beneath the Skin) focuses on Gibson (the Bringer, Max/Galen’s brother) and Mia (Jaguar shifter).  This has to be my favorite of the 3 books as you really get to see the level of respect and love the main pair have for one another and their families.  Mia’s family has been treated unfairly due to something done to her grandmother by a member of the de La Vega clan years ago and it hasn’t really healed.  In this book both sides come together to support the main pair plus heal the damage caused by one man’s selfish actions.  Mia is a strong character in her own right and to see her and Gibson work thru issues caused by his need to protect and her need to act were fun to watch.  Plus…  the sex scenes were just plain yummy.

Overall I would highly recommend this series to anyone who likes sexy shifters and strong female leads.

Amazon Kindle links:

Trinity – de La Vega book 1
Revelation – de La Vega book 2
Beneath the Skin – de La Vega book 3

Comments are closed.